





CALL FOR PAPERS

1st LSE Workshop on *Political Economy of Turkey*

12 March 2019, London School of Economics - Submission deadline: 18 January 2019

The European Institute, the Contemporary Turkish Studies and the Systemic Risk Centre at the London School of Economics and Political Science will jointly organize a workshop on *Political Economy of Turkey*. The workshop will take place at the London School of Economics campus in central London on 12 March 2019. The workshop will provide a platform for researchers and policy makers to discuss new research and to identify areas where further academic and policy-oriented work is needed. Both theoretical and empirical contributions are welcome.

There will be a dedicated discussant for each paper, as well as open floor discussion. Papers are invited on the following (non-exhaustive) list of topics:

- Capital markets governance, bank credit, systemic risks and debt management
- Trade and firm performance
- · Political crises, democracy and nationalism
- · Economics of immigration
- Educational reforms, family and health policies, and topics in public economics

The workshop features a policy panel with participation of **Sergei Guriev** (Chief Economist of EBRD) and **Selin Sayek Böke** (Member of Turkish Parliament).

There is no registration fee. An invitation-only conference dinner will be hosted on 12 March 2019. The organisers are not able to cover travel and accommodation costs of participation to the workshop. To submit a paper (full papers accepted only – preliminary versions also welcome), please send an email to Orkun Saka at o.saka@lse.ac.uk. In the subject header please add "Submission: Workshop on Political Economy of Turkey". In the case of multiple-authored papers, indicate who will present and whether or not the presenter would also be willing to act as a discussant. The authors will be notified about the acceptance of papers by 25 January 2019.

ORGANISING COMMITTEE: Orkun Saka (LSE & SRC), Cevat Giray Aksoy (EBRD, LSE & IZA) and Davide Luca (GSSI & LSE)

PROGRAM COMMITTEE:

Cevat Giray Aksoy (EBRD, London School of Economics & IZA) Sina Ates (Federal Reserve Board)

Cagatay Bircan (EBRD) Melani Cammett (Harvard University)

Paul De Grauwe (London School of Economics & CEPR) Selim Gulesci (Bocconi University & CEPR)

Şebnem Kalemli-Özcan (University of Maryland, NBER & CEPR) Davide Luca (GSSI & London School of Economics)

Berkay Ozcan (London School of Economics)

Orkun Saka (London School of Economics & SRC)

Erdal Tekin (American University, IZA & NBER) Waltraud Schelkle (London School of Economics)