Home > Anthropology > Research > Research Students

Current Research Students

Current research students
Name, email address
(pre / in the / post field)
Area Interest Topical Interests

Aisbitt, Alexandra
A.Aisbitt@lse.ac.uk
(In the field)

West Bengal, India

Social capital; spatial and political marginalisation; temporality

Arnavas, Chiara
C.Arnavas@lse.ac.uk
(Post-field)

North-eastern Kolkata, West Bengal, India

Urban planning; informality; insurgent and democratic politics

Bhogal, Kiran
J.K.Bhogal@lse.ac.uk
(Pre-field)

UK

Ritual theory; publicity; religious radicalisation and education; Sikh faith

Bowers, Rebecca
R.E.Bowers@lse.ac.uk
(Post-field)

Bangalore, India

Female construction workers; mobility; aspiration; networks; gendered space; motherhood; and political representation

Breen, Gareth
G.P.Breen@lse.ac.uk
(Post-field)

Taiwan

Ritual Language; Religious Fundamentalism; Transnational Chinese; Eating and Drinking

Chiu, Hsiao-Chiao
H.Chiu1@lse.ac.uk
(Post-field)

Kinmen, Taiwan

Political economy; post-militarisation; kinship and family

Cottrell, Hannah
H.Cottrell@lse.ac.uk
(Pre-field)

Japan

Education; the body; anthropology of aspiration; globalisation; psychological anthropology

Crockford, Susannah
S.E.Crockford@lse.ac.uk
(Post-field)

United States of America

Spirituality; pluralism; economics

Dahlgren, Kari
K.L.Dahlgren@lse.ac.uk 
(In the field)

Tanzania

Natural gas; anthropology of development; and corporate social responsibility

Deschenaux, Ivan
I.Deschenaux@lse.ac.uk
(Post-field)

Nepal

Learning and knowledge transmission; caste; insurgent ideologies

Diz, Agustin
A.Diz@lse.ac.uk
(Post-field)

Chaco, Argentina

Citizenship; work; value

Donnelly, Meghan Rose
M.Donnelly4@lse.ac.uk
(Pre-field)

Indonesia

Catholic nuns; performance ethnography; pluralism

Doherty, Jonathan
J.V.Doherty@lse.ac.uk
(Pre-field)

Bali, Indonesia

Animism and magic; cosmologies; ritual theory

Edwards, Michael
M.R.Edwards@lse.ac.uk
(Post-field)

Burma/Myanmar

Democracy; pluralism; evangelism; Christianity; Buddhism; Zomi/Chin 

Faure, Agathe
A.Faure@lse.ac.uk
(Pre-field)

French Guiana 

Migrations; storytelling; material culture

Fengjiang, Jiazhi
J.Fengjiang@lse.ac.uk
(In the field)

China

Grassroots philanthropy (/doing good); ethics; anthropology of development and humanitarianism

Fletcher, Katharine
K.C.Fletcher@lse.ac.uk 
(Post-field)

United States of America

Epistemologies; language and ritual

Garcia-Briceno, Luis
L.Garcia-Briceno@lse.ac.uk
(Pre-field)

Venezuelan Amazonia

Anthopology of Amazonia; Christianity; morality

Giattino, Angela
A.Giattino@lse.ac.uk
(Pre-field)

Peruvian Amazon

Higher indigenous intercultural education; Amazonian youth; educational inequality; subjectivity and cognition

Joassin, Thomas
T.Joassin@lse.ac.uk
(In the field)

Algeria

Sufism; secularism; Islam

Kauppinen, Anna-Riikka
A.M.Kauppinen@lse.ac.uk
(Post-field)

West Africa (Ghana)

Professional lives; friendship/kinship; intimacy; Christianity; religious innovation; (aesth)ethics; media and popular culture

Kohonen, Liisa
L.K.Kohonen@lse.ac.uk
(Post-field)

China

The state; legal anthropology; local government

Kuroda, Ken
K.Kuroda1@lse.ac.uk
(Post-field)

Mumbai, India

Food; health; identity; well-being; urban anthropology

Kuruuzum, Umut
U.Kuruuzum@lse.ac.uk
(Post-field)

Iraqi Kurdistan

Labour, migration, uncertainty, debt, PKK, Iraqi Kurdistan

Laws, Megan
M.Laws1@lse.ac.uk
(Post-field)

Botswana, Namibia

Ju|'hoansi, Debt, Healing

Lipton, Jonah
J.H.Lipton@lse.ac.uk
(Post-field)

Sierra Leone

Ebola crisis; youth/adulthood; informal work; family life

Liu, Danfeng
D.Liu15@lse.ac.uk
(Pre-field)

Bavaria, Germany

Catholicism and secularism; transformations of family and kinship; ordinary ethics

Londorf, Maja
M.H.Londorf@lse.ac.uk
(Post-field)

Northern Province of Rwanda

Childhood adversity/mental well-being; child-focused NGO projects; socialisation/cultural learning

Mehtta, Megnaa
M.Mehtta@lse.ac.uk
(In the field)

Sundarbans, West Bengal

Anthropology of human rights; dignity and ethics; marginality and the everyday state

Miguel Lorenzo, Laura Alexandra
L.A.Miguel-Lorenzo@lse.ac.uk
(Post-field)

Solomon Islands, Melanesia

Domestic Violence; Agency; Christianity and Gendered Subjectivities; Urban Anthropology

Musallam, Fuad
F.M.Musallam@lse.ac.uk
(Post-field)

Middle East, Lebanon

Activism; historicity/temporality/futurity; affect and emotion; materiality and space; narrative and storytelling

Noy, Itay
I.Noy@lse.ac.uk
(In the field)

Eastern India

Inequality; labour; politics of livelihoods; the state and social protection; coal

Okenwa, Doris
D.A.Okenwa@lse.ac.uk 
(In the field)

Turkana, Kenya

Natural resources (oil); land; materiality; politics; development and activism

Ongaro, Giulio 
G.Ongaro@lse.ac.uk
(In the field)

Laos

Medical anthropology

Osborn, Nick
N.Osborn@lse.ac.uk
(Pre-field)

Guatemala

Anthropology of borders; citizenship & state; christianity; ethics; memorialisation

Piña Ahumada, Gabriela
G.A.Pina-Ahumada@lse.ac.uk
(Post-field)

Chile

Childhood; kinship; emotions and notions of personhood among the Mapuche people

Sandoval Marmolejo, Ignacio
I.Sandoval-Marmolejo@lse.ac.uk
(Pre-field)

Chile

State-making; political practices; social classes 

Shuttleworth, Judy
J.C.Shuttleworth@lse.ac.uk
(Post-field)

UK

Islam; orthodoxy and diversity in a London community; religious practice and identity

Simpson, Nikita
N.Simpson@lse.ac.uk
(Pre-field)

Himachal Pradesh, India

Social welfare and gender empowerment policy; ethics; household and feminist economics. 

Spector, Branwen
B.Spector@lse.ac.uk
(In the field)

Israel

Identity; cultural transmission; Mizrahim

Stanford, Mark
M.A.Stanford@lse.ac.uk
(Post-field)

China

Evolution of co-operation; psychological anthropology; social network analysis

Strong, Imani
I.Strong@lse.ac.uk
(Pre-field)

Georgia, United States

Affirmative action; race; African-American entrepreneurship

Tengprawat, Thanakrit 
T.Tengprawat@lse.ac.uk
(Pre-field)

Thailand

Cultural Heritage; Thai State and its Local Politics; Globalization; Kinship; Cosmopolitanism; Kui Ethnic

Trotter, Lucy Ellen
L.E.Trotter@lse.ac.uk
(In the field)

Patagonia, Argentina

Welsh diaspora; education; political anthropology

Tuv, Liat
L.Tuv@lse.ac.uk
(Post-field)

Israel

Language; peace discourse; agency and power dynamics

Vieira, Jordan P
J.Vieira1@lse.ac.uk
(In the field)

Uganda and London

Migration; anthropology of advice; transnationalism; decision-making; social mobility; politics of inclusion

Wemyss, Martyn
M.J.Wemyss@lse.ac.uk
(Post-field)

Bolivia

Legal anthropology; human rights; indigenous justice; subjectivity

Wong, Magdalena
M.M.Wong1@lse.ac.uk
(Post-field)

China

Population governance; kinship; gender relations

Zagaria, Valentina
V.Zagaria@lse.ac.uk
(In the field)

Sicily and Tunisia

Death; migration; legal anthropology

Zidaru,Teodor
T.M.Zidaru-Barbulescu@lse.ac.uk
(Post-field)

Kisii County, Kenya

Trust; microfinance; Christianity

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|