Home > International Development > People > Research Students

 

How to contact us

Department of International Development
6-8th Floors, Connaught House
London School of Economics and Political Science
Houghton Street
London
WC2A 2AE

  

Tel: +44 (020) 7955 6565/7425
+44 (020) 3486 2626

 

Frequently Asked Questions|

 

Please submit enquiries through our online query form|

 

twitter-32|   facebook-32|

Research Students

Students at the Postgraduate Graduation Ceremony, December 2014

Welcome! This page is a resource for the research student community at International Development (MPhils and PhDs). You will find useful information on the range of our research areas as well as biographical and contact information on all of us. 

As you will see, we are a diverse group. The Department of International Development has attracted us from all parts of the world and from the gamut of social sciences. 

As Europeans, South Asians, East Asians, Latin Americans, Africans, North Americans (and yes, even some British students), we have been drawn to the LSE. As economists, anthropologists, political scientists, historians, geographers, lawyers (and even a classicist), we somehow manage not only to get along but also to thrive in the department.

Enjoy our website and do feel free to contact us. We would like to hear from you. Better still, come and join us at the world's best place for the study of social science and one of the most stimulating and dynamic departments for the study of development.

Please note that applications for October 2014 start are closed. We will open the next round of applications in October. Any enquiries can be directed to Susan Hoult|.

 


MRes Students

Brian Dornan (MRes)

Supervisor: Professor James Putzel

Contact: B.J.Dornan@lse.ac.uk|

Lucy Dubochet (MRes)

Supervisor: Professor Stuart Corbridge; Dr Tania Burchardt

Contact: L.Dubochet@lse.ac.uk|

Camille Pellerin (MRes)

Supervisor: Professor James Putzel

Contact: C.Pellerin@lse.ac.uk|

Elizabeth Storer (MRes)

Supervisor: Professor Tim Allen

Contact: E.Storer@lse.ac.uk|

PhD Students

Anila Channa|

Supervisor: Professor Jean-Paul Faguet

Research interests: Political economy of education provision, educational stratification, education policy and reforms particularly decentralization and school-based management; kinship groups and ethnic fractionalization; social capital; South Asia, particularly Pakistan

ContactA.A.Channa@lse.ac.uk|

Benjamin Chemouni|

Supervisor: Professor James Putzel

Research interests: The variation of state effectiveness between Burundi and Rwanda

Contact: B.H.Chemouni@lse.ac.uk|  

Regina Enjuto-Martinez

Supervisor: Professor Jude Howell

Contact: R.Enjuto-Martinez@lse.ac.uk|

Yi Fan

Supervisor: Dr Diana Weinhold

Contact: Y.Fan@lse.ac.uk|

Giulia Ferrari|

Supervisor: Dr Radha Iyengar

Research interests: Mainstreaming HIV/AIDS and gender into microfinance-based poverty alleviation programmes - an economic evaluation

Arabella Fraser

Supervisor: Professor Tim Forsyth

Contact: A.F.Fraser@lse.ac.uk|

Thomas Höhne-Sparborth

Supervisor: Dr Elliott Green

Contact: T.Hohne-Sparborth@lse.ac.uk|

Sheila Kamunyori

Supervisor: Dr Kate Meagher

Contact: S.Kamunyori@lse.ac.uk|

Vincent Kienzler|

Supervisor: Professor David Lewis

Research interests: Implementation of performance-based management in the public sector

Contact: V.G.Kienzler@lse.ac.uk|

Thomas Kirk

Supervisor: Professor Mary Kaldor

Contact: T.Kirk@lse.ac.uk|

Maria del Pilar Lopez-Uribe

Supervisor: Professor Jean-Paul Faguet, Professor Tim Besley

Research interests: Political Economy; Microeconomics; Conflict; Institutional Economy

Contact: M.D.Lopez-Uribe@lse.ac.uk|

Gauthier Marchais

Supervisor: Dr Elliott Green

Contact: G.Marchais@lse.ac.uk|

Eduardo Mello|

Supervisor: Dr Lloyd Gruber

Research interests: Comparative study of distributive institutions, social policy, the political consequences of inequality.

Contact: E.J.Mello@lse.ac.uk|

Simona Montanari

Supervisor: Professor James Putzel

Contact: S.Montanari@lse.ac.uk|

Laura Munro|

Supervisor: Professor Jean-Paul Faguet

Research interests:  Development economics, risk-sharing and savings mechanisms, international trade

Contact: L.Munro@lse.ac.uk|

Karl Muth

Supervisor: Professor Robert Wade

Contact: K.Muth@lse.ac.uk|

Christopher Paek

Supervisor: Dr Kate Meagher

Contact: C.Paek@lse.ac.uk|

Georgina Pearson

Supervisor: Professor Tim Allen

Contact: G.F.Pearson@lse.ac.uk|

Naomi Pendle

Supervisor: Professor Tim Allen

Contact: N.R.Pendle@lse.ac.uk|

Caroline Pöschl

Supervisor: Professor Jean-Paul Faguet

Research interests: Taxation and accountability

Contact: C.Poeschl@lse.ac.uk|

Praveen Priyadarshi|

Supervisor: Professor James Putzel

Research interests:  Development studies, urban studies, cross-cultural studies, Indian studies, city governance

Contact: P.Priyadarshi@lse.ac.uk|

Alessandra Radicati|

Supervisor: Dr Rajesh Venugopal

Research interests: Infrastructure, modernity, space and place, globalization, social theory

Contact: A.Radicati@lse.ac.uk|

Portia Roelofs

Supervisor: Dr Kate Meagher

Research Interests: Nigerian Politics; Governance and Accountability; African Politics; Comparative Political Theory; Corruption; Gender

Contact: P.Roelofs@lse.ac.uk|

Nelson A Ruiz-Guarin|

Supervisor: Professor Jean-Paul Faguet

Research interests: Political Economy, Institutional Economics, Democracy and Development, Designs of Political Institutions, Large-N Comparative Politics, Measurement of Political Phenomena, Micro Data and Causal Inference for Studying Effects of Politics (on Development, Violence and Conflict)

Contact: N.A.Ruiz-Guarin@lse.ac.uk|

Emrys Schoemaker

Supervisor: Dr. Shirin Madon

Contact: E.Schoemaker@lse.ac.uk|

Rebecca Sutton

Supervisor: Professor Tim Allen, Dr Devika Hovell

Contact: R.Sutton@lse.ac.uk|

Alaa Tartir|

Supervisor: Professor Mary Kaldor

Research interests:  Palestinian-Israeli Conflict; Political Economy of International Development and Foreign Aid; State-Building and Governance in Conflict-Affected Areas, and Public Policy Analysis. 

Contact: A.Tartir@lse.ac.uk|

Samuel Vincent

Supervisors: Professor Mary Kaldor; Professor David Keen

Contact: S.Vincent@lse.ac.uk|

Florian Weigand|

Supervisor: Professor Mary Kaldor

Research interests: Human (in-)security; Conflicts, new wars; Political order, statehood; Legitimacy; Security provision, policingpeace/state-building, security sector reform; Afghanistan, Pakistan

Contact: F.Weigand@lse.ac.uk|

Recently Completed PhDs

Yi Fan

Supervisor: Dr Diana Weinhold

Contact: Y.Fan@lse.ac.uk|

Fadi Hassan|

Research interests: Development macroeconomics

Contact: F.Hassan@lse.ac.uk|

Ivor Jones|

Supervisor: Professor Ken Shadlen

Research interests: The politics of government policy toward software licensing in Brazil and Argentina

Anokhi Parikh

Thesis: The private city: property, planning and protest in the making of Lavasa New Town

Supervisor: Professor Stuart Corbridge

Contact: A.Parikh2@lse.ac.uk|

Anouk Rigterink|

Supervisor: Dr Diana Weinhold

Research interests: Quantitative analysis of violent conflict

Contact: A.S.Rigterink@lse.ac.uk|

Alyson Smith|

Thesis: Post-conflict in Rwanda: uncovering hidden factors in the gender policy context.

Supervisor: Professor Jo Beall

Research interests: Post-conflict reconstructions (with particular attention to Rwanda, long-term outcomes of reconstructions, gender policies.

Contact: A.Smith6@lse.ac.uk|

Petterson Vale|

Thesis: Land use intensification in the Amazon. Revisiting theories of cattle, deforestation and development in frontier settlements.

Supervisor: Dr Diana Weinhold

Research interests: Productivity of cattle ranching and deforestation in the Brazilian Amazon

Contact: P.M.Vale@lse.ac.uk|

Maria Waldinger

Supervisor: Dr Diana Weinhold

Contact: M.Waldinger@lse.ac.uk|

 
Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|