How to contact us

 

 LSElogoHY

Enquiries:
Contact us

Department of International History
London School of Economics and Political Science
Houghton Street
London
WC2A 2AE

Find us on campus
in Sardinia House (SAR)

Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6174
Fax: +44 (0)20 7831 4495

Read our International History Blog

Site Map

Follow us:

Facebook   Twitter Linkedin

 

Who's Who

Permanent Academic Staff

A | B | C | H | J | K | L | N | P | R | S | W | Z

alvandi2

Dr Roham Alvandi
Associate Professor

*On sabbatical leave 2016-2017*

Research Interests:
Iran; Modern Middle East; Cold War

Room: SAR.M.12
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6897
Email: r.alvandi@lse.ac.uk

 

Ashton2

Professor Nigel Ashton
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
Masters Programme Director

Research Interests:
Anglo-American Relations; Modern Middle-East

Room: SAR.M.07
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7104
Email: n.ashton@lse.ac.uk

 

 Marc David Baer

Professor Marc David Baer
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
MSc Examinations Board Chair

Research Interests:

Early Modern and Modern Europe and Middle East; Ottoman Empire,Turkey; Germany

Room: SAR.3.17 
Tel: +44 (0)20 7849 4975
Email: m.d.baer@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Alan Best

Dr Antony Best
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
Undergraduate Programme Director

Research Interests:
Modern East Asian History; Modern Japan

Room: SAR.3.14
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7923
Email: a.best@lse.ac.uk 
 

Steven Casey

Professor Steven Casey
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
Teaching Committee Chair; Academic Board Representative

Research Interests:
20th-Century United States

Room: SAR.2.10
Email: s.casey@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Tanya Harmer

Dr Tanya Harmer
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
Director of Teaching

Research Interests:
Latin America; Cold War

Room: SAR.M.11
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5401
Email: t.harmer@lse.ac.uk

 

Professor Janet Hartley

Professor Janet Hartley
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
Head of Department; Equality and Diversity Officer

Research Interests:
18th- and 19th-Century Russia

Room: SAR.2.12
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7119
Email: j.m.hartley@lse.ac.uk

 

Hochstrasser2

Dr Tim Hochstrasser
Associate Professor

*On sabbatical leave 2016-2017*

Research Interests:
Early Modern History; the Enlightenment; Intellectual History

Room: SAR.2.14
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7092
Email: t.hochstrasser@lse.ac.uk

 

Jonescropped

Dr Heather Jones
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
Masters Tutor

Research Interests:
First World War; History of Prisoner of War Treatment; Weimar Germany; Irish Politics

Room: SAR.3.12
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7724
Email: h.s.jones@lse.ac.uk

 

Professor Matthew Jones

Professor Matthew Jones
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
Research Committee Chair; Academic Board Representative; REF Coordinator

Research Interests:
British Foreign and Defence Policy since the Second World War; Nuclear History during the Cold War; Vietnam War; British Decolonisation and South East Asia; US Foreign Relations since 1941; Anglo-American Relations

Room: SAR.3.09
Tel: +44 (0)20 7852 3791
Email: m.c.jones@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Paul Keenan
Assistant Professor

Other Titles: 
Cumberland Lodge Weekent Event Organiser; Student Survey Coordinator; LSE–Peking University Double MSc in International Affairs Programme Director

Research Interests:

Cultural History of 18th-Century Russia

Room: SAR.2.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6654
Email: p.keenan@lse.ac.uk

 

Lewis3

Dr Joanna Lewis
Assistant Professor

Other Titles:
Undergraduate Tutor

Research Interests:

Modern African History

Room: SAR.3.03
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7924
Email: j.e.lewis1@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Piers Ludlow

Dr N. Piers Ludlow
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
PhD Programme Director

Research Interests:
Western Europe since 1945; European Integration

Room: SAR.2.16
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7099
Email: n.p.ludlow@lse.ac.uk

 
Dr Ronald Po
Dr Ronald C. Po
Assistant Professor

Research Interests:
History of China; Maritime Studies; History of Cartography; Frontier Studies; Global History

Room: TBA
Tel: TBA
Email: TBA

 
APrazmowska
Professor Anita Prazmowska
Professor of International History

*On sabbatical leave 2016-2017*

Research Interests:
Modern Eastern Europe

Room: SAR.M.09
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7601
Email: a.j.prazmowska@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Svetozar Rajak

Dr Svetozar Rajak
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
Academic Director of LSE IDEAS

Research Interests:
Cold War; Eastern Europe; Balkans

Room: TW1 9.01c
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6178
Email: s.rajak@lse.ac.uk

 
Scanlan1
Dr Padraic X. Scanlan
Assistant Professor

Other Titles:
Undergraduate Programme Admissions Tutor

Research Interests:
British Empire; Slavery and Emancipation; Bureaucracy; Economic Life

Room: SAR.3.05
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5075
Email: p.x.scanlan@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Kirsten Schulze

Dr Kirsten Schulze
Associate Professor

*On sabbatical leave 2016-2017*

Research Interests:
Arab-Israeli conflict; Indonesian history; militant Islam; ethnic and communal conflict; insurgency and counter-insurgency in Southeast Asia

Room: SAR.M.14
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7105
Email: k.e.schulze@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr T C. Sherman

Dr Taylor C. Sherman
Associate Professor

*On sabbatical leave 2016-2017*

Research Interests:
Modern South Asian History

Room: SAR.M.10
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 5002
Email: t.c.sherman@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Gagan Sood

Dr Gagan D. S. Sood
Assistant Professor in Early Modern International History

Other Titles:
Masters Programme Admissions Tutor

Research Interests:
Premodern India and the Islamic Heartlands; the Mughal, Safavid and Ottoman Empires; Early Modern Globalisation; Transition to Modern Colonialism

Room: SAR.2.07
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6025
Email: g.sood1@lse.ac.uk

 
Kristina Spohr
Dr Aino Rosa Kristina Spohr
Associate Professor

*On sabbatical leave 2016-2018*

Research Interests:
Germany after 1945; Cold War Summitry; the Global Ending of the Cold War; Theory and Practice of Contemporary History

Room: SAR.2.17
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7103
Email: k.spohr@lse.ac.uk

 

Professor David Stevenson

Professor David Stevenson
Stevenson Professor of International History

Other Titles:
MSc Examinations Board Chair

Research Interests:
Modern European international Relations; First World War

Room: SAR.3.11
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7115
Email: d.stevenson@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Paul Stock

Dr Paul Stock
Associate Professor

Other Titles:
LSE-Columbia University Double MSc in International and World History Programme Director

Research Interests:

Eighteenth- and Nineteenth-Century Intellectual and Cultural History

Room: SAR.2.15
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6039
Email: p.stock@lse.ac.uk
 

Professor Vladislav Zubok

Professor Vladislav Zubok
Professor of International History

Other Titles:
Undergraduate Examinations Chair

Research Interests:

Cold War; 20th-Century Russia

Room: SAR.3.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5370
Email: v.m.zubok@lse.ac.uk

 


See also:

  • LSE Experts: An overview of the department's research expertise

 

Visiting Professors, Post-Doctoral Fellows and Teaching Fellows

DaynaBarnes

Dr Dayna Barnes
Pinto Post-Doctoral Fellow

Research Interests:
20th Century International History, American Foreign Policy, Modern East Asia

Room: SAR.2.08
Tel.: +44 (0)20 7955 4950
Email: d.l.barnes@lse.ac.uk

 

 
BashaiNovosejt
Dr Aurélie Basha-i-Novosejt
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research Interests:
U.S. Foreign Policy; Cold War; Civil-Military Relations; Defense Economics; Vietnam War

Room: SAR.M.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789
Email: a.a.basha-i-novosejt@lse.ac.uk
 
Brier
Dr Robert Brier
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research Interests:
Cold War, Human Rights, East-West Relations, Central and Eastern Europe

Room: SAR.M.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789
Email: r.brier@lse.ac.uk
 

Dr Alessandro Iandolo

Dr Alessandro Iandolo
British Academy Post-Doctoral Fellow

Research Interests:

Soviet Union; Cold War; History of Economic Development; Third World

Room: SAR.1.03G
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789
Email: a.iandolo@lse.ac.uk

 
Nataliya Kibita
Dr Nataliya Kibita
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research Interests:
Soviet Union, Ukraine in the 20th century, history of Soviet institutions, Soviet economic history, Cold War

Room: SAR.M.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789
Email: n.kibita@lse.ac.uk
 
LSEPiccolo
Dr Konstantina Maragkou
Marie Curie Post-Doctoral Fellow

Research Interests:

Human Rights; Cold War in the Balkans; Southern European Dictatorships; Western Europe since 1945; Modern Greek History

Room: SAR.M.15
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6861
Email: k.maragkou@lse.ac.uk

 
IanMorris
Professor Ian Morris
Philippe Roman Professor

Research Interests:
World History, Long-Term History, Archaeology, Strategic Forecasting, Economics, Anthropology

Room: TW1.10D
Email: Contact Bastiaan Bouwman
 
Mulich238
Dr Jeppe Mulich
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research Interests:
Comparative Empires; Global History; Law and Colonialism

Room: SAR.M.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789
Email: j.mulich@lse.ac.uk
 
LutzRaphael
Professor Lutz Raphael
Gerda Henkel Visiting Professor

Research Interests:
Rural History in Western Europe (19th/20th Century); History of Historiography (19th/20th century); History of Europe (20th century); History of the social sciences (20th century); Methodology and Theory of modern Historiography

Room: SAR.3.15
Tel: TBA
Email: l.raphael@lse.ac.uk
 
roussellier
Dr Nicolas Roussellier
Visiting Senior Fellow

Research Interests:
France-Britain; Political History; Parliamentary History; The Republic Idea

Room: SAR.M.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789
Email: TBA
 


See also:

  • LSE Experts: An overview of the department's research expertise

 

Graduate Teaching Assistants and Guest Teachers

A | B | C | D | F | G | H | I | J | M | P | R | S | T | Y | Z

 
LSEPiccolo
Ms Sarah Ashraf
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY203 - The Arab-Israeli Conflict: Nationalism, Territory, Religion

Email: s.ashraf2@lse.ac.uk

 
Bouwman
Mr Bastiaan Bouwman
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY206 - The International History of the Cold War, 1945-1989

Email: s.a.bouwman@lse.ac.uk

 
CBrennan
Dr Christopher Brennan
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY216 - Four Reichs, Austria, Prussia and the Contest for Germany since 1618

Email: c.m.brennan@lse.ac.uk
 
LSEPiccolo
Dr Phoebe Chow
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY235 - Modernity and the State in East Asia: China, Japan and Korea since 1840

Email: p.chow@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Dr Rosalind Coffey
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Email: r.s.coffey@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Mr Barnaby Crowcroft
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: Coming Soon

 
Dab
Mr Alexandre Dab
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY238 - The Cold War and European Integration, 1947-1992

Email: a.dab@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Dr Vladimir Dobrenko
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: v.dobrenko@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Marvin Benjamin Fried

Dr Marvin Fried
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890
HY226 - The Great War, 1914-1918

Email: m.b.fried@lse.ac.uk

 
Gjerso
Dr Jonas Fossli Gjersø
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: j.f.gjerso@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Dr Sajjan Gohel
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY435 - Political Islam: From Ibn Taymiyya to Osama bin Laden

Email: s.m.gohel@lse.ac.uk; sm@apfoundation.org

 

Giovanni Graglia

Dr Giovanni Graglia
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century
HY116 - International History since 1890
HY400 - Crisis Decision-Making in War and Peace, 1914-2003

Email: g.graglia@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Mr Anton Harder
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Email: a.harder@lse.ac.uk

 
aIrfan
Ms Anne Irfan
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY203 - The Arab-Israeli Conflict: Nationalism, Territory, Religion

Email: a.e.irfan@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Ms Eleanor Janega
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY118 - Faith, Power and Revolution: Europe and the Wider World, c.1500-c.1800

Email: Coming Soon

 

aMason

Dr Andrea Mason
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: a.g.mason@lse.ac.uk

 
Mayhew
Mr Alexander Mayhew
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY226 - The Great War 1914-1918

Email: a.c.mayhew@lse.ac.uk

 
Sophia Moesch
Dr Sophia Mösch
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: s.c.moesch@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Paul Mulvey

Dr Paul Mulvey
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY226 - The Great War 1914-1918
HY240 - From Empire to Commonwealth: War, Race and Imperialism in British History, 1780 to 1979

Email: p.m.mulvey@lse.ac.uk

 

Ms Emma Peplow

Dr Emma Peplow
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890
HY400 - Crisis Decision-Making in War and Peace, 1914-2003

Email: e.j.peplow@lse.ac.uk

 

fRoemer

Dr Felix Römer
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY226 - The Great War, 1914-1918
HY322 - Nazi Germany and the Second World War – Causes and Course, 1933-1945
 
Rupp
Mr Michael Rupp
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890

Email: m.rupp@lse.ac.uk

 
Scarborough
Mr Isaac M. Scarborough
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY242 - The Soviet Union: Domestic, International and Intellectual History

Email: i.scarborough@lse.ac.uk

 
mSkjonsberg
Mr Max Skjonsberg
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY118 - Faith, Power and Revolution: Europe and the Wider World, c.1500-c.1800

Email: m.skjonsberg@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Mr Ian Stewart
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:

HY116 - International History since 1890
HY118 - Faith, Power and Revolution: Europe and the Wider World, c.1500-c.1800

Email: i.b.stewart@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Dr Natalia Telepneva
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY206 - The International History of the Cold War, 1945-1989

Email: n.telepneva@lse.ac.uk

 
LSEPiccolo
Dr Lauren Young
Guest Teacher

Teaching:

HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Email: l.b.young@lse.ac.uk

 
Dr Valeria Zanier
Dr Valeria Zanier
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century
HY235 - Modernity and the State in East Asia: China, Japan and Korea since 1840

Email: v.zanier@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|