Awards and Appointments


Professor Oriana BandieraElected Fellow of the Econometric Society

Professor Robin Burgess
Elected Fellow of the British Academy

Dr Camille Landais
Philip Leverhulme Prize

Professor Lord Nicholas Stern
Appointed Chair of National Review of University Research
Elected President of the Royal Economic Society 2018-2019


Professor Philippe Aghion
Elected Fellow of the British Academy

Professor Sir Tony Atkinson
Received the 2015 European Investment Bank Institute Outstanding Contribution Award

Professor Oriana Bandiera
Elected Fellow of the British Academy

Professor Sir Charlie Bean
Appointed Chairman of the CEPR Board of Trustees

Professor Tim Besley
Elected Second Vice President of the Econometric Society
Appointed as a Commissioner on the National Infrastructure Commission

Professor Francesco Caselli
Director, CEPR Macroeconomics and Growth Programme

Dr Camille Landais
Received the Kiel Institute 2015 Excellence Award in Global Economic Affairs

Professor Martin Pesendorfer
Elected Fellow of the Econometric Society

Professor Sir Christopher Pissarides
Awarded the Kiel Institute Global Economy Prize 2015

Dr Johannes Spinnewijn
Awarded they Willey Prize in Economics by the British Academy

Professor Lord Nicholas Stern
Received the Schumpeter Award 2015 for Innovative Achievements
Elected Member of the American Philosophical Society



Professor Sir Charles Bean
Knighted for his services to monetary policy and central banking

Professor Tim Besley
Elected President of the International Economic Association

Professor Henrik Kleven
Director, CEPR Public Economics Programme

Professor Danny Quah
Appointed Director Designate of Southeast Asia Centre at LSE

Professor Lord Nicholas Stern
Elected Fellow of the Royal Society
Awarded the BIEE 10 Year Prize for Outstanding Contribution to British Energy Economic

Professor Silvana Tenreyro
Appointed Director of the Review of Economic Studies

Professor John Van Reenen
Joint Award of the European Investment Bank Institute Prize for Excellence in Economic and Social Research



Dr Jonathan Leape
Appointed Executive Director of the International Growth Centre

Professor Padró i Miquel
Awarded the XII Fundación Banco Herrero Prize

Professor Sir Christopher Pissarides
Regius Professor of Economics at LSE 
Knighted for his services to economics
IAS Helmut and Anna Sohmen Professor-at-Large at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Jockey Club Institute for Advanced Study

Dr Johannes Spinnewijn
Austin Robinson Prize of the Royal Economic Society

Professor Lord Nicholas Stern
President of the British Academy
Stephen H. Schneider Award for Outstanding Climate Science Communication 

Professor Silvana Tenreyro
Excellence in Refereeing Award, American Economic Review 

Professor John Van Reenen
Fellow of the Econometric Society