How to contact us

Cañada Blanch Centre for Contemporary Spanish Studies
London School of Economics and Political Science
Clement's Inn, Tower 2, room 5.02
London WC2A 2AE

Tel.: +44 (0)20 7955 6119/6058


Who's who

Management Council

Honorary President
• The Ambassador of Spain (ex-officio)

Executive Chairman
• David Brighty CMG, CVO

Members of the Council
• Rt. Hon. Michael Portillo
• Dame Denise Holt
• Miguel Dols
• Juan López Trigo
• Carlos Pascual de Miguel
• Jimmy Burns-Marañón
• Balasi Abando
• Nicolás Belmonte
• Prof. Helen Graham
• Prof. Montserrat Guibernau
• Prof. Paul Preston CBE, FBA
• Ana de Miguel (Secretary)

Meeting of the CBC Management Council, 27 June 2013. From left to right: 
Jimmy Burns-Marañón, Miguel Dols, David Brighty, Ana de Miguel,
Helen Graham, Paul Preston and Michael Portillo.


David Brighty, CMG, CVO - Executive Chairman of the Management Committee
of the Centre.

Paul Preston, CBE, FBA - Director of the Centre; Príncipe de Asturias Professor
of Contemporary Spanish Studies, London School of Economics. LSE Experts profile, LSE International History profile.

Sebastian Balfour - Emeritus Professor of Contemporary Spanish Studies, Department of Government, European Institute, London School of Economics. LSE Experts profile.  

Susana Grau - Manager.

Ana de Miguel - External Advisor on Regional Projects and Secretary of the Management Council.

Senior Fellows

Julián Casanova - Professor of Contemporary History at the University of Zaragoza, Spain.

Helen Graham - Professor of Modern European History at the University of London (Royal Holloway).

Enrique Moradiellos Professor of Modern International and Spanish History at the University of Extremadura, Spain.

Andrés Rodríguez-Pose - Professor of Economic Geography, Department of Geography and Environment, London School of Economics. LSE Experts profile.

Ismael Saz - Professor of Contemporary History at the University of Valencia, Spain.

Ángel Viñas - Professor in the Department of Contemporary History at the Complutense University of Madrid, Spain.

Mary Vincent - Professor of Modern European History at the University of Sheffield.

Manuel Cienfuegos - Professor of International and European Law at Pompeu Fabra University, Spain.

Joan-Pau Rubiés - Research Professor of Humanities, ICREA, Pompeu Fabra University, Spain. 

María Jesús González
 - Professor of Contemporary History at the University of Cantabria, Spain.

Michael Richards - Associate Professor of Contemporary European History,
University of the West of England.

Chris Ealham - Professor of History, Saint Louis University, Madrid, Spain.


Francisco J. Romero - Senior Lecturer in the Department of Spanish, Portuguese
and Latin American Studies at the University of Bristol.

Sandra Isabel Souto - Senior Research Fellow, Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (CSIC, Madrid), Spain.

José Manuel Mata - Reader in Political Science, University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU), Spain.

Gijs van Hensbergen - Historian of Spanish Art and Architecture, Oxford.

Giles Tremlett - Biographer, writer and political commentator, Madrid.

Maria Thomas - Lecturer in Hispanic Studies, University of Exeter.

Boris Volodarsky - Postdoctoral Research Fellow; Independent Intelligence Analysis, London.

Richard Baxell - Historian of Britain, Spain and the International Brigades, London.

Rúben Serem - Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia, Lisbon.

Nick Rider - Postdoctoral Research Fellow, London.