How to contact us

 

 LSElogoHY

Enquiries:
Contact us

Department of International History
London School of Economics and Political Science
Houghton Street
London
WC2A 2AE

Find us on campus
in Sardinia House (SAR)

Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6174
Fax: +44 (0)20 7831 4495

Read our International History Blog

Site Map

Follow us:

Facebook   Twitter Linkedin

 

Who's Who

Permanent Academic Staff

A | B | C | H | J | K | L | N | P | R | S | W | Z

alvandi2

Dr Roham Alvandi
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
Undergraduate Programme Admissions Tutor

Research Interests:
Iran; Modern Middle East; Cold War

Room: SAR.M.12
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6897
Email: r.alvandi@lse.ac.uk

 

Ashton2

Professor Nigel Ashton
Professor of International History

*On sabbatical leave 2014-2015*

Research Interests:
Anglo-American Relations; Modern Middle-East

Room: SAR.M.07
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7104
Email: n.ashton@lse.ac.uk

 

 Marc David Baer

Professor Marc David Baer
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
Research Committee Chair

Research Interests:

Early Modern and Modern Europe and Middle East; Ottoman Empire,Turkey; Germany

Room: SAR.3.17 
Tel: +44 (0)20 7849 4975
Email: m.d.baer@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Alan Best

Dr Antony Best
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
PhD Programme Director (Lent Term and Summer Term)

Research Interests:
Modern East Asian History; Modern Japan

Room: SAR.3.14
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7923
Email: a.best@lse.ac.uk 
 
Boyce
Dr Robert Boyce
Emeritus Guest Lecturer

Research Interests:
French and Canadian External Relations in 20th-Century; Influence of International Communications in Modern History; Dynamics of Globalisation in 20th-Century

Room:
SAR.3.04
Tel: TBA
Email: r.boyce@lse.ac.uk

 

Steven Casey

Professor Steven Casey
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
PhD Programme Director (Michaelmas Term)

Research Interests:
20th-Century United States

Room: SAR.2.10
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7543
Email: s.casey@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Tanya Harmer

Dr Tanya Harmer
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
LSE-Columbia Programme Director

Research Interests:
Latin America; Cold War

Room: SAR.M.11
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5401
Email: t.harmer@lse.ac.uk

 

Professor Janet Hartley

Professor Janet Hartley
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
Head of Department

Research Interests:
18th- and 19th-Century Russia

Room: SAR.2.12
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7119
Email: j.m.hartley@lse.ac.uk

 

Hochstrasser2

Dr Tim Hochstrasser
Associate Professor

Research Interests:
Early Modern History; the Enlightenment; Intellectual History

Room: SAR.2.14
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7092
Email: t.hochstrasser@lse.ac.uk

 

Jonescropped

Dr Heather Jones
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
Masters Programme Tutor

Research Interests:
First World War; History of Prisoner of War Treatment; Weimar Germany; Irish Politics

Room: SAR.3.12
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7724
Email: h.s.jones@lse.ac.uk

 

Professor Matthew Jones

Professor Matthew Jones
Professor of International History

*On sabbatical leave 2014-2015*

Research Interests:
British Foreign and Defence Policy since the Second World War; Nuclear History during the Cold War; Vietnam War; British Decolonisation and South East Asia; US Foreign Relations since 1941; Anglo-American Relations

Room: SAR.3.09
Tel: +44 (0)20 7852 3791
Email: m.c.jones@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Paul Keenan
Assistant Professor

Other Titles:
LSE-PKU Programme Director; Student Survey Coordinator; Website Manager

Research Interests:
Cultural History of 18th-Century Russia

Room: SAR.2.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6654
Email: p.keenan@lse.ac.uk

 

Professor MacGregor Knox

Professor MacGregor Knox
Emeritus Professor

Research Interests:
European International and Strategic History, 1890-1945

Room: SAR.3.04
Tel: TBA
Email: m.knox@lse.ac.uk

 

Lewis3

Dr Joanna Lewis
Assistant Professor

Other Titles:
Deputy Chair of Undergraduate Examinations, Equality and Diversity Officer, Cumberland Lodge Event Coordinator

Research Interests:

Modern African History

Room: SAR.3.03
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7924
Email: j.e.lewis1@lse.ac.uk

 

Dominic Lieven

Professor Dominic Lieven
Emeritus Professor

Research Interests:
Russian History



 

Dr Piers Ludlow

Dr N. Piers Ludlow
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
Chair of Undergraduate Examinations

Research Interests:
Western Europe since 1945; European Integration

Room: SAR.2.16
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7099
Email: n.p.ludlow@lse.ac.uk

 

Sonke Neitzel

Professor Sönke Neitzel
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
Chair of MSc Examinations Board; Academic Board Representative

Research Interests:
History of War, especially World War One and World War Two

Room: SAR.2.18
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5378
Email: s.neitzel@lse.ac.uk

 

Professor Anita Prazmowska

Professor Anita Prazmowska
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
Departmental Tutor

Research Interests:
Modern Eastern Europe

Room: SAR.M.09
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7601
Email: a.j.prazmowska@lse.ac.uk

 

Professor Paul Preston

Professor Paul Preston
Emeritus Professor

Research Interests:
Spanish History

Room: TW2.5.02A
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7107
Email: p.preston@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Svetozar Rajak

Dr Svetozar Rajak
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
Academic Director of LSE IDEAS

Research Interests:
Cold War; Eastern Europe; Balkans

Room: TW1 9.01c
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6178
Email: s.rajak@lse.ac.uk

 

Professor Rodriguez-Salgado

Professor Maria-José Rodriguez-Salgado
Professor of International History

Research Interests:
Philip II; 16th-Century; 17th-Century; Europe; Elizabeth Tudor; Charles V; Anglo-Spanish Relations

Email: m.j.rodriguez-salgado@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Kirsten Schulze

Dr Kirsten Schulze
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
Masters Programme Director; Deputy Chair of MSc Examinations Board

Research Interests:
Ethnic and Communal Conflict in Indonesia; Militant Islamism in Indonesia; Counter-Insurgency and Counter-Terrorism in Indonesia

Room: SAR.M.14
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7105
Email: k.e.schulze@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr T C. Sherman

Dr Taylor C. Sherman
Associate Professor

*On Staff Exchange Scheme 2014-2015*

Research Interests:
Modern South Asian History

Room: SAR.M.10
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 5002
Email: t.c.sherman@lse.ac.uk

 

Professor Alan Sked

Professor Alan Sked
Professor of International History

*On sabbatical leave 2014-2015*
 
Research Interests:
Hapsburg Empire; Modern Europe and United States

Room: SAR.3.16
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7112
Email: a.sked@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Gagan Sood

Dr Gagan D. S. Sood
Assistant Professor in Early Modern International History

Other Titles:
Coordinator of BA/BSc History Dissertations (HY300)

Research Interests:
Premodern India and the Islamic Heartlands; the Mughal, Safavid and Ottoman Empires; Early Modern Globalisation; Transition to Modern Colonialism

Room: SAR.2.07
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6025
Email: g.sood1@lse.ac.uk

 

SpohrK

Dr Aino Rosa Kristina Spohr
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
Deputy Head of Department

Research Interests:
Germany after 1945; Cold War Summitry; the Global Ending of the Cold War; Theory and Practice of Contemporary History

Room: SAR.2.17
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7103
Email: k.spohr@lse.ac.uk

 

Professor David Stevenson

Professor David Stevenson
Stevenson Chair of International History

*On sabbatical leave 2014-2015*

Research Interests:
Modern European international Relations; First World War

Room: SAR.3.11
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7115
Email: d.stevenson@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Paul Stock

Dr Paul Stock
Assistant Professor

Other Titles:
Masters Programme Admissions Tutor

Research Interests:

Eighteenth- and Nineteenth-Century Intellectual and Cultural History

Room: SAR.2.15
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6039
Email: p.stock@lse.ac.uk
 

Professor Arne Westad

Professor Odd Arne Westad
School Professor of International History

Other Titles:
Senior Fellow at LSE IDEAS

Research Interests:

Cold War; Modern East Asia

Room: TW1 9.01a
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7252
Email: a.westad@lse.ac.uk

 

Professor Vladislav Zubok

Professor Vladislav Zubok
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
Undergraduate Programme Director

Research Interests:

Cold War; 20th-Century Russia

Room: SAR.3.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5370
Email: v.m.zubok@lse.ac.uk

 


See also:

  • LSE Experts: An overview of the department's research expertise

 

Visiting Professors, Post-Doctoral Fellows and Teaching Fellows

LucBrunet

Dr Luc-André Brunet
Pinto Post-Doctoral Fellow

Research Interests:
Vichy France and the Second World War; European Integration and the Cold War

Room: TW1.901H
Tel.: +44(0)20 7955 4950
Email: l.brunet@lse.ac.uk

 

 

mattconnelly

Professor Matthew Connelly
Philippe Roman Chair in History and International Affairs

Research Interests:

Planning and Predictions; Science data usage to analyse patterns in official secrecy

Email: Luc-André Brunet (l.brunet@lse.ac.uk)

 
hinds
Dr Matthew Hinds
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research Interests:

20th-Century Anglo-Atlantic World; Modern Middle East

Room: SAR.M.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789
Email: m.hinds@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Alessandro Iandolo

Dr Alessandro Iandolo
British Academy Fellow

Research Interests:

Soviet Union; Cold War; History of Economic Development; Third World

Room: SAR.1.03G
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789
Email: a.iandolo@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Dr Konstantina Maragkou
Marie Curie Post-Doctoral Fellow

Research Interests:

Human Rights; Cold War in the Balkans; Southern European Dictatorships; Western Europe since 1945; Modern Greek History

Room: SAR.M.15
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6861
Email: k.maragkou@lse.ac.uk

 

YasuoMori

Dr Yasuo Mori
Visiting Fellow

Research Interests:

Japanese Modern History; the Japanese Army

Room: SAR.3.04
Tel: TBA
Email
: y.mori@lse.ac.uk

 

KiranPatel

Professor Kiran Patel
GHIL Visiting Professor

Research Interests:

Contemporary Europe; 20th Century United States; Global History

Room: SAR.3.15
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6404
Email: k.patel21@lse.ac.uk

 
Dr Elizabeth Shlala
Dr Elizabeth Shlala
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research Interests:

Modern Middle East and North Africa

Room: SAR.M.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789
Email: e.shlala@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Professor Anders Stephanson
Visiting Senior Fellow, Exchange Columbia University Staff

Research Interests:
20th-Century American Foreign Relations; History and Theory

Email: a.stephanson@lse.ac.uk
 

Dr Valeria Zanier

Dr Valeria Zanier
Marie Curie Fellow

Research Interests:

Political Economy; Economic History; Business History; China-Europe Relations; East Asian History; Chinese History

Room: SAR.M.15
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5006
Email: v.zanier@lse.ac.uk

 


See also:

  • LSE Experts: An overview of the department's research expertise

 

Graduate Teaching Assistants and Guest Teachers

A | B | C | F | G | H | K | L | M | P | R | S | T | U | Y

 

Rowena Razak

Ms Rowena Abdul Razak
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY321 - The Struggle for the Persian Gulf, 1945-2003

Email
: r.abdul-razak@lse.ac.uk 
 
LSEPiccolo
Ms Sarah Ashraf
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY203 - The Arab-Israeli Conflict: Nationalism, Territory, Religion

Email: s.ashraf2@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Mr Daniel Berman
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: d.w.berman@lse.ac.uk

 

mChen2

Dr Maria Chen
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: m.x.chen@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Ms Rosalind Coffey
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Email: r.s.coffey@lse.ac.uk

 

jCollins

Mr John Collins
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: j.collins@lse.ac.uk

 

vFigueroaClark

Dr Victor Figueroa-Clark
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY239 - Latin America and the United States since 1898

Email: v.r.figueroa-clark@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Marvin Benjamin Fried

Dr Marvin Fried
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: m.b.fried@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Dr Sajjan Gohel
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY435 - Political Islam: From Ibn Taymiyya to Osama bin Laden

Email: s.m.gohel@lse.ac.uk

 

Giovanni Graglia

Dr Giovanni Graglia
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890
HY400 - Crisis Decision-Making in War and Peace, 1914-2003

Email: g.graglia@lse.ac.uk

 

BenedictGreening

Dr Benedict Greening
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Email: b.j.greening@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Mr Anton Harder
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Email: anton.harder@gmail.com

 
LSEPiccolo
Dr Scott Keefer
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: s.a.keefer@lse.ac.uk

 

JinLiLim

Mr Jin Li Lim
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY235 - Modernity and the State in East Asia: China, Japan and Korea since 1840

Email: j.l.lim@lse.ac.uk

 

aMason

Dr Andrea Mason
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: a.g.mason@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Ms Corina Mavrodin
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY206 - The International History of the Cold War, 1945-1989

Email: c.mavrodin@lse.ac.uk

 

tMilani

Mr Tommaso Milani
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: t.milani@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Dr Stuart Minson
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY118 - Faith, Power and Revolution: Europe and Wider World, c.1500-c.1800

Email: s.minson@lse.ac.uk
 

Dr Paul Mulvey

Dr Paul Mulvey
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY226 - The Great War 1914-1918

Email: p.m.mulvey@lse.ac.uk

 

Ms Emma Peplow

Dr Emma Peplow
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY400 - Crisis Decision-Making in War and Peace, 1914-2003

Email: e.j.peplow@lse.ac.uk

 

fRoemer

Dr Felix Römer
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY226 - The Great War, 1914-1918
HY322 - Nazi Germany and the Second World War – Causes and Course, 1933-1945

Email: f.roemer@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Mr Matteo Scianna
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: b.m.scianna@lse.ac.uk

 
Mr Dan Strieff
Dr Daniel Strieff
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY203 - The Arab-Israeli Conflict: Nationalism, Territory, Religion

Email: d.p.strieff@lse.ac.uk
 
aTartir
Mr Alaa Tartir
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY203 - The Arab-Israeli Conflict: Nationalism, Territory, Religion

Email: a.tartir@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Ms Natalia Telepneva
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY206 - The International History of the Cold War, 1945-1989

Email: n.telepneva@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Mr Simon Toner
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century
HY116 - International History since 1890
HY311 - Limited War during the Cold War Era: The US in Korea (1950-53) and Vietnam (1954-75)

Email: s.toner@lse.ac.uk

 
TakahiroYamamoto
Mr Takahiro Yamamoto
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY235 - Modernity and the State in East Asia: China, Japan and Korea since 1840

Email: t.yamamoto1@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Dr Lauren Young
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century
HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: l.b.young@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|