Home > International Development > People > Research Students

 

Research students

Welcome. This page is a resource for the research student community at International Development (MPhils and PhDs). You will find useful information on the range of our research areas as well as biographical and contact information on all of us. 

As you will see we are a diverse group. ID attracted us from all parts of the world and from the gamut of social sciences. As Europeans, South Asians, East Asians, Latin Americans, Africans, North Americans (and yes even some British students), we have been drawn to the LSE. As economists, anthropologists, political scientists, historians, geographers, lawyers (and even a classicist), we somehow manage not only to get along but thrive at ID.

Enjoy our website and do feel free to contact us. We would like to hear from you. Better still, come and join us at the world's best place for the study of social science and one of the most stimulating and dynamic departments for the study of development.

Please note that applications for October 2014 start are closed. We will open the next round of applications in October. Any enquiries can be directed to Susan Hoult|.

 

Anila Channa|

Research interests: Political economy of education provision, educational stratification, education policy and reforms particularly decentralization and school-based management; kinship groups and ethnic fractionalization; social capital; South Asia, particularly Pakistan

ContactA.A.Channa@lse.ac.uk|

Benjamin Chemouni|

Research interests: The variation of state effectiveness between Burundi and Rwanda

Contact: B.H.Chemouni@lse.ac.uk|  

Giulia Ferrari|

Research interests: Mainstreaming HIV/AIDS and gender into microfinance-based poverty alleviation programmes - an economic evaluation

Fadi Hassan|

Research interests: Development macroeconomics

Contact: F.Hassan@lse.ac.uk|

Ivor Jones|

Research interests: The politics of government policy toward software licensing in Brazil and Argentina

Vincent Kienzler|

Research interests: Implementation of performance-based management in the public sector

Contact: V.G.Kienzler@lse.ac.uk|

Eduardo Mello|

Research interests: Comparative study of distributive institutions, social policy, the political consequences of inequality.

Contact: E.J.Mello@lse.ac.uk|

Laura Munro|

Research interests:  Development economics, risk-sharing and savings mechanisms, international trade

Contact: L.Munro@lse.ac.uk|

Caroline Pöschl

Research interests: Taxation and accountability

Contact: C.Poeschl@lse.ac.uk|

Praveen Priyadarshi|

Research interests:  Development studies, urban studies, cross-cultural studies, Indian studies, city governance

Contact: P.Priyadarshi@lse.ac.uk|

Alessandra Radicati|

Research interests: Technology, gender, neoliberalism, anthropological theory, Sri Lanka/US

Contact: A.Radicati@lse.ac.uk|

Anouk S Rigterink|

Research interests: Quantitative analysis of violent conflict

Contact: A.S.Rigterink@lse.ac.uk|

Nelson A Ruiz-Guarin|

Research interests: Political Economy, Institutional Economics, Democracy and Development, Designs of Political Institutions, Large-N Comparative Politics, Measurement of Political Phenomena,  Micro Data and Causal Inference for Studying Effects of Politics (on Development, Violence and Conflict)

Contact: N.A.Ruiz-Guarin@lse.ac.uk|

Alaa Tartir|

Research interests:  Palestinian-Israeli Conflict; Political Economy of International Development and Foreign Aid; State-Building and Governance in Conflict-Affected Areas, and Public Policy Analysis. 

Contact: A.Tartir@lse.ac.uk|

Petterson Molina Vale|

Research interests: Productivity of cattle ranching and deforestation in the Brazilian Amazon

Contact: P.M.Vale@lse.ac.uk|

Florian Weigand|

Research interests: Human (in-)security; Conflicts, new wars; Political order, statehood; Legitimacy; Security provision, policingpeace/state-building, security sector reform; Afghanistan, Pakistan

Contact: F.Weigand@lse.ac.uk|

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|