Professor Robert Wade awarded Leontief Prize

Robert Wade has been awarded the 2008 Leontief Prize for Advancing the Frontiers of Economic Thought. The citation recognizes "the exceptional contributions ... to theoretical and practical understandings of equity and development, at global and local levels".

The prize is in honour of Wassily Leontief, Nobel Prize winner in Economics for his work on the structure of economies and its effects on growth and inequality. Earlier winners of the Leontief Prize include J. K. Galbraith, Amartya Sen, Sam Bowles, Robert Frank, Paul Streeten, Juliet Schor, Herman Daly, Richard Nelson and Dani Rodrik. The award ceremony will take place in November at Tufts University, Boston.