Home > Department of Economics > People > Visiting Professors and Academics

Visiting Professors and Academics

This is a list of Visiting Professors and Centennial Professors and of Visiting and Emeritus Academics of the Economics Department.

Visiting Professors and Centennial Professors

Philippe Aghion

Professor Philippe AGHION

Centennial Professor


Email: p.aghion@lse.ac.uk 

Room number: 32L.2.02


Courses taught:

EC476 Contracts and Organisations

EC539 Macroeconomics for Research Students



Visiting Associate Professor of Economics


Email: n.ashraf1@lse.ac.uk

Room number: 32L.3.18

photograph of Tony Atkinson

Professor Sir Tony ATKINSON

Centennial Professor

Associate at STICERD - Public Economics Programme

Contributor to LSE Growth Commission


Email: a.b.atkinson@lse.ac.uk

Room number: 32L.3.34


Professor Oliver HART

Visiting Centennial Professor

photograph of John Kay

Professor John KAY

Visiting Professor of Economics


Email: j.a.kay@lse.ac.uk

Room number: c/o 32L.1.28


Professor Nobu KIYOTAKI

Visiting Professor of Economics


Email: n.kiyotaki@lse.ac.uk

Room number: 32L.1.10

photograph of Per Krusell

Professor Per KRUSELL

Centennial Professor


Email: p.krusell@lse.ac.uk

Room number: 32L.1.19 (Michaelmas Term 2015)


Courses taught:

EC442 Macroeconomics for MRes Students

photograph of Torsten Persson

 Professor Torsten PERSSON

Centennial Professor


Email: t.persson@lse.ac.uk

Room number: 32L.3.14 (Michaelmas Term 2015)


Courses taught:

EC540 Political Economy

photograph of Dani Rodrik

Professor Dani RODRIK

Centennial Professor


Email: d.rodrik@lse.ac.uk

Room number: 32L.3.13



Visiting Fellows



Visiting Fellow


Email: k.jochmans@lse.ac.uk

Room number: 32L.4.15

Office hours: Wednesday 10:00-11:00


Courses taught:

EC485 Further Topics in Econometrics
EC518 Topics in Advanced Econometrics for Research Students



Emeritus Academics 

photograph of Meghnad Desai

Professor the Lord Meghnad DESAI

Emeritus Professor of Economics

photograph of Lucien Foldes

Professor Lucien P FOLDES

Emeritus Professor of Economics



photograph of Richard Layard

Professor Lord Richard LAYARD

Emeritus Professor of Economics

Wellbeing Programme Director at CEP


Email: r.layard@lse.ac.uk

Room number: 32L.2.13

Telephone: +44 (0)20 7955 7048 

photograph of Alan Marin


Emeritus Academic


Email: a.marin@lse.ac.uk

photograph of Christine Whitehead

Professor Christine WHITEHEAD

Emeritus Professor of Housing Economics

Associate at Spatial Economics Research Centre (SERC)


Email: c.m.e.whitehead@lse.ac.uk

Room number: STC.514

Telephone: +44 (0)20 7955 7527



Visiting Academics

photograph of Donald Verry

Dr Donald VERRY

University of London International Programmes Academic Coordinator (Economics)


Email: d.w.verry@lse.ac.uk

Room number: 32L.1.22

Telephone:+44 (0)20 7955 7502