Cities@Geography

The Cities cluster (Cities@Geography|) brings together a key group of staff in the Department of Geography & Environment with research and teaching interests relevant to understanding the contemporary city. The group is inherently interdisciplinary and actively collaborates with urban specialists located in other LSE departments through Urban@LSE| (notably Anthropology, Sociology, Social Policy, and Development Studies) and with initiatives such as the Asia Research Centre, Africa Initiative and Urban Age.

Staff have worked with or advised a range of national and international agencies including DCLG, DfID, EU, GLA, UNEP, UN-HABITAT, UNDP and the World Bank, as well as non-governmental organisations.

Staff in the cluster have undertaken a number of ambitious research projects in recent years. These have involved work on urban regeneration, governance and sustainable development; megaprojects and the impact of the Olympics; the relation between urban competitiveness and social cohesion/inequality; gender, labour and rural-urban change in South India; state racism and biopolitical struggle in 20th century South Africa; female-headed households, gender and poverty; youth livelihoods and urban violence; 'slums'; and on migration and migrant diasporas.

Latest news

  • Join us every Tuesday for the Research seminar series on Cities, Space and Development in Michaelmas and Lent Term, where there will be a different guest speaker each week. 
  • The Regional and Urban Planning Studies  programme at LSE has signed an Erasmus Programme 3-year bilateral agreement with the Regional Planning programme at Mimar Sinan Güzel Sanatlar Üniversitesi in Istanbul. This agreement will allow for one PhD student from each institution to visit the partner institution for research for a 6 month period.

Study programmes

The Cities cluster runs four postgraduate programmes, including the double degree in conjunction with Sciences Po in Paris:

See what goes on in these programmes on Facebook! Become a fan of the Urbanisation and Development| or Regional and Urban Planning Studies| pages now!

Cities staff also supervise candidates for the PhD in Human Geography and Urban Studies|, and the PhD in Regional and Urban Planning|.

Staff 

Ryan Centner

Dr. Ryan Centner
r.o.centner@lse.ac.uk|
Lecturer in Urban Geography


Cities and Development|

Sylvia-Chant-2012

Prof. Sylvia Chant
s.chant@lse.ac.uk |
Professor of Development Geography

Profile Page| LSE Experts| Personal Page|
Cities and Development|

Alice Evans

Ms Alice Evans
a.evans@lse.ac.uk|
LSE Fellow in Human Geography

Profile Page| 
Cities and Development|

Ian Gordon

Prof. Ian Gordon
i.r.gordon@lse.ac.uk|
Emeritus Professor of Human Geography
Profile Page| LSE Experts|
Cities and Development|
Economic Geography and Regional Science|

Nancy Holman

Dr. Nancy Holman
n.e.holman@lse.ac.uk|
Lecturer in Urban Planning

Profile Page| LSE Experts| Personal Page|
Cities and Development|
Environmental Economics and Policy|

Gareth A. Jones

Dr. Gareth A. Jones
g.a.jones@lse.ac.uk|
Reader in Urban Geography

Profile Page| LSE Experts|
Cities and Development|

Murray Low

Dr. Murray Low
m.m.low@lse.ac.uk|
Senior Lecturer in Human Geography

Profile Page| 
Cities and Development|

Alan Mace

Dr. Alan Mace
a.mace@lse.ac.uk|
Lecturer in Urban Planning Studies

Profile Page|
Cities and Development|

Claire Mercer

Dr. Claire Mercer
c.c.mercer@lse.ac.uk|
Senior Lecturer in Human Geography

Profile Page| LSE Experts|
Cities and Development|

Antoine Paccoud

Dr. Antoine Paccoud
a.m.paccoud@lse.ac.uk|
LSE Fellow in Human Geography

Profile Page|
Cities and Development|

Hyun Bang Shin

Dr. Hyun Bang Shin
h.b.shin@lse.ac.uk|
Senior Lecturer in Geography & Urban Studies

Profile Page| LSE Experts| Personal Page|
Cities and Development|

Romola Sanyal

Dr. Romola Sanyal
r.sanyal@lse.ac.uk|
Lecturer in Urban Geography


Cities and Development|

Andrew Thornley

Prof. Andrew Thornley
a.thornley@lse.ac.uk|
Emeritus Professor of Urban Planning

Profile Page| LSE Experts|
Cities and Development|

 

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|

cities13|

RUPS|

MSc in Urbanisation and Development