Home > Asia Research Centre > Fellowships > Sir Ratan Tata Post-doctoral Fellowship

Sir Ratan Tata Post-doctoral Fellowship

This Fellowship is now closed for applications. Details of the 2016-17 Fellowship will appear on this page around March 2016.

The Sir Ratan Tata Foundation and the London School of Economics & Political Science (LSE) invites applications for the Sir Ratan Tata Post-doctoral Fellowship, now in its nineteenth year. Applicants should be early career researchers working on social science research focusing on South Asia.

Applicants should have completed a PhD - the fellowship is not intended for students registered for a degree or diploma, nor is it intended for senior academics.

About the Fellowship

The Sir Ratan Tata Post-doctoral Fellowship will be for a period of eight months during the 2015-16 academic year and will be based at the LSE Asia Research Centre (ARC).

The Fellow will receive a monthly subsistence allowance of up to £1,500 a month, and will also be provided with shared office space and access to research facilities at the School.

The Fellow will be expected to engage in social science research broadly on the themes of Economy and Society in South Asia with a particular focus on the following themes:

  • Growth and inclusion
  • Climate change and environmental sustainability
  • Social and human security
  • Population and development
  • Governance and democracy

The Fellow will be expected to finish a piece of research of publishable quality during their stay and make a presentation at a seminar or lecture arranged by the Asia Research Centre.

The Fellowship is open to candidates from South Asia, that is, the SAARC region which includes Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. The Fellowship is supported by the Sir Ratan Tata Trust.

Application Details

This Fellowship is now closed for applications.

Applications should be addressed to The Fellowships Selection Committee, Asia Research Centre, London School of Economics & Political Science, Houghton Street, London WC2A 2AE, UK, and may be submitted by post or emailed to arc@lse.ac.uk.

Applications should include:

  • a cover letter of no more than one page
  • a curriculum vitae of no more than three pages
  • an outline of proposed research of no more than three pages
  • names and addresses of two referees, familiar with their work, to be contacted by the Committee

Please use A4-sized plain paper only. Please do not staple your application.

This Fellowship is now closed for applications.

Sir Ratan Tata Fellows


Dr Saswata Ghosh, Institute of Development Studies Kolkata


Dr Uzma Hanif, Forman Christian College, Lahore


Dr Satyapriya Rout, University of Hyderabad


Dr Manju Singh, Symbiosis International University


Dr Deepita Chakravarty, Centre for Economic and Social Studies, Hyderabad


Dr Sanjay Kumar Bhardwaj, Jawaharlal Nehru University


Dr Sumita Sarkar, YMT College of Management


Dr Seetha Kakkoth, Kannur University


Dr Samapti Guha, Institute for Rural Management Anand


Dr Praveena Kodoth, Centre for Development Studies, Thiruvananthapuram


Dr Sushil Aaron


Dr Minakshi Das


Dr Santanu Gupta


Dr Haripriya Gundimeda, Indian Institute of Technology, Mumbai


Dr Biswamoy Pati


Dr Geetangali Gangoli


Dr Mehtab Karim, Aga Khan University, Karachi


Dr Madhura Swaminathan, Indira Gandhi Institute of Development Research, Mumbai