The 2014/15 programme

This series of events for taught students is designed to complement your academic learning and to help you make the most of your time at LSE. Follow the links in the table to sign up for sessions that interest you.

Undergraduate and MSc events
Title Date Start time End time Course code
Introduction to essay writing| Wednesday 22 October 2014 14:00 15:00 SS101
Good writing psychology| Wednesday 22 October 2014 15:30 16:45 SS124
Introduction to essay writing| Friday 24 October 2014 14:00 15:00 SS101
Participating and presenting in classes and seminars| Wednesday 29 October 2014 14:00 15:00 SS103
Managing study related stress| Wednesday 29 October 2014 15:30 17:00 SS121
Adapting to life at LSE| Wednesday 5 November 2014 12:00 13:45 SS128
Good writing psychology (repeat)| Friday 7 November 2014 15:00 16:00 SS124
Preparing for employers' numerical tests| Wednesday 12 November 2014 14:00 16:00 SS107
Academic integrity| Wednesday 19 November 2014 14:00 15:00 SS119
Managing your time| Wednesday 19 November 2014 15:30 17:00 SS105
Managing depression| Friday 21 November 2014 14:00 15:00
Communicating assertively| Friday 28 November 2014 12:30 14:00 CLM 3.02
Getting started with the MSc dissertation| Wednesday 3 December 2014 13:00 14:00 SS127
End of term review| Wednesday 10 December 2014 12:00 13:00 SS130
Introduction to essay writing (repeat|) Wednesday 14 January 2015 14:00 15:00 SS101
Presentation skills and confidence| Friday 16 January 2015 15:00 16:00
Managing depression (repeat)| Monday 19 January 2015 14:00 15:00
Managing your time (repeat)| Wednesday 21 January 2015 12:30 14:00 SS105
Overcoming perfectionism| Monday 26 January 2015 12:00 13:00 SS131
Structuring MSc dissertations and long essays| Wednesday 28 January 2015 14:00 15:00 SS110
Preparing for employers' numerical tests (repeat)| Wednesday 4 February 2015 15:00 17:00 SS107
Overcoming procrastination| Wednesday 11 February 2015 15:00 16:00 SS132
Communicating assertively (repeat)| Wednesday 18 February 2015 12:00 14:00 SS120
Sleep well workshop| Monday 23 February 2015 13:00 14:00
Mindfulness and stress management| Wednesday 25 February 2015 12:00 13:00
Exams 1: Planning and preparation| Wednesday 4 March 2015 14:00 15:00 SS112
Exams 2: Using past papers and planning your revision| Wednesday 11 March 2015 14:00 15:00 SS116
Exams 3: Quantitative exam preparation| Wednesday 18 March 2015 12:00 13:30 SS115
End of term review| Wednesday 18 March 2015 14:00 15:00 SS130
Exams 4: Last minute preparations and sitting the exam| Wednesday 29 April 2015 14:00 15:00 SS113
Mindfulness and performance anxiety| Thursday 30 April 2015 14:00 15:00
Exams 5: Revise and de-stress| Wednesday 6 May 2015 14:00 16:00 SS133
Mindfulness and stress management (repeat)| Wednesday 13 May 2015 12:00 13:00
Sleep well workshop (repeat)| Friday 22 May 2015 12:00 13:00
Prisoner of our own defense: stopping and starting the MSc dissertation| Thursday 16 July 2015 13:00 14:00

Other skills building opportunities for LSE undergraduates and MSc students

Maximise Your Potential| - an intensive two week programme for undergraduates held at the end of Summer Term that offers opportunities to take part in an original research project, tailored language classes, a peer support scheme or bespoke careers advice.

MSc Dissertation Week|, also held at the end of Summer Term, is designed to support MSc students in planning, writing and making the most of their dissertation.

Learning World| - Moodle-based resources for a range of study-related skills, advice from LSE staff and links to other student-centred departments.

How do I keep a record of what I've done?

For undergraduates, LSE has set up the Personal Development Aide Memoire| (PDAM) which, combined with your enhanced academic transcript, is an alternative to the Higher Education Achievement Record. The PDAM is an individual record (built in LSE for You) of the skills you develop and the activities you undertake beyond your academic studies, such as learning development events, work experience, volunteering and involvement in clubs and societies. Once completed, it will enable you to provide information and evidence for potential employers and others about how your activities have helped you develop skills in areas such as team working, communication and problem solving. 

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|