European Institute Staff

The European Institute is internationally renowned for its multidisciplinary study of the politics, economics and societies of Europe. It has academic staff drawn from the fields of politics, law, economics, international relations, anthropology, geography, history, philosophy, and social policy.

Academic Staff

Exceptionally, the European Institute comprises four externally-endowed chairs – the Eleftherios Venizelos Chair in Contemporary Greek Studies (Featherstone); the John Paulson Chair in European Political Economy (De Grauwe); the Sutherland Chair in European Institutions (Hobolt); and the Chair in Contemporary Turkish Studies (Özyürek).

The Institute currently has an Academician of the Learned Society for Social Sciences (Featherstone) and an Associate Fellow of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Fraser). Featherstone was bestowed Commander, Order of the Phoenix of the Hellenic Republic, for his contribution to improving the understanding of Greece abroad. Fraser was made Chevalier de la Légion d' honneur for services to intellectual and academic ties between Britain and France.

Visiting Staff

The Institute also welcomes distinguished visitors from around the world. In recent years it has had visiting professors or fellows from Arena, Harvard, Potsdam, Oxford and Hertie as well as the European Parliament, the BBC and distinguished think-tanks such as the Centre for European Policy Studies, Policy Network, the Centre for European Reform and Breughel.

The LSE appoints outstanding internationally recognised academics as ‘Centennial Professors’, normally on a part-time basis. We are proud to have hosted professors David Soskice and Dame Helen Wallace and to welcome Tito Boeri (Bocconi), Peter Hall (Harvard) and Dani Rodrik (Princeton).

Professional Services Staff