Home > Anthropology > Research > Research Students

 

Current Research Students

Current research students
Name, email address
(pre / in the / post field)
Area Interest Topical Interests

Aisbitt, Alexandra
A.Aisbitt@lse.ac.uk|
(Pre-field)

West Bengal, India

Islam; spatial and political marginalisation; temporality

Arnavas, Chiara
C.Arnavas@lse.ac.uk|
(In the field)

North-eastern Kolkata, West Bengal, India

Urban planning; informality; insurgent and democratic politics

Berthin, Michael
M.Berthin@lse.ac.uk|
(Post-field)  

Japan

Bodies and machines; technology and society; social robots; disability 

Bowers, Rebecca
R.E.Bowers@lse.ac.uk|
(Pre-field)

Bangalore, India

Female construction workers, mobility, aspiration, networks, gendered spaces, motherhood, and political representation

Breen, Gareth
G.P.Breen@lse.ac.uk|
(Pre-field)

Sichuan Province, China

Divination; numbers; kinship

Buitron Arias, Natalia
N.Buitron-Arias@lse.ac.uk|
(Post-field)

Ecuador, Amazon

Sociality; Schooling; Institutionalisation; State-Indigenous peoples relations; Egalitarianism and Community making

Chiu, Hsiao-Chiao
H.Chiu1@lse.ac.uk|
(In the field)

Kinmen, Taiwan

Political economy; post-militarisation; kinship and family

Crockford, Susannah
S.E.Crockford@lse.ac.uk|
(Post-field)

United States of America

Spirituality; pluralism; economics

Deschenaux, Ivan
I.Deschenaux@lse.ac.uk|
(In the field)

Nepal

Learning and knowledge transmission; caste; insurgent ideologies

Diz, Agustin
A.Diz@lse.ac.uk|
(Post-field)

Chaco, Argentina

Citizenship; work; value

Efthymiou, Maria
M.Efthymiou@lse.ac.uk|
(Pre-field) 

Peru

Ontology; Cognition; History 

Fletcher, Katharine
K.C.Fletcher@lse.ac.uk| 
(Post-field)

United States of America

Epistemologies; language and ritual

Hale, Tamara
T.Hale1@lse.ac.uk|
(Post-field)
Personal Website|

Coastal Peru

Kinship race; slavery; inequality; Afro-Peruvians

Ho, Hao-Tzu
H.Ho4@lse.ac.uk|
(Pre-field)

Hong Kong, China

Urban planning / renewal; community development; nostalgia and sense of place; negotiation and resistance

Huang, Julia
J.Huang8@lse.ac.uk| 
(Post-field)

Bangladesh

Social enterprise; information and communication technologies for development; aspirations

Johnston, James
J.E.Johnston@lse.ac.uk
|(Post-field)

PR China

Education and learning; theories of knowledge; identities and subjectivities

Kauppinen, Anna-Riikka
A.M.Kauppinen@lse.ac.uk|
(In the field)

West Africa (Ghana)

Christianity; materiality; the body; money; (aesth)ethics

Kohonen, Liisa
L.K.Kohonen@lse.ac.uk|
(In the field)

China

The state; legal anthropology; local government

Kuroda, Ken
K.Kuroda@lse.ac.uk|
(In the field)

Mumbai, India

Food; tradition; anthropology of the city

Kuruuzum, Umut
U.Kuruuzum@lse.ac.uk|
(Pre-field)

Iraqi Kurdistan

Geography; conspiracy and suspicion; social movements

Laheij, Christian
C.L.Laheij@lse.ac.uk|
(Post-field)

Mozambique

Islam; public sphere; dispute management

Laws, Megan
M.Laws1@lse.ac.uk|
(In the field)

Botswana

Hunter-Gatherers; Christianity; Patronage; Religious Mediation; Potency and Property

Lewis, Jovan
J.Lewis1@lse.ac.uk|
(Post-field)

Jamaica

(East Indian) labour; migration; community networks

Lipton, Jonah
J.H.Lipton@lse.ac.uk|
(In the field)

Sierra Leone

Taxi Drivers; Youth / Adulthood; Informal Economies; Aspiration

Londorf, Maja
M.H.Londorf@lse.ac.uk|
(Post-field)

Northern Province of Rwanda

Childhood adversity/mental well-being; child-focused NGO projects; socialisation/cultural learning

Martin, Christopher
C.A.Martin@lse.ac.uk|
(Post-field)

Philippines 

Childhood; education; labour migration

McIvor, Meadhbh
M.McIvor@lse.ac.uk|
(Post-field)

London

Evangelical Christianity; identity/ies (national, 'minority', religious); legal anthropology and human rights law

Mezzenzana, Francesca
F.Mezzenzana@lse.ac.uk|
(Post-field)

Ecuadorian Amazon

 

Urban Kichwas; gender; ethnicity; schooling

 

Miguel Lorenzo, Laura Alexandra
L.A.Miguel-Lorenzo@lse.ac.uk|
(Post-field)

Solomon Islands, Melanesia

Domestic Violence; Agency; Christianity and Gendered Subjectivities; Urban Anthropology

Mukhayer, Ibrahim
I.Mukhayer@lse.ac.uk|
(Pre-field)

Northern Sudan

Islam; Sufism; charismatic authority

Musallam, Fuad
F.M.Musallam@lse.ac.uk|
(In the field)

Middle East, Lebanon

Activism; politicisation / depoliticisation; historical memory; cynicism

Ongaro, Giulio 
G.Ongaro@lse.ac.uk|
(Pre-field)

Laos

Medical anthropology

Penfield, Amy
A.E.Penfield@lse.ac.uk|
(Post-field)
Personal Website|

Venezuela

Alterity; Indigenism; Interethnic Relations

Pia, Andrea Enrico
A.E.Pia@lse.ac.uk|
(Post-field)

China

Water management, property;  land rights; rural society; common-pool resources management

Piña Ahumada, Gabriela
G.A.Pina-Ahumada@lse.ac.uk|
(In the field)

Chile

Adoption; childrearing; ethnicity and class

Pool, Fernande
F.W.Pool@lse.ac.uk|
(Post-field)

India (West Bengal)

Islam; secularism; ethics

Proudfoot, Philip
P.J.Proudfoot@lse.ac.uk|
(Post-field)

Syria/Lebanon

Migrant labour and uprisings; doubt and failure; neoliberalism and dispossession; new technology and popular art; consumption and production; sectarianisms; structural violence

Remmert, Désirée
D.Remmert@lse.ac.uk|
(Post-field)

China and Taiwan

Gender; kinship; exchange systems; individualism

Robinson, Dave
D.Robinson@lse.ac.uk| 
(Post-field)

Aotearoa, New Zealand

Maori Rastafarians; myth narratives; land; genealogy; Biblical narratives

Shuttleworth, Judy
J.C.Shuttleworth@lse.ac.uk|
(Post-field)

UK

Islam; orthodoxy and diversity in a London community; religious practice and identity

Stanford, Mark
M.A.Stanford@lse.ac.uk|
(Post-field)

China

Evolution of co-operation; psychological anthropology; social network analysis

Tuv, Liat
l.tuv@lse.ac.uk|
(In the field)

Israel

Language; peace discourse; agency and power dynamics

Wemyss, Martyn
M.J.Wemyss@lse.ac.uk|
(Post-field)

Bolivia

Law rights; decolonization

Whiteley, Johanna
J.L.Whiteley@lse.ac.uk|
(Post-field)

Isabel Province, Central Solomon Islands

Land-person relations in matrilineal kinship; The co-transformations of Anglican Christianity and matrilineal ways of knowing and being

Wong, Magdalena
M.M.Wong1@lse.ac.uk|
(In the field)

China

Population governance; kinship; gender relations

Wu, Di
D.Wu3@lse.ac.uk|
(Post-field)

(Chinese migrants in) Zambia

Labour relations; ethics; communication; private business operation 

Zidaru,Teodor
T.M.Zidaru-Barbulescu@lse.ac.uk|
(Pre-field)

Kenya

Christianity; witchcraft; economic anthropology; alterity

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|