How to contact us

 

 LSElogoHY

Enquiries:
Contact us|

Department of International History
London School of Economics and Political Science
Houghton Street
London
WC2A 2AE

Find us on campus
| in the East Building

Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6174
Fax: +44 (0)20 7831 4495

Follow us:

Facebook|   Twitter| Linkedin|

 

Who's Who

Permanent Academic Staff

A| | B| | C| | H| | J| | K| | L| | N| | P| | R| | S| | W| | Z|

alvandiEdited

Dr Roham Alvandi|
Assistant Professor

Other Titles:
Undergraduate Programme Admissions Tutor

Research Interests:
Iran; Modern Middle East; Cold War

Room: EAS.E310
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6897
Email: r.alvandi@lse.ac.uk|

 

Ashton2

Professor Nigel Ashton|
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
Coming Soon

Research Interests:
Anglo-American Relations; Modern Middle-East

Room: EAS.E408
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7104
Email: n.ashton@lse.ac.uk|

 

 Marc David Baer

Professor Marc David Baer|
Professor of International History

Research Interests:
Early Modern and Modern Europe and Middle East; Ottoman Empire,Turkey; Germany

Room: EAS.E307 
Tel: TBA
Email: m.d.baer@lse.ac.uk|

 

Dr Alan Best

Dr Antony Best|
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
PhD Programme Director

Research Interests:
Modern East Asian History; Modern Japan

Room: EAS.E405
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7923
Email: a.best@lse.ac.uk|

 

Steven Casey

Professor Steven Casey|
Professor of International History

*On leave 2013-2014*

Research Interests:
20th-Century United States

Room: EAS.E311 
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7543
Email: s.casey@lse.ac.uk|

 

Dr Tanya Harmer

Dr Tanya Harmer|
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
LSE-Columbia Programme Director

Research Interests:
Latin America; Cold War

Room: EAS.E602
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 5401
Email: t.harmer@lse.ac.uk|

 

Professor Janet Hartley

Professor Janet Hartley|
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
Head of Department

Research Interests:
18th- and 19th-Century Russia

Room: EAS.E408
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7119
Email: j.m.hartley@lse.ac.uk|

 

Hochstrasser2

Dr Tim Hochstrasser|
Associate Professor

Research Interests:
Early Modern History; the Enlightenment; Intellectual History

Room: EAS.E407
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7923
Email: t.hochstrasser@lse.ac.uk|

 

Jonescropped

Dr Heather Jones|
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
Masters Programme Tutor

Research Interests:
First World War; History of Prisoner of War Treatment; Weimar Germany; Irish Politics

Room: EAS.E508
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7724
Email: h.s.jones@lse.ac.uk|

 

Professor Matthew Jones

Professor Matthew Jones|
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
Research Committee Chair

Research Interests:
British Foreign and Defence Policy since the Second World War; Nuclear History during the Cold War; Vietnam War; British Decolonisation and South East Asia; US Foreign Relations since 1941; Anglo-American Relations

Room: EAS.E309
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 3791
Email: m.c.jones@lse.ac.uk|

 

Dr Paul Keenan|
Assistant Professor

Other Titles:
LSE-PKU Programme Director; Website Manager

Research Interests:
Cultural History of 18th-Century Russia

Room: EAS.E391
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6654
Email: p.keenan@lse.ac.uk|

 

Professor MacGregor Knox

Professor MacGregor Knox|
Emeritus Professor

Research Interests:
European International and Strategic History, 1890-1945

Room: EAS.E395
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7116
Email: m.knox@lse.ac.uk|

 

Lewis3

Dr Joanna Lewis|
Assistant Professor

Research Interests:
Modern African History

Room: EAS.E494
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7924
Email: j.e.lewis1@lse.ac.uk|

 

Dominic Lieven

Professor Dominic Lieven|
Emeritus Professor

Research Interests:
Russian History



 

Dr Piers Ludlow

Dr N. Piers Ludlow|
Associate Professor

*On leave 2013-2014*

Research Interests:
Western Europe since 1945; European Integration

Room: EAS.E502 
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7099
Email: n.p.ludlow@lse.ac.uk|

 

Sonke Neitzel

Professor Sönke Neitzel|
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
Chair of MSc Examinations Board

Research Interests:
History of War, especially World War One and World War Two

Room: EAS.E603
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 5378
Email: s.neitzel@lse.ac.uk|

 

Professor Anita Prazmowska

Professor Anita Prazmowska|
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
Undergraduate Programme Tutor

Research Interests:
Modern Eastern Europe

Room: EAS.E506
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7601
Email: a.j.prazmowska@lse.ac.uk
|
 

Professor Paul Preston

Professor Paul Preston|
Emeritus Professor

Research Interests:
Spanish History

Room: J314
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7107
Email: p.preston@lse.ac.uk|

 

Dr Svetozar Rajak

Dr Svetozar Rajak|
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
Academic Director of LSE IDEAS

Research Interests:
Cold War; Eastern Europe; Balkans

Room: TW1 9.01c
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6178
Email: s.rajak@lse.ac.uk|

 

Professor Rodriguez-Salgado

Professor Maria-José Rodriguez-Salgado|
Professor of International History

Research Interests:
Philip II; 16th-Century; 17th-Century; Europe; Elizabeth Tudor; Charles V; Anglo-Spanish Relations

Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7118
Email: m.j.rodriguez-salgado@lse.ac.uk|

 

Dr Kirsten Schulze

Dr Kirsten Schulze|
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
Masters Programme Director; Deputy Chair of MSc Examinations Board

Research Interests:
Ethnic and Communal Conflict in Indonesia; Militant Islamism in Indonesia; Counter-Insurgency and Counter-Terrorism in Indonesia

Room: EAS.E600
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7105
Email: k.e.schulze@lse.ac.uk|

 

Dr T C. Sherman

Dr Taylor C. Sherman|
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
Chair of Undergraduate Examinations Board

Research Interests:
Modern South Asian History

Room: EAS.E601
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 5002
Email: t.c.sherman@lse.ac.uk|

 

Professor Alan Sked

Professor Alan Sked|
Professor of International History

Research Interests:
Hapsburg Empire; Modern Europe and United States

Room: EAS.E503
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7112
Email: a.sked@lse.ac.uk|

 

Dr Gagan Sood

Dr Gagan D. S. Sood|
Associate Professor in Early Modern International History

Other Titles:
HY300 Dissertations

Research Interests:
Pre-Modern India and the Islamic World; the Mughal, Safavid and Ottoman Empires; Early Modern Globalisation; Transition to Modern Colonialism

Room: EAS.E393
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6025
Email: g.sood1@lse.ac.uk|

 

SpohrK

Dr Aino Rosa Kristina Spohr|
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
Deputy Head of Department

Research Interests:
Germany after 1945; Cold War Summitry; the Global Ending of the Cold War; Theory and Practice of Contemporary History

Room: EAS.E500
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7103
Email: k.spohr@lse.ac.uk|

 

Professor David Stevenson

Professor David Stevenson|
Stevenson Chair of International History

Research Interests:
Modern European international Relations; First World War

Room: EAS.E604
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7115
Email: d.stevenson@lse.ac.uk|

 

Dr Paul Stock

Dr Paul Stock|
Assistant Professor

Other Titles:
Masters Programme Admissions Tutor

Research Interests:

18th- and 19th-Century Intellectual History

Room: EAS.E490
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6039
Email: p.stock@lse.ac.uk|
 

Professor Arne Westad

Professor Odd Arne Westad|
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
Director of LSE IDEAS

Research Interests:

Cold War; Modern East Asia

Room: TW1 9.01a
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7252
Email: a.westad@lse.ac.uk|

 

Professor Vladislav Zubok

Professor Vladislav Zubok|
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
Undergraduate Programme Director

Research Interests:

Cold War; 20th-Century Russia

Room: EAS.E410
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 5370
Email: v.m.zubok@lse.ac.uk|

 


See also:

  • LSE Experts: An overview of the department's research expertise

Visiting Professors, Post-Doctoral Fellows and Teaching Fellows

hinds

Dr Matthew Hinds|
Teaching Fellow

Research Interests:

20th-Century Anglo-Atlantic World; Modern Middle East

Room: EAS.E306
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789
Email: m.hinds@lse.ac.uk|

 

Dr Alessandro Iandolo

Dr Alessandro Iandolo|
British Academy Fellow

Research Interests:

Soviet Union during the Cold War

Room: EAS.E306
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789
Email: a.iandolo@lse.ac.uk|

 

Eirini Karamouzi

Dr Eirini Karamouzi|
Pinto Scholar

Research Interests:

EU Enlargement Policy; Cold War and European Integration; Southern European History and Politics; Balkan Cooperation in the 1970s; Greek Foreign Policy

Email: e.karamouzi@lse.ac.uk|

 

Dr Elizabeth Shlala

Dr Elizabeth Shlala|
Teaching Fellow

Research Interests:

Modern Middle East and North Africa

Room: EAS.E306
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789
Email: e.shlala@lse.ac.uk|

 

 Timothy Snyder

Professor Timothy Snyder|
Philippe Roman Chair

Research Interests:

Political History of Central and Eastern Europe; Holocaust

Room: TW1 10th Floor
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789

 

Unkovski

Dr Vladimir Unkovski-Korica|
Teaching Fellow

Research Interests:

20th-Century Central and Eastern Europe

Room: EAS.E306
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789
Email: v.unkovski-korica@lse.ac.uk|

 

Dr Laurent Warlouzet

Dr Laurent Warlouzet|
Marie Curie Fellow

Research Interests:

European Integration History; Economic History, Western Europe (UK, Germany, France)

Room: EAS.E388b
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 5006
Email: l.d.warlouzet@lse.ac.uk|

 

Professor Dorothee Wierling

Professor Dorothee Wierling|
Gerda Henkel Visiting Fellow

Research Interests:

Social History; History of Mentalities in late 19th- and 20th-Centuries; Gender, Generation and Class

Room: EAS.E395
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6404
Email: d.wierling@lse.ac.uk|

 

Dr Valeria Zanier

Dr Valeria Zanier|
Marie Curie Fellow

Research Interests:

Contemporary China-Europe Relations; Business History

Room: TW1 9th Floor
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 4941
Email: v.zanier@lse.ac.uk|

 


See also:

  • LSE Experts: An overview of the department's research expertise

Graduate Teaching Assistants and Guest Teachers

A| | B| | C| | E| | F| | G| | H| | K| | L| | M| | O| | P| | R| | S| | T| | U| | Y|

LSEPiccolo

Ms Sarah Ashraf|
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY203 - The Arab-Israeli Conflict: Nationalism, Territory, Religion

Email: s.ashraf2@lse.ac.uk|

 

LSEPiccolo

Dr Benjamin Bankhurst
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY114 - War and Society from the Renaissance to the Napoleonic Era, c. 1500-1815

Email: b.bankhurst@lse.ac.uk|

 

Boyce

Dr Robert Boyce|
Emeritus Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY400 - Crisis Decision-Making in War and Peace 1914-2003

Email: r.boyce@lse.ac.uk|

 

LSEPiccolo

Mr Luc-André Brunet|
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: l.brunet@lse.ac.uk|

 

mChen2

Ms Maria Chen|
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: m.x.chen@lse.ac.uk|

 

LSEPiccolo

Dr Phoebe Chow|
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY235 - Modernity and the State in East Asia: China, Japan and Korea since 1840

Email: p.chow@lse.ac.uk|

 

LSEPiccolo

Ms Rosalind Coffey
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Email: r.s.coffey@lse.ac.uk|

 

LSEPiccolo

Mr John Collins|
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: j.collins@lse.ac.uk|

 

OllieElliot

Mr Oliver Elliot
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Email: o.elliott@lse.ac.uk|

 

LSEPiccolo

Dr Victor Figueroa-Clark|
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY239 - Latin America and the United States since 1898
HY400 - Crisis Decision-Making in War and Peace 1914-2003

Email: v.r.figueroa-clark@lse.ac.uk|

 

Dr Marvin Benjamin Fried

Dr Marvin Fried|
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY226 - The Great War 1914-1918

Email: m.b.fried@lse.ac.uk|

 

LSEPiccolo

Dr Bryan Gibson|
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890
HY203 - The Arab-Israeli Conflict: Nationalism, Territory, Religion
HY321 - The Struggle for the Persian Gulf, 1945-2003

Email: b.r.gibson@lse.ac.uk|

 

Scott Gilfillan

Mr Scott Gilfillan|
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY235 - Modernity and the State in East Asia: China, Japan and Korea since 1840

Email: s.w.gilfillan@lse.ac.uk|

 

LSEPiccolo

Mr Jonas Gjerso
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Email: j.f.gjerso@lse.ac.uk|

 

LSEPiccolo

Dr Sajjan Gohel|
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY435 - Political Islam: From Ibn Taymiyya to Osama bin Laden

Email: s.m.gohel@lse.ac.uk|

 

Giovanni Graglia

Mr Giovanni Graglia|
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: g.graglia@lse.ac.uk|

 

Cees Heere

Mr Cornelis Heere
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: c.heere@lse.ac.uk|

 

LSEPiccolo

Dr Valeska Huber
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: v.huber@lse.ac.uk|

 

LSEPiccolo

Dr Scott Keefer|
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY208 - The History of the United States since 1783
HY216 - Four Reichs: Austria, Prussia and the Contest for Germany since 1618
HY319 - Napoleon and Europe

Email: s.a.keefer@lse.ac.uk|

 

LSEPiccolo

Dr Raghav Kishore
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY233 - Empire and Nation: Britain and India since 1750

Email: r.kishore@lse.ac.uk|

 

Dr Stephan Lehnstaedt

Dr Stephan Lehnstaedt|
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: s.m.lehnstaedt@lse.ac.uk|

 

LSEPiccolo

Ms Andrea Mason|
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: a.g.mason@lse.ac.uk|

 

LSEPiccolo

Ms Corina Mavrodin
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY206 - The International History of the Cold War, 1945-1989

Email: c.mavrodin@lse.ac.uk|

 

Ms Erin McBurney

Ms Erin McBurney|
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY114 - War and Society from the Renaissance to the Napoleonic Era, c. 1500-1815
HY221 - The History of Russia, 1682-1825

Email: e.mcburney@lse.ac.uk|

 

LSEPiccolo

Mr Robin Mills|
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY315 - The European Enlightenment, c.1680-1830
HY426 - The European Enlightenment, c1680-1799

Email: r.j.mills@lse.ac.uk|

 

Dr Paul Mulvey

Dr Paul Mulvey|
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY226 - The Great War 1914-1918

Email: p.m.mulvey@lse.ac.uk|

 

LSEPiccolo

Mr Mark O'Connor
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Email: m.k.o'connor@lse.ac.uk|

 

Mr Christopher Parkes

Mr Chris Parkes|
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY208 - The History of the United States since 1783

Email: c.parkes@lse.ac.uk|

 

Ms Emma Peplow

Dr Emma Peplow
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: e.j.peplow@lse.ac.uk|

 

LSEPiccolo

Dr Felix Römer
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY322 - Nazi Germany and the Second World War – Causes and Course, 1933-1945

Email: TBC

 

Mr Dan Strieff

Mr Daniel Strieff|
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY203 - The Arab-Israeli Conflict: Nationalism, Territory, Religion
HY208 - The History of the United States since 1783

Email: d.p.strieff@lse.ac.uk|

 

LSEPiccolo

Mr Simon Toner|
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Email: s.toner@lse.ac.uk|

 

Mr Wes Ullrich

Mr Weston Ullrich|
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890
HY311 - The United States and the wars in Korea and Vietnam, 1941-75

Email: w.ullrich@lse.ac.uk|

 

LSEPiccolo

Dr Lauren Young|
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century
HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: l.b.young@lse.ac.uk|

 


 


Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|