Home > Anthropology > People

Departmental staff

Academic Staff

Dr Catherine Allerton|  
[Research leave 2013/14]
Eastern Indonesia, East Malaysia; place and landscape, houses, kinship and marriage, childhood and youth, migration.
c.l.allerton@lse.ac.uk|

Professor Rita Astuti|
[Head of Department 2012 - 2015]
Madagascar; kinship, gender, anthropology of death, cognitive development and cultural transmission; ethnographic and experimental research methods.
r.astuti@lse.ac.uk| ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7206 ¦ OLD 6.11

Dr Mukulika Banerjee|
South Asia; political anthropology, popular perceptions of democracy and the culture of elections, fashion and public culture, Muslim societies.
m.banerjee@lse.ac.uk| ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7213 ¦ OLD 5.09

Dr Laura Bear
|South Asia; anthropologies of the economy, state, time and urban/industrial enivironments.
l.bear@lse.ac.uk| ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7409 ¦ OLD 6.09

Dr Fenella Cannell
|Lowland Philippines, United States; anthropology of Christianity, healing and mediumship, gender, Mormonism and kinship.
f.cannell@lse.ac.uk|  ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 6306 ¦ OLD 6.07

Dr Matthew Engelke|
Zimbabwe, England; Christianity and the Bible, semiotics, materiality, public religion, history of anthropology, human rights.
m.engelke@lse.ac.uk| ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 6494 ¦ OLD 6.12

Professor Katy Gardner|
[Sabbatical leave 2013/14]
Bangladesh; globalisation, migration, economic change.
K.J.Gardner@lse.ac.uk|

Professor David Graeber
[Research leave 2013/14]
Madagascar, Europe, North America; Theories of value, money, debt, politics, manners, magic, class, social movements, social theory.
D.Graeber@lse.ac.uk|

Professor Deborah James|
South Africa; political economy, civil society and the state, land reform and property regimes, development and migration, ethnicity, ethnomusicology, HIV/AIDS and reproductive health.
d.a.james@lse.ac.uk| ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7215 ¦ OLD 6.06

Dr Nick Long
|
Indonesia and the Malay World; decentralisation, democratisation, post-democracy, achievement and motivation, confidence, human resources, sociality, critical theory.
n.j.long@lse.ac.uk| ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 6757 ¦ OLD 6.14

Dr Mathijs Pelkmans|
Caucasus (Republic of Georgia), Central Asia (Kyrgyz Republic); anthropology of borders, political anthropology, anthropology of religion.
m.e.pelkmans@lse.ac.uk| ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7862 ¦ OLD 5.08

Dr Michael W. Scott|
[Sabbatical leave Lent and Summer Terms 2014]
Oceania; Melanesia; anthropological approaches to questions of being (ontology); cosmology; religion; wonder; myth-making; indigenous Christianities; personhood, sociality, and relatedness; place-making; ethnogenesis. 
m.w.scott@lse.ac.uk|

Dr Alpa Shah
|[Director of Department Research Unit Inequality and Poverty| 2013 – 2017]
India and Nepal; political and economic anthropology; the state, citizenship and revolutionary struggle; indigeneity, ethnicity, caste and class; agrarian transitions and labour; inequality and poverty.
a.m.shah@lse.ac.uk| ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7488 ¦ OLD 6.17A

Professor Charles Stafford|
China and Taiwan; learning, schooling and child development, cognitive anthropology, the relationship between learning and economic life.
c.stafford@lse.ac.uk| ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7207 ¦ OLD 6.02

Dr Hans Steinmuller
|China; political and economic anthropology, moralities and ethics, irony, ritual, gambling.
j.steinmuller@lse.ac.uk| ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7214 ¦ OLD 5.06A

Dr Harry Walker| 
Lowland South America; personhood and relatedness, subjectivity, ritual, justice.
 h.l.walker@lse.ac.uk| ¦ +44 (0) 20 7955 7208 ¦ OLD 5.06B

Dr Gisa Weszkalnys
|
Ethnographic study of natural resources, specifically oil in Africa; the politics of urban planning.
g.weszkalnys@lse.ac.uk| ¦ +44 (0) 20 7955 6242 ¦ OLD 6.08

Centennial Professor

Professor Adam Kuper
|South Africa; intellectual history of anthropology, kinship, Southern Africa.
adam.kuper@gmail.com| ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 6057 ¦ OLD 6.16

Research and LSE Fellows

Dr Tom Boylston|  [Research Fellow]
Anthropology of religion, media, technology, individualism, and discourses of modernity.
t.a.boylston@lse.ac.uk| ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 6933 ¦ POR 4.01

Dr Charlotte Bruckermann| [LSE Fellow]
China, home, gender, ritual, work, economic transformation, post-socialism
c.bruckermann@lse.ac.uk| ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7614 ¦ KGS 1.06

Dr Jason Hickel| [LSE Fellow]
South Africa: democracy, development, political conflict, vigilante violence, xenophobia, labor and migrancy, ritual and witchcraft.
j.e.hickel@lse.ac.uk| ¦ +44 (0)20 7107 5064 ¦ OLD 5.07  

James Johnston| [LSE Fellow - China]
China: education and learning; kinship morality; place and migration; local perceptions of the nation and the state.
j.e.johnston@lse.ac.uk| ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7435 ¦ KGS 3.07

Dr Insa Koch| [LSE Fellow]
Anthropology of law, politics and the state, criminology, political and legal anthropology, legal philosophy, anthropological theory and ethnography
i.l.koch@lse.ac.uk| ¦ +44 (0)20 7849 4637 ¦ OLD 6.10

Dr George St Clair|  [LSE Fellow]
Brazil, Latin America; Christianity, Pentecostalism, utopian religion and urban life, anthropology of religion, identity.
g.st.clair@lse.ac.uk|  ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7212 ¦ OLD 6.13

Inequality and Poverty Project Postdoctoral Fellows

Dr Richard Axelby|
Poverty and inequality; agrarian change; natural resource management; environmental history; South Asia especially the Himalayas.
R.Axelby@lse.ac.uk|

Dr Dalel Benbabaali|
India; social geography and anthropology, caste and class, land relations, territory, migration, social mobility, control, power, hegemony, resistance.
d.benbabaali@lse.ac.uk|

Dr Brendan Donegan|
Poverty, inequality, activism in India and the UK, land acquisition, Dalits.
b.donegan@lse.ac.uk|

Jayaseelan Raj|
India; economic  anthropology / anthropology of labour; political anthropology / anthropology of state; ethnic identity and movements; economic history, caste system / anti-caste movements.
J.Raj@lse.ac.uk|

Vikramaditya Thakur|
Agrarian studies, social movements, and environmental and social history.

+44 (0)20 7955 7480 ¦ OLD 6.06A

Visiting Staff

Dr Alice Forbess| [Visiting Fellow]
Anthropology of institutions - religious, political and third sector, in European settings; Christianity - charisma, mysticism, transgression and ethics in Eastern Orthodox contexts.
a.i.forbess@lse.ac.uk|

Dr Dena Freeman| [Visiting Fellow]
Ethiopia; cultural transformation; happiness and wellbeing; culture, cognition and emotion; international development; Pentecostalism.
d.g.freeman@lse.ac.uk| 

Dr Dominik Schieder| [Visiting Fellow]
Oceania (Fiji) and East Asia (Japan); migration, social transformation, sports, political elitism and political processes.
d.schieder@lse.ac.uk|

Dr Mitchell W Sedgwick|

[Senior Visiting Fellow]
Japan (mainland SE Asia, France, Tex-Mex border); economic anthropology, globalisation; anthropology of organisations, multinational corporations, cross-cultural relations/ethnicity and work; minorities and marginality in Japan; disaster anthropology, post-tsunami Japan.
m.sedgwick@lse.ac.uk|

Dr Tong-xue Tan| (Visiting Fellow)
Anthropology of rural China, ethnology of Chinese minorities, peasant economies, village morality, grass-roots politics, social consciousness.
T.Tan4@lse.ac.uk|

Retired Academic Staff

Professor Maurice Bloch|
Madagascar; religion and politics, cognition and culture, kinship.
m.e.bloch@lse.ac.uk|

Professor Stephan Feuchtwang|
China and Taiwan, Germany; Chinese popular religion, the anthropology of history, life stories, family myths and responses to catastrophic loss, comparison of civilisations and empires.
s.feuchtwang@lse.ac.uk| ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 6241 ¦ SHF 3.01

Professor Jean La Fontaine
East Africa, United Kingdom; kinship, children, incest, ritual, witchcraft and Satanism.
j.la-fontaine@lse.ac.uk| ¦ +44 (0)20 7708 4496

Professor Chris Fuller|
South Asia; India and Hinduism, South Indian temples, religion and politics, globalisation and information technology, Tamil Brahman society and history.
c.fuller@lse.ac.uk|

Professor Martha Mundy|
Arab societies; law, agrarian systems, sociology of Islam, historical anthropology, kinship.
m.mundy@lse.ac.uk|

Professor Jonathan Parry|
South Asia; sociology of Hinduism, caste and other forms of inequality, industrialisation, labour and the anthropology of work.
j.p.parry@lse.ac.uk|

Dr James Woodburn
Sub-Saharan Africa; hunting and gathering societies, egalitarian political systems.
james@woodburn.org.uk|

Administrative Staff

Ms Yanina Hinrichsen
Departmental Manager
y.hinrichsen@lse.ac.uk| ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7202 ¦ OLD 6.03

Ms Andrea Elsik
Administrative Officer
anthro.admin@lse.ac.uk| ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 6775 ¦ OLD 6.04A 

Mr Tomas Hinrichsen
Administrator (Monday & Friday)
anthro.admin@lse.ac.uk| ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 6775 ¦ OLD 6.04A 

Ms Renata Todd
Administration and Communications Officer
r.todd@lse.ac.uk| ¦ +44 (0)20 7852 3709 ¦ OLD 6.04A

As far as possible, the administrative staff in the department operate an "open door" policy: if one of us is not here, the others will try to help.

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|