Word 2010 - Track Changes

Introduction

The Track Changes features of Word 2010 allow you to keep a record of formatting changes, text insertions and deletions, and comments made by multiple editors. Changes will appear as balloons in the right-hand margin or as a list in a separate area of the screen, noting the time, date and editor of each change. A final document can then be created by accepting or rejecting the proposed changes.

Using Track Changes 

To use track changes:

1. Click Review | Track Changes icon 

 Tracking toolbar

Note: You can turn the track changes feature on or off by clicking on the Track Changes button on the toolbar.

Changing how tracked changes appear

By default, tracked changes will appear as highlighted or coloured text within the document, with balloons in the right-hand margin explaining what change was made. Each person reviewing the document will have their comments and changes appear in a different colour balloon. To see further details about the time, date and editor of the change, hold your cursor over a balloon (without clicking).

Multi user track changes

To display changes as a list:

1. On the Review tab, click Reviewing Pane. Note: By clicking on the Reviewing Pane drop arrow (downward pointing arrow beside the Reviewing Pane tab), options for either a vertical or horizontal list will appear.

From the Track Changes Options window you can select how you want Insertions, Deletions and Formatting changes to be displayed within the document. You can also select when you want Track Balloons to appear through the Use Balloons drop down menu.

To display changes differently:

1. On the Review tab, click Track Changes | Change Tracking Options... The Track Changes Options window will pop up

Track Changes Options window

From the Track Changes Options window you can select how you want Insertions, Deletions and Formatting changes to be displayed within the document. You can also select when you want Track Balloons to appear through the Use Balloons drop down menu.

To display changes by one reviewer only:

1. On the Review Tab, click Show Markup | Reviewers and select the name of the reviewer whose changes you would like to see

Reviewers List

To display changes by all reviewers:

1. On the Review tab, click Show | Reviewers and select All Reviewers

Changing the document view

By default, a document using Track Changes will display the document in a view called Final Showing Markup. You can change the view of the document to any of the following options:

Final Showing Markup: the text of the document appears with the changes in place. Balloons indicate what changes were made, such as what the original text said.
Final: how the document will look with all proposed changes accepted
Original Showing Markup: the text of the document appears with the original text in place. The balloons show all the proposed changes
Original: how the document looked originally, before any changes were made

To change the document view:

1. On the Review tab, select the drop down arrow next to the view box that states Final Showing Markup

 Track Changes - Document view

2. Select the view you wish to use 

Hiding tracked changes

You can temporarily hide track changes by changing the view. To permanently hide track changes, you must accept or reject the proposed changes.

To temporarily hide tracked changes:

1. On the Review tab, select the drop down arrow next to the view box that states Final Showing Markup

Track Changes - Document view

2. Select the Final or Original view, where the properties of these views are as previously stated. 

Note: If Track Changes has been used on a document then those changes are automatically revealed when the document is opened, even if they were previously hidden by changing the view.

To permanently hide tracked changes. You must accept or reject the proposed changes to prevent them from reappearing when the document is re-opened by you or another user. See Accepting or rejecting all changes in a document| for further instructions.

Tip: If you would like to keep a record of the tracked changes for yourself, but send the document to another user without the changes being visible, you must make a copy of the document. Accept or reject the changes in the copy of the document and send that copy to other users.

The Disable Hidden Markup option
Word Security options allow you to hide tracked changes when opening a document containing them. However, even if you clear this check box, the tracked changes are still in the document and can be revealed by selecting the type of markup on the Show Markup menu. These settings affect your machine only; other users opening the document will automatically see all changes.

For this reason, it is not recommended that you use this option to hide track changes.

To enable / disable making hidden markup visible when opening or saving:
1. Click on File | Options

Options menu

2. Click the Trust Center tab | Trust Center Settings... A Trust Center window will pop up

3. Click the Privacy Options tab and under the Document-specific settings section, tick or untick the Make hidden markup visible when opening or saving check box

Hidden mark up option

Saving, printing or sending a file with track changes


If Track Changes has been used on a document, a warning is displayed before printing, saving or sending the file:

Warning before printing

To enable / disable the warning before printing, saving or sending a file that contains tracked changes or comments:
1. Click on File | Options

2. Click the Trust Center tab | Trust Center Settings...

3. Click the Privacy Options tab and under the Document-specific settings section, tick or untick the Warn before printing, saving or sending a file that contains tracked changes or comments  check box

Warning option

Accepting or rejecting all changes in a document

It is not possible to hide tracked changes from other people's view - you must either accept or reject the changes to ensure they aren't visible (see Hiding Tracked Changes above).

Accepting and Rejecting changes

To accept or reject changes on a case-by-case basis:
1. Use the Next or Previous arrows to select a change

2. Click the Accept or Reject button accordingly

3. Repeat steps 1 and 2 for all changes in the document

To accept all changes in the document:

1. Click Accept drop down arrow | Accept All Changes in Document

Accept all changes

To reject all changes in the document:

1.  Click Reject drop down arrow | Reject All Changes in Document

Reject all changes

Tip: To save yourself time when accepting and rejecting changes, try the following:

1. Use the Next button to move to the first change in the document you want to reject

2. Reject this change using the Reject button 

3. Continue through the document, rejecting the changes you don't want to keep and ignoring the changes you want to accept

4. When all changes you wish to reject are removed, use the Accept All Changes in Document option to accept the remaining changes

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|