How to contact us

 

 LSElogoHY

Enquiries:
Contact us

Department of International History
London School of Economics and Political Science
Houghton Street
London
WC2A 2AE

Find us on campus
in Sardinia House (SAR)

Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6174
Fax: +44 (0)20 7831 4495

Read our International History Blog

Site Map

Follow us:

Facebook   Twitter Linkedin

 

Who's Who 2016-17

Permanent Academic Staff

A | B | C | H | J | K | L | M | N | P | R | S | W | Z

alvandi2

Dr Roham Alvandi
Associate Professor

*On sabbatical leave 2016-2017*

Research Interests:
Iran; Modern Middle East; Cold War

Room: SAR.M.12
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6897
Email: r.alvandi@lse.ac.uk

 

Ashton2

Professor Nigel Ashton
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
Masters Programme Director

Research Interests:
Anglo-American Relations; Modern Middle-East

Room: SAR.M.07
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7104
Email: n.ashton@lse.ac.uk

 

 Marc David Baer

Professor Marc David Baer
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
MSc Examinations Board Chair

Research Interests:

Early Modern and Modern Europe and Middle East; Ottoman Empire,Turkey; Germany

Room: SAR.3.17 
Tel: +44 (0)20 7849 4975
Email: m.d.baer@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Alan Best

Dr Antony Best
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
Undergraduate Programme Director

Research Interests:
Modern East Asian History; Modern Japan

Room: SAR.3.14
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7923
Email: a.best@lse.ac.uk 
 

Steven Casey

Professor Steven Casey
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
Teaching Committee Chair; Academic Board Representative

Research Interests:
20th-Century United States

Room: SAR.2.10
Email: s.casey@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Tanya Harmer

Dr Tanya Harmer
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
Director of Teaching

Research Interests:
Latin America; Cold War

Room: SAR.M.11
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5401
Email: t.harmer@lse.ac.uk

 

Professor Janet Hartley

Professor Janet Hartley
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
Head of Department; Equality and Diversity Officer

Research Interests:
18th- and 19th-Century Russia

Room: SAR.2.12
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7119
Email: j.m.hartley@lse.ac.uk

 

Hochstrasser2

Dr Tim Hochstrasser
Associate Professor

*On sabbatical leave 2016-2017*

Research Interests:
Early Modern History; the Enlightenment; Intellectual History

Room: SAR.2.14
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7092
Email: t.hochstrasser@lse.ac.uk

 

Jonescropped

Dr Heather Jones
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
Masters Tutor

Research Interests:
First World War; History of Prisoner of War Treatment; Weimar Germany; Irish Politics

Room: SAR.3.12
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7724
Email: h.s.jones@lse.ac.uk

 

Professor Matthew Jones

Professor Matthew Jones
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
Research Committee Chair; Academic Board Representative; REF Coordinator

Research Interests:
British Foreign and Defence Policy since the Second World War; Nuclear History during the Cold War; Vietnam War; British Decolonisation and South East Asia; US Foreign Relations since 1941; Anglo-American Relations

Room: SAR.3.09
Tel: +44 (0)20 7852 3791
Email: m.c.jones@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Paul Keenan
Assistant Professor

Other Titles: 
Cumberland Lodge Weekent Event Organiser; Student Survey Coordinator; LSE–Peking University Double MSc in International Affairs Programme Director

Research Interests:

Cultural History of 18th-Century Russia

Room: SAR.2.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6654
Email: p.keenan@lse.ac.uk

 

Lewis3

Dr Joanna Lewis
Assistant Professor

Other Titles:
Undergraduate Tutor

Research Interests:

Modern African History

Room: SAR.3.03
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7924
Email: j.e.lewis1@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Piers Ludlow

Dr N. Piers Ludlow
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
PhD Programme Director

Research Interests:
Western Europe since 1945; European Integration

Room: SAR.2.16
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7099
Email: n.p.ludlow@lse.ac.uk

 
MotadelFinalsmall
Dr David Motadel
Assistant Professor

Other Titles:
Coordinator of BA/BSc History Dissertations (HY300)

Research Interests:
Modern Europe; Europe’s Relations with the Wider World

Room: SAR.3.16
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7112
Email: d.motadel@lse.ac.uk
 
Dr Ronald Po
Dr Ronald C. Po
Assistant Professor

Research Interests:
History of China; Maritime Studies; History of Cartography; Frontier Studies; Global History

Room: SAR.2.18
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5378
Email: c.y.po@lse.ac.uk

 
APrazmowska
Professor Anita Prazmowska
Professor of International History

*On sabbatical leave 2016-2017*

Research Interests:
Modern Eastern Europe

Room: SAR.M.09
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7601
Email: a.j.prazmowska@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Svetozar Rajak

Dr Svetozar Rajak
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
Academic Director of LSE IDEAS

Research Interests:
Cold War; Eastern Europe; Balkans

Room: SAR.3.15
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6404
Email: s.rajak@lse.ac.uk

 
Scanlan1
Dr Padraic X. Scanlan
Assistant Professor

Other Titles:
Undergraduate Programme Admissions Tutor

Research Interests:
British Empire; Slavery and Emancipation; Bureaucracy; Economic Life

Room: SAR.3.05
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5075
Email: p.x.scanlan@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Kirsten Schulze

Dr Kirsten Schulze
Associate Professor

*On sabbatical leave 2016-2017*

Research Interests:
Arab-Israeli conflict; Indonesian history; militant Islam; ethnic and communal conflict; insurgency and counter-insurgency in Southeast Asia

Room: SAR.M.14
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7105
Email: k.e.schulze@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr T C. Sherman

Dr Taylor C. Sherman
Associate Professor

*On sabbatical leave 2016-2017*

Research Interests:
Modern South Asian History

Room: SAR.M.10
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 5002
Email: t.c.sherman@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Gagan Sood

Dr Gagan D. S. Sood
Assistant Professor in Early Modern International History

Other Titles:
Masters Programme Admissions Tutor

Research Interests:
Premodern India and the Islamic Heartlands; the Mughal, Safavid and Ottoman Empires; Early Modern Globalisation; Transition to Modern Colonialism

Room: SAR.2.07
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6025
Email: g.sood1@lse.ac.uk

 
Kristina Spohr
Dr Aino Rosa Kristina Spohr
Associate Professor

*On sabbatical leave 2016-2018*

Research Interests:
Germany after 1945; Cold War Summitry; the Global Ending of the Cold War; Theory and Practice of Contemporary History

Room: SAR.2.17
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7103
Email: k.spohr@lse.ac.uk

 

Professor David Stevenson

Professor David Stevenson
Stevenson Professor of International History

Other Titles:
APRC Review Co-Ordinator

Research Interests:
Modern European international Relations; First World War

Room: SAR.3.11
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7115
Email: d.stevenson@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Paul Stock

Dr Paul Stock
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
LSE-Columbia University Double MSc in International and World History Programme Director

Research Interests:

Eighteenth- and Nineteenth-Century Intellectual and Cultural History

Room: SAR.2.15
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6039
Email: p.stock@lse.ac.uk
 

Professor Vladislav Zubok

Professor Vladislav Zubok
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
Undergraduate Examinations Chair

Research Interests:

Cold War; 20th-Century Russia

Room: SAR.3.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5370
Email: v.m.zubok@lse.ac.uk

 


See also:

  • LSE Experts: An overview of the department's research expertise

 

Visiting Professors, Post-Doctoral Fellows and Teaching Fellows

BashaiNovosejt
Dr Aurélie Basha-i-Novosejt
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research Interests:
U.S. Foreign Policy; Cold War; Civil-Military Relations; Defense Economics; Vietnam War

Room: SAR.M.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789
Email: a.a.basha-i-novosejt@lse.ac.uk
 
Brier
Dr Robert Brier
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research Interests:
Cold War, Human Rights, East-West Relations, Central and Eastern Europe

Room: SAR.M.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789
Email: r.brier@lse.ac.uk
 
geppert
Professor Dominik Geppert
Gerda Henkel Visiting Professor

Research Interests:
Publicity and Diplomacy in the Age of High Imperialism; Cold War; European Integration; Britain and Germany after 1945; University History

Room: SAR.3.15
Tel: TBA
Email: TBA
 
Nataliya Kibita
Dr Nataliya Kibita
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research Interests:
Soviet Union, Ukraine in the 20th Century, history of Soviet Institutions, Soviet Economic History, Cold War

Room: SAR.M.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789
Email: n.kibita@lse.ac.uk
 

aMason

Dr Andrea Mason
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research Interests:

British Foreign Policy; Poland; Eastern Europe; Wartime Exile Governments; Cold War; Post-World War II Refugee Crisis

Room: SAR.M.09
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7601
Email: a.g.mason@lse.ac.uk

 
Mulich238
Dr Jeppe Mulich
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research Interests:
Comparative Empires; Global History; Law and Colonialism

Room: SAR.M.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789
Email: j.mulich@lse.ac.uk
 
Mr Dan Strieff
Dr Daniel Strieff
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research Interests:
History of U.S. Foreign Relations; Arab-Israeli Dispute; Modern Middle East; Journalism History; Transnational American History; Post-1945 U.S.

Room: SAR.M.15
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6861
Email: d.p.strieff@lse.ac.uk
 


See also:

  • LSE Experts: An overview of the department's research expertise

 

Graduate Teaching Assistants and Guest Teachers

A | B | C | D | F | G | H | J | K | L | M | P | S | V

 
LSEPiccolo
Mr Philip Abraham
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY118 - Faith, Power and Revolution: Europe and the Wider World, c.1500-c.1800

Email: TBA

 
wBooth
Dr William A. Booth
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY239 - Latin America and the United States since 1898

Email: TBA
 
Bouwman
Mr Bastiaan Bouwman
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY206 - The International History of the Cold War, 1945-1989

Email: s.a.bouwman@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Mr David Broder
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: TBA
 
LSEPiccolo
Dr Phoebe Chow
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY235 - Modernity and the State in East Asia: China, Japan and Korea since 1840

Email: p.chow@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Dr Rosalind Coffey
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Email: r.s.coffey@lse.ac.uk

 
Pedro Correa Martin-Arroyo
Mr Pedro Correa Martín-Arroyo
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: p.correa-martin-arroyo@lse.ac.uk

 
Dab
Mr Alexandre Dab
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY238 - The Cold War and European Integration, 1947-1992

Email: a.dab@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Marvin Benjamin Fried

Dr Marvin Fried
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: m.b.fried@lse.ac.uk

 

Giovanni Graglia

Dr Giovanni Graglia
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890
HY400 - Crisis Decision-Making in War and Peace, 1914-2003

Email: g.graglia@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Dr Anton Harder
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Email: a.harder@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Ms Eleanor Janega
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY118 - Faith, Power and Revolution: Europe and the Wider World, c.1500-c.1800

Email: TBA

 
LSEPiccolo
Mr William King
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: w.king1@lse.ac.uk
 
jLim
Mr Jin Li Lim
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Email: j.l.lim@lse.ac.uk
 
LSEPiccolo
Dr Konstantina Maragkou
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: k.maragkou@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Mr Pete Millwood
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Email: p.millwood@lse.ac.uk

 
Sophia Moesch
Dr Sophia Mösch
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: s.c.moesch@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Paul Mulvey

Dr Paul Mulvey
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY240 - From Empire to Commonwealth: War, Race and Imperialism in British History, 1780 to 1979

Email: p.m.mulvey@lse.ac.uk

 
cParkes
Dr Chris Parkes
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: c.parkes@lse.ac.uk
 

Ms Emma Peplow

Dr Emma Peplow
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

TBA

Email: e.j.peplow@lse.ac.uk

 
mSkjonsberg
Mr Max Skjonsberg
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY118 - Faith, Power and Revolution: Europe and the Wider World, c.1500-c.1800

Email: m.skjonsberg@lse.ac.uk

 
Eline van Ommen
Ms Eline van Ommen
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY239 - Latin America and the United States since 1898

Email: e.van-ommen@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|