Home > Department of Government > Research groups > resgroups > Political Science and Political Economy Group

Address and contacts

Prof Torun Dewan
Director of the Political Science and Political Economy Group
Department of Government, LSE
Houghton Street,
London, WC2A 2AE, UK
Email: t.dewan@lse.ac.uk

Political Science and Political Economy Group

The Political Science and Political Economy (PSPE) research group at the LSE brings together faculty and PhD students who do quantitative and/or formal research on political institutions, political behaviour, public policy, and political economy.

We organise a weekly Research Seminar and Doctoral Workshop/ Work in Progress Seminar.  We also publish a working paper series and hold an annual conference (jointly with the Department of Politics at New York University).

Our activities are supported by the Suntory and Toyota International Centres for Economics and Related Disciplines (STICERD) and the LSE Government Department.

PSPE events and activities

PSPE Research Seminar
Every Tuesday during the Michaelmas and Lent terms, 
14.00-15.30, 32L 3.05

PSPE Doctoral Workshop/Work in Progress Seminar
This meets every week during the Michaelmas and Lent Terms, on Mondays, 13:00-14:00 in room CON.1.04.

PSPE Working Papers
PSPE Working Paper 4, 2013
What lies behind the promise of fiscal austerity? Unveiling the determinants of party positioning in the EU
Elina De Simone (University of Naples), Alessandro Sapio (University of Naples)

5th Annual PSPE Conference - 30th May 2014

5th Annual LSE-NYU Conference on Political Science and Political Economy

Some of the papers that will be presented include:

Transparency, Protest and Democratic Stability  (part 2)
James R. Hollyer, B. Peter Rosendorff, and James Raymond Vreeland

Identity Voting and Coalition Formation between Tibetans and Han Chinese
Becky Morton 

An Agenda-Setting Theory of Electoral Competition
Tiberiu Dragu and Xiaochen Fan 

Pivotal Voting for Policy and Prizes 
David Myatt & Alastair Smith  

Links to LSE degree programmes

MRes/PhD programme in Political Science 
MSc in Political Science and Political Economy 
MPA programme 
BSc in Government and Economics