Home > Department of Geography and Environment > Research > Research Clusters > Environmental Economics and Policy
How to contact us
Connect with LSE Geography & Environment: Twitter Facebook LinkedIn

 

Department of

Geography & Environment

London School of Economics & Political Science

Houghton Street

London WC2A 2AE

 

Department Manager

Elaine Gascoyne

e.gascoyne@lse.ac.uk

 

PhD enquiries

Sam Colegate
s.colegate@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 6089

 

Environmental Economics & Policy Cluster

Human-induced environmental change and scarcity is presenting decision-makers with a growing number of critical policy choices. An indispensable element in making these choices is evolving research from a range of social science disciplines. The central aim of the Environmental Economics & Policy Cluster is to contribute to this process by advancing empirical understanding, that is in its turn informed by theory, of environmental performance, behaviour and governance. Our research agenda covers state, market, and civil society actors and explores the interrelationships with other policy spheres and regulation (social, economic, and political) across a range of geographic scales, from the local to the global, both in the developed and developing worlds. This includes diverse studies of the social costs of climate change, renewable energy in the Middle East, water resource management in Spain and the impacts of major events such as the Olympic Games. Recent appointments in the cluster have also strengthened our research expertise on environment and development and includes research on farming and biodiversity in Ethiopia as well as community forest management in Namibia and Malaysia.

The cluster's research draws on a focused array of expertise in geography, political science and economics. For example, the cluster has what is the largest group of full-time academic environmental economists in UK universities (and probably one of the largest elsewhere). All members have strong expertise in environmental economics and policy and are regularly involved in high profile policy work. Staff have acted as advisors and consultants for the United Nations, the World Bank, the OECD and other international organisations, as well as UK government departments (such as Defra) and the private sector. The cluster has also attracted substantial grants from the European Commission, British Government and the Alcoa Foundation. However, the biggest achievement in terms of grant application has been the successful bids for an ESRC Centre for Climate Change Economics and Policy| (CCCEP) and the Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment. As a result, the cluster enjoys close links with the Grantham Research Institute, chaired by Lord Stern of Brentford, as well as the research programmes of CCCEP. With these awards, the LSE has emerged as one of the leading places in the world to research and study the environment and climate change. In addition, the Environmental Economics & Policy group and Grantham Research Institute run the MSc in Environmental Economics and Climate Change.

 

The Environmental Economics & Policy cluster brings together experts in environmental change, political science and economics with an interest in advancing empirical understanding and theory of environmental performance, behaviour and governance. 

Giles Atkinson

Prof Giles Atkinson
g.atkinson@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Policy
.

Profile

Jennifer Baka

Dr Jennifer Baka
j.baka@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Environment
.

 Profile

 
Emanuele Campiglio

Dr Emanuele Campiglio
e.campiglio@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Environment & Development Economics

Profile

Simon Dietz

Dr Simon Dietz
s.dietz@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Environmental Policy
.

Profile

 
Ben Groom

Dr Ben Groom
b.groom@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Environment & Development Economics

Profile

Nancy Holman

Dr Nancy Holman
n.e.holman@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Urban Planning 
.

Profile

 
David Jones

Prof David Jones
d.k.jones@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor of Geography & Environment

Profile 

Carmen Marchiori

Dr Carmen Marchiori
c.marchiori@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Environmental Policy and Economics (Post MR).

Profile

 
Michael Mason

Dr Michael Mason
m.mason@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Environmental Geography .

Profile

Susana Mourato

Prof Susana Mourato
s.mourato@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Economics

Profile

 
Eric Neumayer

Prof Eric Neumayer
e.neumayer@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environment & Development

Profile

Charles Palmer

Dr Charles Palmer
c.palmer1@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Environment & Development 

Profile

 
Richard Perkins   

Dr Richard Perkins
r.m.perkins@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Environmental Geography 

Profile

             
 

 

 

Matthew Agarwala

 

Matthew Agarwala
m.agarwala@lse.ac.uk

Profile

Julius Andersson

 

Julius Andersson
j.j.andersson@lse.ac.uk

Profile

 

 

Maria Apergi
m.e.apergi@lse.ac.uk

 

Joel Atherton
j.p.atherton@lse.ac.uk

Profile

 
Maria Carvalho

 

Maria Carvalho
m.d.carvalho@lse.ac.uk

Profile

Jonathan Colmer

 

Jonathan Colmer
j.m.colmer@lse.ac.uk

Profile

 
Davide Contu

 

Davide Contu
d.contu@lse.ac.uk

Profile

 

Maria Coruche
m.p.coruche@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Mona Dajani
m.d.dajani@lse.ac.uk

 

Ashley Gorst
a.gorst@lse.ac.uk

 
Greer Gosnell

 

Greer Gosnell
g.gosnell@lse.ac.uk

Profile

 

 

Martin Heger
m.heger@lse.ac.uk

 
Jennifer Helgeson

 

Jennifer Helgeson
j.helgeson@lse.ac.uk

Profile

Ara Jo

 

Ara Jo
a.jo@lse.ac.uk

Profile

 
Louise Kessler

 

Louise Kessler
l.kessler@lse.ac.uk

Profile

Katerina Kimmorley

 

Katherine Kimmorley
k.a.kimmorley@lse.ac.uk

Profile

 
Tobias Kruse

 

Tobias Kruse
t.j.kruse@lse.ac.uk

Profile

 

 

Marcelo Lima
m.lima2@lse.ac.uk

 
Michal Nachmany

 

Michal Nachmany
m.nachmany@lse.ac.uk

Profile

Thomas Bligaard Nielsen

 

Thomas Bligaard Nielsen
t.b.nielsen@lse.ac.uk

Profile

 
Francisco Pereira-Fontes

 

Francisco Pereira-Fontes
f.pereira-fontes@lse.ac.uk

Profile

Monir Shaikh

 

Monir Shaikh
s.moniruzzaman@lse.ac.uk

Profile

 
 

 

Sindra Sharma
s.d.sharma@lse.ac.uk

Amelia Sharman

 

Amelia Sharman
a.g.sharman@lse.ac.uk

Profile

 
Ganga Shreedhar

 

Ganga Shreedhar
g.s.shreedhar@lse.ac.uk
.

Profile

 

 

Xavier Vollenweider
x.y.vollenweider@lse.ac.uk

 
Lin Yang

 

Lin Yang
l.yang10@lse.ac.uk

Profile

 
 

 

 

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|

Centre for Climate Change Economics and Policy

Grantham Research Institute
Climate Change and the Environment Research Seminar Series