Home > European Institute > Research and Impact > Cañada Blanch Centre for Contemporary Spanish Studies > Catalan Observatory > events > Debate 'The Catalan Elections: Consequences for Spain and Catalonia'
How to contact us


Catalan Observatory
London School of Economics and Political Science
Clement's Inn, Tower 2, room 5.02
London WC2A 2AE


Tel.: +44 (0)207 955 6119/6058


E-mail: catalan.observatory@lse.ac.uk


Debate 'The Catalan Elections: Consequences for Spain and Catalonia'

Thursday 29 November 2012
The Catalan Elections: Consequences for Spain and Catalonia
Open debate session with:
Montserrat Guibernau (Queen Mary University of London)
Walter Oppenheimer (El País Correspondent)
Anna Bosch (Televisión Española correspondent)
Elena Moya (Journalist)
Dídac Gutiérrez-Peris (Catalan Observatory - LSE)
Chair: Prof. Paul Preston
Time: 18 h.
Place: LSE, Portugal Street, Cowdray House, 1st floor, Seminar Room 1.11

The forthcoming 25th of November Catalonia will hold elections with potential historical implications. The relation with Spain has been a key element of the current political debate, after the unprecedented demonstration that took place in Barcelona the last 11th of September, and after the Catalan Parliament agreed on a proposal to hold a referendum of self-determination during the next administration.

Montserrat Guibernau, Elena Moya, Walter Oppenheimer, Anna Bosch and Dídac Gutiérrez-Peris assess the campaign, offer an analysis of the new political scenario, consider the international challenges that lay ahead, and examine the main economic topics that are stirring the discussion.

The event attracted a large audience.

Walter Oppenheimer during the open debate with the public

Prof. Montserrat Guibernau, from Queen Mary University - University of London

Prof. Paul Preston, chairmain of the Catalan Observatory, chaired the open-debate

The writer and journalist Elena Moya, here with Josep Suàrez (right), Head of the Catalan Delegation of the Government to the United Kingdom.

From left to right: Dídac Gutiérrez-Peris, Elena Moya, Paul Preston, Montserrat Guibernau, Walter Oppenheimer and Josep Suàrez.