Current And Past Speakers


Tony Travers

Visiting Professor at LSE, specialist in issues affecting local government, director of the Greater London Group and British Government @ LSE


Paul Kelly

Professor of Political Philosophy in the Government Department and LSE Pro Director. 


Martin Loughlin

Professor of Public Law within the Department of Law.


Kate Jenkins

Vice Chair of the LSE Court of Governors, Visiting Professor in the Government Department


George Jones

Emeritus Professor of Government, specialising in local government and political power and aides.


Jill Rutter 

Jill Rutter currently Programme Director at the Institute for Government. She was previously a senior civil servant who worked in at the Treasury and No 10 Downing Street.


Justin Fisher

Professor of Political Science at Brunel, appointed Head of the School of Social Sciences in January 2012.


Tony Wright

A British Labour Party politician and author, who was the Member of Parliament from 1992 to 2010.


Jim Gallagher

Scottish civil servant, professor and company director. He was Whitehall’s most senior civil servant concerned with devolution until he retired in June 2010 as Director-General for Devolution in the Cabinet Office and Ministry of Justice.


Patrick Dunleavy

Professor of Political Science and Public Policy within the Government Department and a prominent political theorist specialising in the fields of public policy and government.


Charlie Beckett

Director of Polis, Head of LSE Department of Media and Communications, author, journalist.


Richard Bacon MP

A Conservative Party Member of Parliament (MP) for South Norfolk since 2001.


Simon Hix

Professor of European and Comparative Politics and head of the Government Department.


Alan Sked

Professor of International History at LS


Conor Gearty

Professor of Human Rights Law in the LSE


Gerry Stoker 

Professor of Governance at the University of Southampton


Ed Page

Sidney and Beatrice Webb Professor of Public Policy in the LSE


Vernon Bogdanor

Research Professor at the Institute for Contemporary British History at King's College London and Professor of Politics at the New College of the Humanities.