How to contact us
Connect with LSE Geography & Environment: Twitter| Facebook| LinkedIn|

 

Department of

Geography & Environment

London School of Economics & Political Science

Houghton Street

London WC2A 2AE

 

PhD enquiries

Laura Rozario

l.rozario@lse.ac.uk|

+44 (0)20 7955 6061

 

Department Manager

Elaine Gascoyne

e.gascoyne@lse.ac.uk|

 

Economic Geography Cluster

The Economic Geography Cluster integrates spatial and urban economists with more institutionally-oriented economic geographers. It has established an international reputation for economic geography, regional and urban economics. Research across the cluster is anchored in a shared culture and core research values, which place strong emphasis on theoretically-informed, policy-relevant and evidence-based research. Regardless of individual approach cluster members strongly believe that economic geography as a sub-discipline has to engage with rigorous research emanating both from mainstream economics and from more institutional/social perspectives. The emphasis on 'economic' logics as a crucial element differentiates the group from most other economic geography groups in the UK and elsewhere. As a result, the cluster has become a key player in facilitating interaction between economic geography, as practiced by geographers, and a resurgent geographical economics, as practiced by economists.

Substantively the cluster has largely been concerned with the traditional economic geography issues of regional and urban development, spatial inequality, location of economic activity, innovation, agglomeration, and labour market outcomes. Geographically, while there is a strong focus on the UK and Europe, cluster members have worldwide interests (including, recently, for China, Brazil, India and the US). Methodologically it has concentrated on applying and developing quantitative approaches to economic geography, as well as pushing the boundaries of the discipline in areas such as the New Economic Geography and the impact of institutions on economic development. A related focus, reflecting the Department's longstanding planning interests, is in property markets, their regulation and the relation to environmental externalities/public goods (e.g. education and crime) and underlying urban economic theory. The members of the cluster have been successful in publishing in the top scholarly journals in both Geography and Economics, as well as in the very best field journals.

The international standing of the cluster has been recognised in a number of ways. It hosts the Spatial Economics Research Centre| (co-financed by the ESRC, the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills and the Welsh Government) and the What Works Centre for Local Economic Growth| (co-financed by the ESRC and the Departments for Business, Innovation and Skills and Communities and Local Government). In addition, its members have been awarded a number of prestigious prizes, including one European Investment Bank-European Regional Science Prize – the highest accolade for any regional scientist – a Doctorate honoris causa, a Leverhulme Foundation Major Research Fellowship, two Philip Leverhulme Prizes, a Royal Society-Wolfson Merit Award, and a number of prizes for the best papers published in scholarly journals.

Members of the cluster have also played key roles as advisers and consultants to numerous international organisations, government departments and the private sector including the European Commission, the OECD, the World Bank, Regional Development Banks and various UN agencies; the Bank of England Residential Property Forum, Department for Business, Innovation and Science, Department for Communities and Local Government, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, Department for International Development, Department for Transport and HM Treasury; the English Regional Development Agencies and their successors the Local Enterprise Partnerships, the Greater London Assembly, Local Authorities including in particular Birmingham, Cambridge, Manchester and Newcastle; McKinsey and Co.

The Economic Geography cluster integrates spatial and urban economists with more institutionally-oriented economic geographers, focussing on economic geography, regional and urban economics.

Gabriel Ahlfeldt

Dr Gabriel Ahlfeldt
g.ahlfeldt@lse.ac.uk|

Associate Professor of Urban Economics & Land Development

Profile|

Andrea Ascani

Andrea Ascani
a.ascani@lse.ac.uk|

LSE Fellow in Economic Geography
.

Profile|

 
Paul Cheshire

Prof Paul Cheshire
p.cheshire@lse.ac.uk|

Emeritus Professor of Economic Geography
.

Profile|

Riccardo Crescenzi

Dr Riccardo Crescenzi
r.crescenzi@lse.ac.uk|

Associate Professor of Economic Geography
.

Profile|

 
Luisa Gagliardi

Dr Luisa Gagliardi
l.gagliardi@lse.ac.uk|

LSE Fellow in Local Economic Development
.

 Profile|

Steve Gibbons

Prof Steve Gibbons
s.gibbons@lse.ac.uk|

Professor of Economic Geography
.

Profile|

 
Ian Gordon

Prof Ian Gordon
i.r.gordon@lse.ac.uk|

Emeritus Professor of Human Geography
.

Profile|

Vernon Henderson

Prof Vernon Henderson
j.v.henderson@lse.ac.uk|

School Professor of Economic Geography
.

Profile|

 
Christian Hilber

Dr Christian Hilber
c.hilber@lse.ac.uk|

Associate Professor of Economic Geography (Reader)

Profile|

Simona Iammarino

Prof Simona Iammarino
Head of Department
s.iammarino@lse.ac.uk|

Professor of Economic Geography 

Profile|

 
Neil Lee

Dr Neil Lee
n.d.lee@lse.ac.uk|

Assistant Professor of Economic Geography 
.

Profile|

Henry Overman

Prof Henry Overman
h.g.overman@lse.ac.uk|

Professor of Economic Geography 
.

Profile|

 
Andrés Rodriguez-Pose

Prof Andres Rodriguez-Pose
a.rodriguez-pose@lse.ac.uk|
Professor of Economic Geography

Profile|

Olmo Silva

Dr Olmo Silva
o.silva@lse.ac.uk|
Associate Professor of Real Estate Economics & Finance
.

Profile|

 
Michael Storper

Prof Michael Storper
m.storper@lse.ac.uk|

Professor of Economic Geography 
.

Profile|

 

Current research projects in the cluster include:

Agglomeration

Agglomeration Economies| 

Staff involved: Henry Overman|

 
Changing Urban Form
 
Compass

Entrepreneurship| 

Staff involved: Olmo Silva|

 

 

Doctoral students in the Economic Geography cluster regularly go on to work in leading academic and public research institutions, as well as international organisations, the private/consultancy sector, and governmental institutions.

Current PhD students in the Economic Geography cluster are shown below. Specific research interests can be found on each student's profile page.

Andrea Ascani|

 

Andrea Ascani
a.ascani@lse.ac.uk|

Profile|

 

Ying Chen
y.chen77@lse.ac.uk|

 

 

Marco Di Cataldo
m.di-cataldo@lse.ac.uk|

 

Susanne Frick
s.a.frick@lse.ac.uk|

Profile|

 

 

Alex Jaax
a.jaax@lse.ac.uk|

Pascal Jaupart

 

Pascal Jaupart
p.jaupart1@lse.ac.uk|

Profile|

 
 

 

Hayoung Kim
h.kim20@lse.ac.uk|

Davide Luca|

 

Davide Luca
d.luca@lse.ac.uk|

Profile|

 
Paolo Lucchino|

 

Paolo Lucchino
p.lucchino@lse.ac.uk|
.

Profile|

Piero Montebruno|

 

Piero Montebruno
p.montebruno-bondi@lse.ac.uk|

Profile| 

 
David Nguyen|

 

David Nguyen
d.b.nguyen@lse.ac.uk|

Profile|

Nathalie Picarelli|

 

Nathalie Picarelli
n.picarelli@lse.ac.uk|

Profile|

 
Ted Pinchbeck

 

Ted Pinchbeck
e.w.pinchbeck@lse.ac.uk|

Profile| 

 

Paula Prenzel
p.v.prenzel@lse.ac.uk|

Profile|

 
Alessandra Scandura|

 

Alessandra Scandura
a.scandura@lse.ac.uk|

Profile|

Teresa Schlueter|

 

Teresa Schlueter
t.j.schlueter@lse.ac.uk|

Profile|

 
Alessandro Sforza|

 

Alessandro Sforza
a.sforza@lse.ac.uk|

Profile|

Cheng Keat Tang

 

Cheng Keat Tang
c.k.tang@lse.ac.uk|

Profile|

 

 

Tianye Wang
t.wang20@lse.ac.uk|

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|

Spatial Economics Research Centre|

What Works Centre for Local Economic Growth|

Seminars in Economic Geography|

SERC Urban and Regional Economics seminars|