How to contact us


ECPR Standing Group
on South East Europe


Group Administrator:|


Click the icon below to complete
our Membership Form



ECPR Standing Group on SEE

The Standing Group on South East Europe (SEE) was established in 2010. It aims to promote research and strengthen relations between scholars working on SEE politics. The geographical focus of the group covers the following countries:

  • Albania
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Greece
  • Kosovo
  • Macedonia
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • Romania
  • Serbia
  • Slovenia
  • Turkey

We acknowledge that both the geographical coverage and the 'properties' attached to South East Europe are the subject of considerable contestation. We have opted for a rather 'maximalist' coverage of countries, including both existing and aspiring EU members as well as countries that share common historical links (i.e. Greece, Moldova, Slovenia and Turkey) with the 'core' members of the group. Despite their apparent diversity, these countries share a wide range of historical, cultural, political and socio-economic features to merit focused and comparative scholarly attention.

We believe that a more co-ordinated approach to the study of South East Europe, in the form of a separate ECPR Standing Group, will enable more nuanced research and bring together scholars working on the region in the context of specific workshops and activities. The new group will seek to combine and streamline different research agendas, which point both to the distinct character of the region and its comparatibility with other parts of Europe. We intend to promote the study of South East Europe through the lenses of mainstream political science, comparative politics and international relations. The operation of the group is based on inclusiveness and the active encouragement of diversity in terms of interdisciplinary research and methodology.


ECPR Standing Group on SEE

Croatia - Photo Credit Fred Jala