Home > Department of Government > Staff > Research Students > Comparative Politics research students

Comparative Politics research students


Kate Alexander

Supervisor: Dr Jonathan Hopkin
Contact:  K.I.Alexander@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Jann Boeddeling

Jann Boeddeling

Thesis title: Creative Practice and Hegemonised Thought - a Critical Mobilisation Studies Perspective on the 2011 Egyptian Revolution

Supervisors: Dr John Chalcraft
Contact: J.Boeddeling@lse.ac.uk

anita e brkanic

Anita E Brkanic

Thesis title: A Home Away from Home: the drivers behind Croatian Diaspora political involvement in homeland affairs

Supervisors: Dr John Hutchinson, Dr Denisa Kostovicova
Contact: A.E.Brkanic@lse.ac.uk

Gisela Calderon Gongora

Gisela Calderon-Gongora

Thesis title: Neighbours, Citizens and Partisans between Democratic and Authoritarian Enclaves: Party Politics and Institutional Schemes of Citizen Participation in Mexico City and State of Mexico.

Supervisor: Professor George Philip
Contact: G.Calderon-Gongora@lse.ac.uk


Wai Cheng

Supervisor: Dr Chun Lin
Contact: W.Cheng@lse.ac.uk


Sara Maria Correia

Supervisor: Dr John Hutchinson, Dr Denisa Kostovicova
Contact:  S.M.Correia@lse.ac.uk


Phillip Decker

Supervisor: Professor John Breuilly, Dr John Hutchinson
Contact: P.Decker@lse.ac.uk

Corey Jentry

Corey Jentry

Thesis title: The Troubles Studying The Troubles: Academic Discipline Or A Policy Community?

Supervisor: Dr Bill Kissane

Pinar Dinc Kenanoglu

Pinar Dinc

Thesis title: Construction and competition of collective identity and memory: The case of Dersim 1938

Supervisor: Dr Bill Kissane
Contact: P.Dinc@lse.ac.uk

Ellie Knott

Ellie Knott

Thesis title: Citizens and Compatriots: comparing Russia’s relationship with Crimea and Romania’s relationship with Moldova from below

Supervisor: Dr Denisa Kostovicova
Contact: E.K.Knott@lse.ac.uk


Yasmine Laveille

Supervisor: Dr John Chalcraft
Contact: Y.Laveille@lse.ac.uk


Wei Ling Diane Lek

Thesis title: Chinese rural old age security in comparative perspective

Supervisor: Dr Chun Lin

Meor Alif M. Azalan

Meor Alif M. Azalan

Thesis title: The Orang Putih’s Counter-insurgency; a re-examination of the British counter-insurgency campaign during the Malayan Emergency

Supervisor: Professor James Hughes
Contact: M.A.Meor-Azalan@lse.ac.uk

Suzanne Morrison

Suzanne Morrison

Supervisor: Dr John Chalcraft
Contact: S.Morrison@lse.ac.uk


Elise Must

Thesis title: When does inequality cause conflict? The role of perceptions

Supervisor: Dr Paul Mitchell

Anastasia Nosova

Anastasia Nosova

Thesis title: The Dynamics of Political Activity of Business Sector in Kuwait

Supervisor: Dr John Chalcraft
Contact: A.L.Nosova@lse.ac.uk 

Christopher Sampson

Christopher Sampson

Thesis title: Industrial reform and the dynamics of government-enterprise relations in China's water and electricity supply sectors

Supervisor: Professor Mark Thatcher, Dr Chun Lin
Contact: C.U.Sampson@lse.ac.uk


Moritz Schmoll

Supervisor: Dr Steffen Hertog

Fabrizio Scrollini

Fabrizio Scrollini

Thesis title: Transparency Arenas: Exploring  access to information in Chile, New Zealand and Uruguay

Supervisor: Dr Francisco Panizza
Contact: F.A.Scrollini@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Desiree-Shayer-McLeod

Desiree Shayer-McLeod

Thesis title: Why Don’t They Fight? The Emergence and Persistence of Nonviolent Secessionist MovementsIn the North and Horn of Africa

Supervisor: Professor James Hughes
Contact: m.d.shayer-mcleod@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Øyvind Skorge

Øyvind Skorge

Thesis Title: The Gendered Consequences of Knowledge Economies: Why Some Jobs Are More Gender Equal Than Others

Supervisors: Professor David Soskice, Professor Jonathan Hopkin

Randi Helene Solhjell

Randi Helene Solhjell

Thesis title: Power networks and legitimate authority in Weak States’: The Case of the Eastern Democratic Republic of Congo

Supervisor: Professor John Breuilly
Contact: R.H.Solhjell@lse.ac.uk

Pon Souvannaseng

Pon Souvannaseng

Thesis title: 'Losing Ground': Contemporary Development & Economic State-Building in Lao PDR

Supervisor: Dr Chun Lin
Contact: P.Souvannaseng@lse.ac.uk