Network members

(representing 5 disciplines, 10 countries and 27 universities) 

Name

Specialises in

Professor Shigeru Akita
Osaka University
shigeruakita@aol.com|

Comparative imperialism and Asian trade in the 20th century

Professor Bob Allen|
Nuffield College, Oxford
bob.allen@nuffield.oxford.ac.uk|

European and Asian economic history

Dr. Gareth Austin
London School of Economics
g.m.Austin@lse.ac.uk|

African economic history

Professor Maxine Berg|
University of Warwick
Maxine.Berg@btopenworld.com|

Trade and technologies in manufactured consumer goods between Asia and Europe in the 17th and 18th Centuries

Professor Roy Bin Wong|
Asia Institute, 
University of California, LA
rbwong@international.ucla.edu|

The Political economy of China since 1500 and comparative economic history of Europe and East Asia

Professor William Gervase Clarence Smith
School of Oriental and African Studies
wgclarencesmith@yahoo.co.uk|

The economic histories of commodity trades, slavery and connexions between religions and economic behaviour

Professor H. Floris Cohen|
University of Twente
H.F.Cohen@utwente.nl|

The comparative history of science

Professor Nick Crafts|
London School of Economics
N.Crafts@lse.ac.uk|

European and Asian industrialisation and the development of the international economy since 1873

Dr. John Darwin|
Nuffield College, Oxford
John.Darwin@nuffield.oxford.ac.uk|

British and comparative imperial histories

Professor Karel Davids|
Free University, Amsterdam
ca.davids@let.vu.nl|

Comparative history of European and Asian sciences and technologies, 1500-1800

Dr. Kent Deng|
London School of Economics
k.g.deng@lse.ac.uk|

Chinese, maritime and agrarian history and the political economy of Ming-Qing China

Professor Larry Epstein|
London School of Economics
s.r.epstein@lse.ac.uk|

Early modern European economics, states and the formation of markets, skill formation

Dr. Bouda Etemad
University of Geneva
Bouda.etemad@histec.unige.ch|

Long-run trade between north and south and colonialism

Dr. Sakis Gekas
London School of Economics
a.gekas@lse.ac.uk|

Research Officer for the GEHN project - Comparative advantages and labour productivity in a global industry: the manufacture and export of cotton textiles in Eurasia, 1498-1914

Professor Barry Gills
University of Newcastle
b.k.gills@ncl.ac.uk|

Comparative political economy and the history of world systems 

Professor Jack Goldstone|
George Mason University
jgoldsto@gmu.edu|

The political economy of early modern Europe, China and the Ottoman Empire

Dr. Regina Grafe
Nuffield College, Oxford
Regina.Grafe@nuffield.oxford.ac.uk|

The formation and integration of markets in early modern Europe

Professor Knick Harley
St Antony's College, Oxford
knick.harley@economics.ox.ac.uk
|

The growth and integration of the world economy

Emeritus Professor Geoffrey Hosking
|School of East European and Slavonic Studies
G.Hosking@ssees.ac.uk|

The economic aspects of Russia's imperial and national identity and "trust" in European and world history

Professor Janet Hunter|
London School of Economics
j.e.hunter@lse.ac.uk|

Gender, work and industrialisation

Professor Ian Inkster|
Nottingham Trent University
ian@inkster.org.uk|

The comparative histories of European and Asian technologies

Professor Paul Johnson
London School of Economics

The histories of social risk in Europe, India and China

Ms Tracy Keefe
London School of Economics
gehn@lse.ac.uk|

GEHN Administrator

Professor Beverly Lemire|
University of Alberta
lemire@ualberta.ca|  

Textiles and clothing in early-modern Britain; second-hand cultures; gender and credit

Dr. Colin Lewis|
London School of Economics
c.m.lewis@lse.ac.uk|  

The political economy of Latin America


London School of Economics d.ma1@lse.ac.uk|

Long-term economic growth in East Asia

Professor Alan Macfarlane|
King's College, Cambridge
am12@cus.cam.ac.uk|

The cultural, social and economic histories of England, Nepal and Japan

Professor Paolo Malanima|
University of Pisa
p.malanima@stm.unipi.it|

Comparative energy systems

Professor Patrick Manning
World History Centre, Boston
planeterra@comcast.net|

African and global economic and demographic history

Dr. Matthias Middell
Leipzig University
middell@uni-leipzig.de|

 Historiography of world history and European cultural history

Professor Patrick O'Brien
|London School of Economics
GEHN Convenor
p.o'brien@lse.ac.uk|

Comparative Economic Histories of European and Asian Science and Technologies

Professor Kevin O'Rourke|
Trinity College, Dublin
kevin.orourke@tcd.ie|

The political economy of globalisation 1873-2001

Professor Jurgen Osterhammel
University of Konstanz
juergen.osterhammel@uni-konstanz.de|

The history of colonisation and cultural interactions between Europe and China since the 17th century

Professor Sevket Pamuk|
Bogazici University
pamuk@boun.edu.tr
|

The economic history of the Ottoman Empire

Professor Prasannan Parthasarathi
Boston College
parthasa@bc.edu|

Comparative standards of living and the history of the world textile industry

Professor Ken Pomeranz|
University of California, Irvine
klpomera@uci.edu|

 Comparative economic histories of China and Europe; environmental and Imperial history

Professor Maarten Prak|
University of Utrecht
maarten.prak@let.uu.nl|

The rise of capitalism in early modern Europe in comparative perspective

Professor Om Prakash
University of Delhi
prakash@econdse.org|

Early modern Indian economic history and the history of trade in the Indian Ocean

Professor John F. Richards|
Duke University
richards@duke.edu|

 Environmental and Indian History

Giorgio Riello
London School of Economics

Research Officer for the GEHN project  - Comparative advantages and labour productivity in a global industry: the manufacture and export of cotton textiles in Eurasia, 1498-1914

Professor Tirthankar Roy 
Gokhale Institute of Politics and Economics,now Reader in Economic History, LSE
t.roy@lse.ac.uk|

 

 

The industrialisation of colonial and post colonial India

Professor Osamu Saito
Hitotsubashi University
o.saito@srv.cc.hit-u.ac.jp|

Comparative historical demography

Dr. Max Schulze
|London School of Economics
m.s.schulze@lse.ac.uk|

The economic history of the Habsburg Empire and problems of quantification in comparative economic history

Professor Kaoru Sugihara|
Osaka University
sugihara@econ.osaka-u.ac.jp|

 Asian and Global Trade

Professor Tom Tomlinson|
School of Oriental and African Studies
tt2@soas.ac.uk|

The economic history of South Asia and modern globalisation

Professor Steve Topik
University of California, Irvine
stopik@benfranklin.hnet.uci.edu|

The Economic History of South America and commodities in world trade

Professor Jan Luiten Van Zanden
Utrecht University
janluiten.vanzanden@let.uu.nl| and
International Institute of Social History,Amsterdam
jvz@iisg.nl|

The comparative economic history of early modern Europe and Dutch colonies overseas

Professor Peer Vries
Leiden University
p.h.h.vries@let.leidenuniv.nl|

Comparative history of early modern Europe and Asia (especially China and Japan)

Dr. David Washbrook|
St Antony's College, Oxford

The political economy and social history of colonial India

Professor Harriet Zurndorfer
Sinological Institute 
Leiden University
h.zurndorfer@wolmail.nl|

The economic history of women with reference to China

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|