Word 2003 - Track Changes

Introduction

The Track Changes features of Word 2003 allow you to keep a record of formatting changes, text insertions and deletions, and comments made by multiple editors. Changes will appear as balloons in the right-hand margin or as a list in a separate area of the screen, noting the time, date and editor of each change. A final document can then be created by accepting or rejecting the proposed changes.

To use Track Changes:
1. Click Tools | Track Changes

2. The Reviewing Toolbar will appear with the Track Changes button highlighted (as below).

Track-1

Note: You can turn the track changes feature on or off by clicking on the Track Changes button on the toolbar.

Changing how tracked changes appear

By default, tracked changes will appear as highlighted or coloured text within the document, with balloons in the right-hand margin explaining what change was made. Each person reviewing the document will have their comments and changes appear in a different colour balloon. To see further details about the time, date and editor of the change, hold your cursor over a balloon (without clicking).

Track-2 

Tracked changes can also be displayed as a list, rather than in balloons, by using the Reviewing Pane.

To hide the Track Changes balloons:
1. On the Reviewing toolbar, click Show | Balloons | Never

Track-3

Note: Changes will still be visible as coloured or highlighted text within the document

To display changes as a list:
1. On the Reviewing Toolbar, click Show | Reviewing Pane

Track-4 

To display changes differently within the text:
1. On the Reviewing Toolbar, click Show | Options...

2. Select how you want Insertions, Deletions and Formatting changes to display within the document

Track-5 

To display changes by one reviewer only:
1. Click Show | Reviewers and select the name of the reviewer whose changes you would like to see

Track-6

For example, selecting Bob Smith will only show those changes made by Bob

To display changes by all reviewers:
1. Click Show | Reviewers and select All Reviewers

Changing the document view

By default, a document using Track Changes will display the document in a view called Final Showing Markup. You can change the view of the document to any of the following options:

Final Showing Markup: the text of the document appears with the changes in place. Balloons indicate what changes were made, such as what the original text said.
Final: how the document will look with all proposed changes accepted
Original Showing Markup: the text of the document appears with the original text in place. The balloons show all the proposed changes
Original: how the document looked originally, before any changes were made

To change the document view:
1. Select the drop down arrow next to the view box that states Final Showing Markup

Track-7

2. Select the view you wish to use

Hiding tracked changes

You can temporarily hide track changes by changing the view. To permanently hide track changes, you must accept or reject the proposed changes.

To temporarily hide tracked changes:
1. Select the drop down arrow next to the view box that states Final Showing Markup

Track-7

2. Select the Final or Original view. See Changing the document view| for a description of the properties of these views.

Note: If Track Changes has been used on a document then those changes are automatically revealed when the document is opened, even if they were previously hidden by changing the view.

To permanently hide tracked changes:
1. You must accept or reject the proposed changes to prevent them from reappearing when the document is re-opened by you or another user. See Accepting or rejecting all changes in a document| for further instructions.

Tip: If you would like to keep a record of the tracked changes for yourself, but send the document to another user without the changes being visible, you must make a copy of the document. Accept or reject the changes in the copy of the document and send that copy to other users.

The Disable Hidden Markup option
Word Security options allow you to hide tracked changes when opening a document containing them. However, even if you clear this check box, the tracked changes are still in the document and can be revealed by selecting the type of markup on the Show menu. These settings affect your machine only; other users opening the document will automatically see all changes.

For this reason, it is not recommended that you use this option to hide track changes.

To enable / disable making hidden markup visible when opening or saving:
1. Click on Tools | Options to display the Options dialog box

2. Click on the Security tab

3. In the Privacy Options section, tick or untick the Make hidden markup visible when opening or saving check box

Saving, Printing or Sending a File with Track Changes

If Track Changes has been used on a document, a warning is displayed before printing, saving or sending the file:

image007

To enable / disable the warning before printing, saving or sending a file that contains tracked changes or comments:
1. Click on Tools | Options to display the Options dialog box.

2. Click on the Security tab.

3. In the Privacy Options section, tick or untick the Warn before printing, saving or sending a file that contains tracked changes or comments check box.

Note: Even if you clear this check box, the tracked changes are still in the document and can be revealed by selecting the type of markup on the Show menu.

Accepting or rejecting all changes in a document

It is not possible to hide tracked changes from other people's view - you must either accept or reject the changes to ensure they aren't visible (see Hiding Tracked Changes above).

To accept changes on a case-by-case basis:
1. Use the Next or Previous arrows to select a change Track-8
2. Click the Accept Change button track-accept

3. Repeat steps 1 and 2 for all changes in the document

To accept all changes in the document:
1. Click the drop down arrow on the right of the Accept Change button

2. Select Accept All Changes in Document

Track-10 

To reject changes on a case-by-case basis:
1. Use the Next or Previous arrows to select a change Track-8
2. Click the Reject Change button Track-11

3. Repeat steps 1 and 2 for all changes in the document

To reject all changes in the document:
1. Click the drop down arrow on the right of the Reject Change button

2. Select Reject All Changes in Document

Track-12

Tip: To save yourself time when accepting and rejecting changes, try the following:
1. Use the Next arrow to move to the first change in the document you want to reject
2. Reject this change using the Reject Change button Track-11

3. Continue through the document, rejecting the changes you don't want to keep and ignoring the changes you want to accept.

4. When all changes you wish to reject are removed, use the Accept All Changes in Document option to accept the remaining changes.

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|