Home > Department of Economics > People > Visiting Professors and Academics

Visiting Professors and Academics

This is a list of Visiting Professors and Centennial Professors and of Visiting and Emeritus Academics of the Economics Department.

Visiting Professors and Centennial Professors

photograph of Tony Atkinson

Professor Sir Tony ATKINSON (1944-2017)

Centennial Professor

Associate at STICERD - Public Economics Programme

Contributor to LSE Growth Commission


Email: a.b.atkinson@lse.ac.uk


photograph of Oliver Hart

Professor Oliver HART

Visiting Centennial Professor

photograph of Per Krusell

Professor Per KRUSELL

Centennial Professor


Email: p.krusell@lse.ac.uk

Room number: 32L.1.19 (Michaelmas Term 2015)


Courses taught:

EC442 Macroeconomics for MRes Students

photograph of Torsten Persson

 Professor Torsten PERSSON

Centennial Professor


Email: t.persson@lse.ac.uk

Room number: 32L.3.14 (Michaelmas Term 2015)


Courses taught:

EC540 Political Economy

photograph of Eran Yashiv

Professor Eran YASHIV

Visiting Professor of Economics


Email: e.yashiv@lse.ac.uk

Room number: 32L.4.26


Courses taught:

EC315: International Economics




Visiting Senior Fellows

photograph of Masato Nishiwaki


Visiting Senior Fellow


Email: m.nishiwaki@lse.ac.uk

Room number: 32L.4.16

photograph of Yukitoshi Matsushita


Visiting Senior Fellow


Email: y.matsushita1@lse.ac.uk

Room number: 32L.4.26



Emeritus Academics 

photograph of Meghnad Desai

Professor the Lord Meghnad DESAI

Emeritus Professor of Economics

photograph of Lucien Foldes

Professor Lucien P FOLDES

Emeritus Professor of Economics



photograph of Richard Jackman

Professor Richard JACKMAN

Emeritus Professor of Economics

ICEF Project Director


Email: r.jackman@lse.ac.uk        

Room number: 32L.1.27        

Telephone: +44 (0)20 7955 7499                    

photograph of Richard Layard

Professor Lord Richard LAYARD

Emeritus Professor of Economics

Wellbeing Programme Director at CEP


Email: r.layard@lse.ac.uk

Room number: 32L.2.13

Telephone: +44 (0)20 7955 7048 

photograph of Alan Marin


Emeritus Academic


Email: a.marin@lse.ac.uk

photograph of Jim Thomas


Emeritus Reader in Economics

Research Associate at STICERD


Email: j.thomas@lse.ac.uk

photograph of Christine Whitehead

Professor Christine WHITEHEAD

Emeritus Professor of Housing Economics

Associate at Spatial Economics Research Centre (SERC)


Email: c.m.e.whitehead@lse.ac.uk

Room number: STC.514

Telephone: +44 (0)20 7955 7527