Equality and Diversity Consultative Forum


The Equality and Diversity Consultative Forum comprises of representatives from various services of the School and is a space to raise and comment on local equality and diversity issues. The forum also holds thematic discussions on relevant issues. It meets once a term and reports to the Equality and Diversity Executive Group

Chair: Sunil Kumar, Dean of Graduate Studies
Secretary: Asiya Islam, Equality and Diversity Adviser

Meeting dates for 2014/15:

  • 9 October 2014
  • 26 January 2015
  • 11 May 2015

Status – Consultative Forum, reporting to the Equality and Diversity Executive Group

Role of the forum –

  • To act as a consultative forum to raise and comment on local equality and diversity issues. Strategic issues arising through discussions in the forum will be referred to the Equality and Diversity Executive Group;

  • To ensure connectivity among various informal networks, related services and other equality and diversity groups; and

  • To promote awareness of and engagement with equality and diversity. Thematic discussions may be arranged as part of meetings of the forum.

The Dean of Graduate Studies - Sunil Kumar (Chair)

The Dean of Undergraduate Studies - Peter Howlett

Equality and Diversity Adviser - Asiya Islam (Secretary)

Adviser to Disabled Students - Viki Chinn

Adviser to Female Students - Wendy Sigle-Rushton

Adviser to Male Students - Jonathan Hopkins

The Interfaith Adviser - Jim Walters

One representative from each of the following areas –

  • Academic Registrar’s Division - Hannah Bannister
  • Disability and Wellbeing Service - Adam Sandelson
  • Estates - Martyn Fisher
  • Health and Safety - Lisa von Schlippe
  • Human Resources - Toby Taylor-Willis
  • Information Management and Technology - Sebastiaan Eldritch-Boersen
  • Library - Joanne Taplin-Green
  • Residences - Jennifer Frances
  • Staff networks (one representative from each staff network) - Andrew Sherwood (Spectrum), Lewina Coote (Embrace), Wendy Sigle-Rushton (Gender Equality Forum)
  • Students’ Union (one rotating representative from the Students' Union Anti- Racism, Community & Welfare, Disabled Students, LGBT and Women’s Officers) - Sebastian Bruhn
  • Students’ Union Advice and Support Service - Evita Syrengela
  • Trade Unions (one rotating representative from UCU, Unite and Unison) - Sophia Douglas

Note: This is a list of core members. In addition to core members, other interested parties may attend.