Home > European Institute > Research and Impact > Hellenic Observatory > Introduction > Structure of the Hellenic Observatory
How to contact us

The Hellenic Observatory
European Institute
London School of Economics
Houghton Street
London WC2A 2AE


Senior Manager
+44 (0)20 7955 6066

Events (UK) & Communications
+44 (0)20 7107 5326

Administrator (General Enquiries)
+44 (0)20 7107 5096





Connect with us:

Facebook  Twitter  Flickr logo LInkedin


Read our blog


Join our mailing list

Structure of the Hellenic Observatory

Members of staff

The Hellenic Observatory comprises of a small research team built around the Eleftherios Venizelos Chair, which includes permanent and temporary academic staff, visiting and research fellows, part-time and occasional research assistants, and some long-term associates.

The core team of the Hellenic Observatory includes:

  • Professor Kevin Featherstone
    Eleftherios Venizelos Professor of Contemporary Greek Studies and Professor of European Politics 
    Head of the European Institute
  • Dr Spyros Economides
    Associate Professor in International Relations and European Politics
    Director of the Hellenic Observatory
  • Dr Vassilis Monastiriotis
    Associate Professor in the Political Economy of South Eastern Europe

    Click here for full details on the HO members of staff.

Advisory Board

The Hellenic Observatory is governed by School policies and regulations and as a departmental research unit is part of the European Institute. It also benefits from the advice and support of its Advisory Board.

This comprises both academic and public figures, as well as representatives of the original donors. Its members are:

  • Prof Yannis Stournaras, Governor, Bank of Greece (Chairman)
  • Professor Kevin Featherstone, Head of the European Institute, LSE
  • Dr Spyros Economides, Director, Hellenic Observatory, LSE
  • Dr Vassilios G. Apostolopoulos , CEO, Athens Medical Centre
  • Mr Spyros N. Filaretos , Executive General Manager - COO Alpha Bank
  • Mr Athanasios C Laskaridis, President & CEO, Laskaridis Shipping Company
  • Dr Spiro J Latsis, Member, LSE Board of Governors
  • Professor Achilleas Mitsos, Professor of International Economic Relations, University of the Aegean, Greece
  • Professor Elias Mossialos, Director, LSE Health
  • Mr Evangelos G Mytilineos, Chairman, Mytilineos Holdings S.A.
  • Professor Lucas Papademos, Former Prime Minister of Greece; Former Vice President - European Central Bank
  • Professor Sir Christopher Pissarides, Regius Professor of Economics, LSE
  • Mr Nikos Sofianos, President of the Hellenic Alumni Association of the London School of Economics and Political Science
  • Mr Panayiotis A. Thomopoulos, Chairman, National Bank of Greece  
  • Professor Dimitri Vayanos, Professor of Finance, Department of Finance, LSE