Screen Locking

We may all be accustomed to logging off and/or shutting down a computer if you are finished working, but few may lock their computers when leaving their desks for a shorter period.

As part of our ongoing commitment to safe, responsible computer use and data management, IMT has a screen locking policy to help prevent unauthorised use of network accounts, increase privacy and offer greater protection for IT account holders.

Automatic screen locking is in place in open access computer rooms on campus and in the Library. In these areas if you are logged on to an LSE PC, after a certain period of inactivity your screen will automatically lock, preventing unauthorised access to your session. You will then be required to enter your password in order to continue using the computer.

Staff and students are encouraged to always lock their computers if they step away from desks. Remember if you leave your computer unlocked and unattended - anyone could use it. 

All members of the LSE community have responsibilities around computer use and data management. There is currently no security technology in use which identifies when an unauthorised person is using someone else's login session. The LSE IT Conditions of Use state that you are responsible for anything that happens under your login details. If somebody else uses the computer while you are logged in, you will be held accountable for any activity.

If you have any further questions or any problems regarding screen locking, please contact the IT Service Desk: it.servicedesk@lse.ac.uk  | 020 7107 5000

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|