LSE teaching prizes

Page Contents >

Winners of 2013 LSESU Teaching Awards on film

In this short film Christopher Blunt and Joanna Roberts (Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method), Kostas Kardaras and Naa Akwetey (Statistics) and Lijing Shi and Sam Martin (Language Centre) talk about the teaching and learning that brought success in the 2013 LSESU Teaching Awards.

Another film, featuring several of the 2013 Major Review Award winners talking about their teaching, can be found on our Teaching prizes celebration| page. 

Congratulations to all the 2013 winners!


Over 70 teachers, across all LSE departments, were awarded teaching prizes last academic year and many of them received their certificates and congratulations in person at the Teaching Symposium celebration in May. More photographs from that event can be seen at our Teaching prizes celebration| page.

July's Staff News teaching special| featured all the winners of 2013 teaching prizes as well as a Direct view piece with Paul Kelly and a 60 second interview with Duncan McKenna, last year's LSESU Education Officer.  

Interviews with 2013 Major Review Award winners



Click the links to read what the winners find most enjoyable about teaching, what works for them in classes and what advice they would offer to new colleagues ... (all PDFs)

Shakuntala Banaji|, Department of Media and Communications

Jacco Bomhoff|, Department of Law

Jo Braithwaite|, Department of Law

Greg Fischer|, Department of Economics

Pablo Ibáñez Colomo|, Department of Law

Heather Jones|, Department of International History

Paul Keenan|, Department of International History

Sumi Madhok|, Gender Institute

Kai Moller|, Department of Law

Sadie Wearing|, Gender Institute

Lea Ypi|, Department of Government

LSE teaching prizes

LSE rewards and recognises teaching through three awards each year: 

Major Review Awards, given to faculty who have made significant contributions to teaching at the School

LSESU Teaching Awards, led by students, who nominate the teachers they have found most inspiring

Class Teacher Awards, given to graduate teaching assistants, teaching fellows and guest teachers in recognition of their particular contribution to teaching at LSE