How to contact us

Department of International Development
6-8th Floors, Connaught House
London School of Economics and Political Science
Houghton Street
London
WC2A 2AE

  

Tel: +44 (020) 7955 6565/7425
+44 (020) 3486 2626

 

Frequently Asked Questions

 

Please submit enquiries through our online query form

 

twitter-32   facebook-32

Research Students

Students at the Postgraduate Graduation Ceremony, December 2014

Welcome! This page is a resource for the research student community at International Development (MPhils and PhDs). You will find useful information on the range of our research areas as well as biographical and contact information on all of us. 

As you will see, we are a diverse group. The Department of International Development has attracted us from all parts of the world and from the gamut of social sciences. 

As Europeans, South Asians, East Asians, Latin Americans, Africans, North Americans (and yes, even some British students), we have been drawn to the LSE. As economists, anthropologists, political scientists, historians, geographers, lawyers (and even a classicist), we somehow manage not only to get along but also to thrive in the department.

Enjoy our website and do feel free to contact us. We would like to hear from you. Better still, come and join us at the world's best place for the study of social science and one of the most stimulating and dynamic departments for the study of development.

Please note that applications for October 2014 start are closed. We will open the next round of applications in October. Any enquiries can be directed to Susan Hoult.

 


MRes Students

Brian Dornan (MRes)

Supervisor: Professor James Putzel

Contact: B.J.Dornan@lse.ac.uk

Lucy Dubochet (MRes)

Supervisor: Professor Stuart Corbridge; Dr Tania Burchardt

Contact: L.Dubochet@lse.ac.uk

Camille Pellerin, MRes Candidate, LSE

Camille Pellerin (MRes)

 

Supervisor: Professor James Putzel

Contact: C.Pellerin@lse.ac.uk

 
Elizabeth Storer, MRes Candidate, LSE

Elizabeth Storer (MRes)

 

Supervisor: Professor Tim Allen

Contact: E.Storer@lse.ac.uk

 

PhD Students

Benjamin Chemouni, PhD Candidate, LSE

Benjamin Chemouni

 

Supervisor: Professor James Putzel

Research interests: The variation of state effectiveness between Burundi and Rwanda

Media appearances include Al Jazeera English and BBC World News [find out more].

Contact: B.H.Chemouni@lse.ac.uk

 
Regina Enjuto-Martinez, PhD Candidate, LSE

Regina Enjuto-Martinez

 

Supervisor: Professor Jude Howell

Contact: R.Enjuto-Martinez@lse.ac.uk

 
Giulia Ferrari

Giulia Ferrari

 

Supervisor: Dr Radha Iyengar

Research interests: Mainstreaming HIV/AIDS and gender into microfinance-based poverty alleviation programmes - an economic evaluation

 

 
Thomas Hohne-Sparborth, PhD Candidate, LSE

Thomas Höhne-Sparborth

 

Supervisor: Dr Elliott Green

Contact: T.Hohne-Sparborth@lse.ac.uk

 
SheilaKamunyori, PhD Candidate, LSE

Sheila Kamunyori

 

Supervisor: Dr Kate Meagher

Research interests: Planning in informal contexts; Slum upgrading; Social inclusion in urban areas; Property rights and tenure security.

Contact: S.Kamunyori@lse.ac.uk

 
Vincent Kienzler, PhD Candidate, LSE

Vincent Kienzler

 

Supervisor: Professor David Lewis

Research interests: Implementation of performance-based management in the public sector

Contact: V.G.Kienzler@lse.ac.uk

 

Thomas Kirk

Supervisor: Professor Mary Kaldor

Contact: T.Kirk@lse.ac.uk

Maria Lopez Uribe, PhD Candidate, LSE

Maria del Pilar Lopez-Uribe

 

Supervisor: Professor Jean-Paul Faguet, Professor Tim Besley

Research interests: Political Economy; Microeconomics; Conflict; Institutional Economy

Contact: M.D.Lopez-Uribe@lse.ac.uk

 
Gauthier Marchais, PhD Candidate, LSE

Gauthier Marchais

 

Supervisor: Dr Elliott Green, Dr Kate Meagher

Research interests: Political economy of armed conflict; Armed mobilization; Social movement theory; Contentious politics; Anthropology of armed conflict

Contact: G.Marchais@lse.ac.uk

 

Eduardo Mello

Supervisor: Dr Lloyd Gruber

Research interests: Comparative study of distributive institutions, social policy, the political consequences of inequality.

Contact: E.J.Mello@lse.ac.uk

Simona Montanari, PhD Candidate, LSE

Simona Montanari

 

Supervisor: Professor James Putzel

Contact: S.Montanari@lse.ac.uk

 
Karl Muth, PhD Candidate, LSE

Karl Muth

 

Supervisor: Professor Robert Wade

Media: 'Telling New Stories' [TEDx]; 'Conversations, Global Policy' [LSE].

Contact: K.Muth@lse.ac.uk

 

Christopher Paek

Supervisor: Dr Kate Meagher

Contact: C.Paek@lse.ac.uk

Georgina Pearson, PhD Candidate, LSE

Georgina Pearson

 

Supervisor: Professor Tim Allen

Research interests: Global health; neglected tropical diseases; medical anthropology; mixed methods.

Teaching: DV418 - African Development

Contact: G.F.Pearson@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Naomi Pendle

Supervisor: Professor Tim Allen

Contact: N.R.Pendle@lse.ac.uk

Praveen Priyadarshi, PhD Candidate, LSE

Praveen Priyadarshi

 

Supervisor: Professor James Putzel

Research interests:  Development studies, urban studies, cross-cultural studies, Indian studies, city governance

Contact: P.Priyadarshi@lse.ac.uk

 
Alessandra Radicati, PhD Candidate, LSE

Alessandra Radicati

 

Supervisor: Dr Rajesh Venugopal

Research interests: Infrastructure, modernity, space and place, globalization, social theory

Contact: A.Radicati@lse.ac.uk

 
Portia Roelofs, PhD student in International Development

Portia Roelofs

 

Supervisor: Dr Kate Meagher

Research Interests: Nigerian Politics; Governance and Accountability; African Politics; Comparative Political Theory; Corruption; Gender

DTC Prizewinner at the 2015 Research Festival [read more].

Contact: P.Roelofs@lse.ac.uk

 

Nelson A Ruiz-Guarin

Supervisor: Professor Jean-Paul Faguet, Dr Sandra Sequeira, Dr Dominik Hangartner

Research interests: Political Economy; Institutional Economics; Democracy and Development; Designs of Political Institutions and Electroral Systems; Large-N Comparative Politics; Causal Inference for Studying Effects of Politics (on Economic Development and Conflict)

Contact: N.A.Ruiz-Guarin@lse.ac.uk

Emrys Schoemaker, PhD Candidate, LSE

Emrys Schoemaker

 

Supervisor: Dr. Shirin Madon

Contact: E.Schoemaker@lse.ac.uk

 
Rebecca Sutton, PhD Candidate, LSE

Rebecca Sutton

 

Supervisor: Professor Tim Allen, Dr Devika Hovell

Contact: R.A.Sutton@lse.ac.uk

 
Sam Vincent, PhD Candidate, LSE

Samuel Vincent

 

Supervisors: Professor Mary Kaldor; Professor David Keen

Contact: S.Vincent@lse.ac.uk

 
Florian Weigand, PhD Candidate, LSE

Florian Weigand

 

Supervisor: Professor Mary Kaldor

Research interests: Human security; Conflicts and new wars; Political order; Statehood; Legitimacy; Security provision; Policing peace / state-building; Security sector reform; Afghanistan; Pakistan.

Contact: F.Weigand@lse.ac.uk

 

Recently Completed PhDs

Anila Channa

Supervisor: Professor Jean-Paul Faguet

Research interests: Political economy of education provision, educational stratification, education policy and reforms particularly decentralization and school-based management; kinship groups and ethnic fractionalization; social capital; South Asia, particularly Pakistan

ContactA.A.Channa@lse.ac.uk

Yi Fan, Completed PhD candidate, LSE

Yi Fan

Thesis: Essays on inequality and intergenerational mobility in China.

Supervisor: Dr Diana Weinhold, Dr Guy Michaels, Professor Robin Burgess

Research interests: Development economics; Labour economics; Public Policy; Economic history; Political economy.

Contact: Y.Fan@lse.ac.uk

 
Arabella Fraser, Completed Doctoral Candidate, LSE

Arabella Fraser

 

Supervisor: Professor Tim Forsyth

Contact: A.F.Fraser@lse.ac.uk

 

Fadi Hassan

Research interests: Development macroeconomics

Contact: F.Hassan@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Ivor Jones

Supervisor: Professor Ken Shadlen

Research interests: The politics of government policy toward software licensing in Brazil and Argentina

Laura Munro, PhD Candidate, LSE

Laura Munro

 

Supervisor: Professor Jean-Paul Faguet

Research interests:  Development economics, risk-sharing and savings mechanisms, international trade

Contact: L.Munro@lse.ac.uk

 

 
Anokhi Parikh, PhD Candidate, LSE

Anokhi Parikh

 

Thesis: The private city: property, planning and protest in the making of Lavasa New Town

Supervisor: Professor Stuart Corbridge

Contact: A.Parikh2@lse.ac.uk

 

Caroline Pöschl

Supervisor: Professor Jean-Paul Faguet

Research interests: Taxation and accountability

Co-editor: Is Decentralisation Good for Development? (Oxford, 2015)

Contact: C.Poeschl@lse.ac.uk

Alyson Smith

Thesis: Post-conflict in Rwanda: uncovering hidden factors in the gender policy context.

Supervisor: Professor Jo Beall

Research interests: Post-conflict reconstructions (with particular attention to Rwanda, long-term outcomes of reconstructions, gender policies.

Contact: A.Smith6@lse.ac.uk

Alaa Tartir, PhD Candidate, LSE

Alaa Tartir

 

Supervisor: Professor Mary Kaldor, Dr Denisa Kostovicova

Research interests:  Palestinian-Israeli Conflict; Political Economy of International Development and Foreign Aid; State-Building and Governance in Conflict-Affected Areas, and Public Policy Analysis.

Profile pages: Author at Al-Shabaka  /  LinkedIn.

Contact: A.Tartir@lse.ac.uk  /  alaa@al-shabaka.org

 
Petterson Vale, PhD Candidate, LSE

Petterson M. Vale

 

Thesis: Land use intensification; Welfare and the environment; Spatial econometrics; Development in agricultural frontiers; Climate change.

Supervisor: Dr Diana Weinhold

Research interests: Productivity of cattle ranching and deforestation in the Brazilian Amazon

Contact: P.M.Vale@lse.ac.uk

 
 Dr Maria Waldinger, Grantham Institute, LSE

Maria Waldinger

 

Post-Doctoral Researcher at the Grantham Institute

Supervisor: Dr Diana Weinhold

Contact: M.Waldinger@lse.ac.uk

 

 
 
Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|