Saw_Opening_0334_1366x538_16-9_sRGBe

Research Students


Our research students (MRes, MPhil, and PhD) are as diverse as the research topics they are working on. Below is a list of our current research students in the department, their research interests and contact details.

AllisonBensonHernandez

Allison Benson-Hernandez              

Supervisor: Professor Jean-Paul Faguet              

Reseach Interests: Rural Development; Social Capital; Institutions; Conflict              

ContactA.L.Benson-Hernandez@lse.ac.uk

 


 

mysteryperson

Kara Blackmore

Supervisor: Professor Tim Allen              

Contact: K.A.Blackmore@lse.ac.uk

 


 

mysteryperson

Brian Dornan               

Supervisor: Professor James Putzel              

Contact: B.J.Dornan@lse.ac.uk

 


 

mysteryperson

Lucy Dubochet               

Supervisor: Professor Stuart Corbridge; Dr Tania Burchardt              

Contact: L.Dubochet@lse.ac.uk

 


 

MaxGallien

Max Gallien                                              

Supervisor: Dr Kate Meagher              

Research interests: Informal economies; Illegal trade; Politics and the political economy of the Middle East and North Africa; Political Islam.              

Contact: M.Gallien@lse.ac.uk

 


 

ThomasHohneSparborth

Thomas Höhne-Sparborth                                          

Supervisor: Dr Elliott Green              

Contact: T.Hohne-Sparborth@lse.ac.uk

 


 

ClaudiaHorn

Claudia Horn 

Supervisor: Professor Jude Howell

Research Interests: political sociology, international development cooperation, emerging economies

Contact: C.Horn@lse.ac.uk

Click here to view academia profile

 


 

SheilaKamunyori

Sheila Kamunyori              

Supervisor: Dr Kate Meagher              

Research interests: Planning in informal contexts; Slum upgrading; Social inclusion in urban areas; Property rights and tenure security.              

Contact: S.W.Kamunyori@lse.ac.uk

Click here to view academia profile

 


 

VincentKienzler

Vincent Kienzler                                           

Supervisor: Professor David Lewis              

Research interests: Implementation of performance-based management in the public sector              

Contact: V.G.Kienzler@lse.ac.uk

Click here to view academia profile

 


 

mysteryperson

Thomas Kirk              

Supervisor: Professor Mary Kaldor              

Contact: T.Kirk@lse.ac.uk

 


 

MariaLopezUribe-Cropped-113x148

Maria del Pilar Lopez-Uribe              

Supervisor: Professor Jean-Paul Faguet, Professor Tim Besley              

Research interests: Political Economy; Microeconomics; Conflict; Institutional Economy              

Contact: M.D.Lopez-Uribe@lse.ac.uk

Click here to view Maria's professional website

 


 

GuoerLiu

Guoer Liu                                             

Supervisor: Dr Mayling Birney; Professor Jude Howell              

Research interests: Governance; political economy              

Contact: G.Liu5@lse.ac.uk

 


 

Silhouette of a person

Michael Mbate

Supervisor: Dr. Sandra Sequeira 

Research Interest: Causal Inference,  Decentralization, Public Service Provision, Spatial Econometrics

Contact: m.mbate@lse.ac.uk

Click here to view academia profile

 


 

mysteryperson

Eduardo Mello              

Supervisor: Dr Lloyd Gruber              

Research interests: Comparative study of distributive institutions, social policy, the political consequences of inequality.              

Contact: E.J.Mello@lse.ac.uk

 

 


 

SimonaMontanari

Simona Montanari     

Supervisor: Professor James Putzel              

Contact: S.Montanari@lse.ac.uk

 


 

ChrisPaek

Christopher Paek              

Supervisor: Dr Kate Meagher              

Research interests: Micro-insurance; financial inclusion; inclusive markets; South Africa.              

Contact: C.Paek@lse.ac.uk

 


 

CamillePellerin

Camille Pellerin               

Supervisor: Professor James Putzel              

Contact: C.Pellerin@lse.ac.uk

 


 

mysteryperson

Naomi Pendle        

Supervisor: Professor Tim Allen              

Contact: N.R.Pendle@lse.ac.uk

 


 

PraveenPriyadarshi

Praveen Priyadarshi   

Supervisor: Professor James Putzel              

Research interests:  Development studies, urban studies, cross-cultural studies, Indian studies, city governance              

Contact: P.Priyadarshi@lse.ac.uk

 


 

AlessandraRadicati

Alessandra Radicati

Supervisor: Dr Rajesh Venugopal              

Research interests: Infrastructure, modernity, space and place, globalization, social theory              

Contact: A.Radicati@lse.ac.uk

 


 

mysteryperson

Nelson Ruiz-Guarin       

Supervisor: Professor Jean-Paul Faguet, Dr Sandra Sequeira, Dr Dominik Hangartner              

Research interests: Political Economy of Development; Political Selection; Quasi-experimental designs in political science; Electoral Systems        

Contact: N.A.Ruiz-Guarin@lse.ac.uk

Click here to view Nelson's professional website

 


 

EmrysSchoemaker

Emrys Schoemaker                                       

Supervisor: Dr. Shirin Madon              

Contact: E.Schoemaker@lse.ac.uk

 


 

Schulz

Nicolai Schulz

Supervisor: Professor Catherine Boone

Research interests: political economy of development; comparative politics; industrial policy; commodity processing; corruption; green growth; mixed-methods; civil wars

Contact: d.n.schulz@lse.ac.uk

 


 

ElizabethStorer

Elizabeth Storer                                        

Supervisor: Professor Tim Allen              

Contact: E.Storer@lse.ac.uk

Click here to view academia profile

 


 

RebeccaSutton

Rebecca Sutton                         

Supervisor: Professor Tim Allen, Dr Devika Hovell              

Contact: R.A.Sutton@lse.ac.uk

 


 

SamVincent

Samuel Vincent

Spervisors: Professor Mary Kaldor; Professor David Keen              

Contact: S.Vincent@lse.ac.uk

 


 

FlorianWeigand

Florian Weigand              

Supervisor: Professor Mary Kaldor              

Research interests: Human security; Conflicts and new wars; Political order; Statehood; Legitimacy; Security provision; Policing peace / state-building; Security sector reform; Afghanistan; Pakistan.              

Contact: F.Weigand@lse.ac.uk

Click here to view academia profile

 

 

Twitter

LSE Int Development LSE_ID

Student experience: The third Development Management Workshop with guest speaker @LSEChaplain focused on a topic of… twitter.com/i/web/status/9…

11 hours ago

Reply Retweet Favorite

LSE Int Development LSE_ID

RT @KateRaworth: If you're in London this Thursday, join us at LSE to talk 21st century economics, 6.30-8pm. Free doughnuts (metaphorically…

13 hours ago

Reply Retweet Favorite

Contact us

Telephone

Dru Daley, Deputy Department Manager +44(0)20 7955 7425

Roxane Ray, MSc Programme Manager +44(0)20 7955 2626

Dipa Patel, Web, Communications and Events +44(0)20 7955 6565

Email

General Enquires intdev.enquiries@lse.ac.uk

Address View on Google maps

Department of International Development, Connaught House, London School of Economics, Houghton Street, London, WC2A 2AE