Home > Anthropology > People

Departmental staff

Academic Staff

Dr Catherine Allerton  
Eastern Indonesia, East Malaysia; place and landscape, houses, kinship and marriage, childhood and youth, migration.
c.l.allerton@lse.ac.uk ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7206 ¦ OLD 6.13

Professor Rita Astuti
[Head of Department 2012 - 2015]
Madagascar; kinship, gender, anthropology of death, cognitive development and cultural transmission; ethnographic and experimental research methods.
r.astuti@lse.ac.uk ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7206 ¦ OLD 6.11

Dr Mukulika Banerjee
[Sabbatical leave Michaelmas Term 2014 and Lent Term 2015]
South Asia; political anthropology, popular perceptions of democracy and the culture of elections, fashion and public culture, Muslim societies.
m.banerjee@lse.ac.uk ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7213 ¦ OLD 5.09

Dr Laura Bear
South Asia; anthropologies of the economy, state, time and urban/industrial enivironments.
l.bear@lse.ac.uk ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7409 ¦ OLD 6.09

Dr Fenella Cannell
Lowland Philippines, United States; anthropology of Christianity, healing and mediumship, gender, Mormonism and kinship.
f.cannell@lse.ac.uk  ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 6306 ¦ OLD 6.07

Professor Matthew Engelke
Zimbabwe, England; Christianity and the Bible, semiotics, materiality, public religion, history of anthropology, human rights.
m.engelke@lse.ac.uk ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 6494 ¦ OLD 6.12

Professor Katy Gardner
Bangladesh; globalisation, migration, economic change.
k.j.gardner@lse.ac.uk ¦ +44 (0)20 7107 5064 ¦ OLD 5.07

Professor David Graeber
Madagascar, Europe, North America; Theories of value, money, debt, politics, manners, magic, class, social movements, social theory.
d.graeber@lse.ac.uk ¦ +44 (0)20 7849 4637 ¦ OLD 6.10

Professor Deborah James
South Africa; political economy, civil society and the state, land reform and property regimes, development and migration, ethnicity, ethnomusicology, HIV/AIDS and reproductive health.
d.a.james@lse.ac.uk ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7215 ¦ OLD 6.06

Dr Nick Long
Indonesia and the Malay World; political change; psychological anthropology; affect; history and memory; achievement and motivation; education; the supernatural.
n.j.long@lse.ac.uk ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 6757 ¦ OLD 6.14

Dr Mathijs Pelkmans
[Sabbatical leave 2014/15]
Caucasus (Republic of Georgia), Central Asia (Kyrgyz Republic); anthropology of borders, political anthropology, anthropology of religion.
m.e.pelkmans@lse.ac.uk

Dr Michael W. Scott
Oceania; Melanesia; anthropological approaches to questions of being (ontology); cosmology; religion; wonder; myth-making; indigenous Christianities; personhood, sociality, and relatedness; place-making; ethnogenesis. 
m.w.scott@lse.ac.uk ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 6057 ¦ OLD 6.16

Dr Alpa Shah
[Director of Department Research Unit Inequality and Poverty 2013 – 2017]
India and Nepal; political and economic anthropology; the state, citizenship and revolutionary struggle; indigeneity, ethnicity, caste and class; agrarian transitions and labour; inequality and poverty.
a.m.shah@lse.ac.uk ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7488 ¦ OLD 6.17A

Professor Charles Stafford
China and Taiwan; learning, schooling and child development, cognitive anthropology, the relationship between learning and economic life.
c.stafford@lse.ac.uk ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7207 ¦ OLD 6.02

Dr Hans Steinmüller
China; political and economic anthropology, moralities and ethics, irony, ritual, gambling.
j.steinmuller@lse.ac.uk ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7214 ¦ OLD 5.06A

Dr Harry Walker 
Lowland South America; personhood and relatedness, subjectivity, ritual, justice.
h.l.walker@lse.ac.uk ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7208 ¦ OLD 5.06B

Dr Gisa Weszkalnys
Ethnographic study of natural resources, specifically oil in Africa; the politics of urban planning.
g.weszkalnys@lse.ac.uk ¦ +44 (0) 20 7955 6242 ¦ OLD 6.08

Centennial Professor

Professor Adam Kuper
South Africa; intellectual history of anthropology, kinship, Southern Africa.
adam.kuper@gmail.com ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7614 ¦ KGS 3.07

Research and LSE Fellows

Dr Richard Axelby  [Research Fellow]
South Asia especially the Himalayas; agrarian change, natural resource management,; environmental history.
r.axelby@lse.ac.uk

Dr Dalel Benbabaali [Research Fellow]
India; social geography and anthropology, caste and class, land relations, territory, migration, social mobility.
d.benbabaali@lse.ac.uk

Dr Brendan Donegan [Research Fellow]
Industrialisation, health initiatives, marginality.
b.donegan@lse.ac.uk

Dr Ana Gutierrez Garza [LSE Fellow]
London; Latin America; migration; labour; economic anthropology; gender; middle class.
a.p.gutierrez-garza@lse.ac.uk ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7614 ¦ KGS 3.07

Dr Jason Hickel [Research Fellow]
South Africa: democracy, development, political conflict, vigilante violence, xenophobia, labor and migrancy, ritual and witchcraft.
j.e.hickel@lse.ac.uk ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 6933 ¦ POR 4.01  

James Johnston [LSE Fellow - China]
China: education and learning; kinship morality; place and migration; local perceptions of the nation and the state.
j.e.johnston@lse.ac.uk ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7435 ¦ KGS 1.06

Dr Anni Kajanus [Marie Curie Research Fellow]
China; Culture and cognition, cooperation, migration, education, gender and kinship.
a.e.kajanus@lse.ac.uk

Jayaseelan Raj [Research Fellow]
India; economic  anthropology / anthropology of labour; political anthropology / anthropology of state; ethnic identity and movements; economic history, caste system / anti-caste movements.
j.raj@lse.ac.uk

Vikramaditya Thakur [Research Fellow]
India; agrarian studies, social movements, and environmental and social history.
v.thakur1@lse.ac.uk

Dr Matt Wilde [LSE Fellow]
Venezuela; popular politics, democracy and egalitarianism, the state, urban inequality, political economy
m.w.wilde@lse.ac.uk  +44 (0)20 7955 7862 ¦ OLD 5.08

Visiting Staff

Dr Iracema Dulley [Visiting Fellow]
Angola; Southern Africa; anthropological theory, translation, witchcraft and sorcery, naming practices, habitus and biography, missions, colonialism and post-colonialism.
idulley@gmail.com

Dr Dena Freeman  [Visiting Fellow]
Ethiopia; cultural transformation; happiness and wellbeing; culture, cognition and emotion; international development; Pentecostalism.
d.g.freeman@lse.ac.uk 

Dr Dan Hirslund  [Visiting Fellow]
Nepal; Maoism; revolutionary movements; political culture; subjectivity; labor theory; economic anthropology.
sbd124@hum.ku.dk

Professor Ellen R. Judd [Visiting Senior Fellow]
China; political economy, gender, kinship, agrarian social organization, social movements, societies in transition, development, cultural production, mobility and migration, anthropology of care, inequality and mutuality.
E.Judd1@lse.ac.uk

Professor Mark Mosko [Visiting Senior Fellow]
Melanesia; kinship and social structure; symbolism and structuralism; chieftainship; religion and Christianity; gift exchange; gender; personhood and agency; chaos theory; social change.
mark.mosko@anu.edu.au

Dr Denis Regnier [Visiting Fellow]
Madagascar, Borneo, East Africa, Indian Ocean, Austronesian world; slavery and post-slavery; kinship and marriage; memory and identity; learning and cognition; religion (ancestors); death and funerary practices; healing; naming; ethnohistory; environment.
d.a.regnier@lse.ac.uk

Dr Marina Sapritsky [Visiting Fellow]
The former Soviet-Union; Ukraine; Jewish identity; religious revival and transformation of traditions; ethnicity; migration and return migration.
m.sapritsky@lse.ac.uk

Dr Dominik Schieder [Visiting Fellow]
Oceania (Fiji), East Asia (Japan) and Europe (United Kingdom); migration, sociality, sports, ethnicity, urban anthropology, Pacific Studies, ethnohistory, political anthropology. 
d.schieder@lse.ac.uk

Dr Mitchell W Sedgwick  [Senior Visiting Fellow]
Japan (mainland SE Asia, France, Tex-Mex border); economic anthropology, globalisation; anthropology of organisations, multinational corporations, cross-cultural relations/ethnicity and work; minorities and marginality in Japan; disaster anthropology, post-tsunami Japan.
m.sedgwick@lse.ac.uk

Dr George St Clair  [Visiting Fellow]
Brazil, Latin America; Christianity, Pentecostalism, utopian religion and urban life, anthropology of religion, identity.
G.St.Clair@lse.ac.uk

Gong Zhixiang [Visiting Fellow]
China; ethinic relations, self-government, rural development.
enshilg@163.com

Retired Academic Staff

Professor Maurice Bloch
Madagascar; religion and politics, cognition and culture, kinship.
m.e.bloch@lse.ac.uk

Professor Stephan Feuchtwang
China and Taiwan, Germany; Chinese popular religion, the anthropology of history, life stories, family myths and responses to catastrophic loss, comparison of civilisations and empires.
s.feuchtwang@lse.ac.uk ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 6241 ¦ SHF 3.01

Professor Jean La Fontaine
East Africa, United Kingdom; kinship, children, incest, ritual, witchcraft and Satanism.
j.la-fontaine@lse.ac.uk ¦ +44 (0)20 7708 4496

Professor Chris Fuller
South Asia; India and Hinduism, South Indian temples, religion and politics, globalisation and information technology, Tamil Brahman society and history.
c.fuller@lse.ac.uk

Professor Martha Mundy
Arab societies; law, agrarian systems, sociology of Islam, historical anthropology, kinship.
m.mundy@lse.ac.uk

Professor Jonathan Parry
South Asia; sociology of Hinduism, caste and other forms of inequality, industrialisation, labour and the anthropology of work.
j.p.parry@lse.ac.uk

Dr James Woodburn
Sub-Saharan Africa; hunting and gathering societies, egalitarian political systems.
james@woodburn.org.uk

Administrative Staff

Ms Yanina Hinrichsen
Departmental Manager
y.hinrichsen@lse.ac.uk ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 7202 ¦ OLD 6.03

Ms Andrea Elsik
Administrative Officer
anthro.admin@lse.ac.uk ¦ +44 (0)20 7107 5037 ¦ OLD 6.04A 

Mr Tomas Hinrichsen
Administrator (Thursday & Friday)
anthro.admin@lse.ac.uk ¦ +44 (0)20 7955 6775 ¦ OLD 6.04A 

Ms Renata Todd
Administration and Communications Officer
r.todd@lse.ac.uk ¦ +44 (0)20 7852 3709 ¦ OLD 6.04A

As far as possible, the administrative staff in the department operate an "open door" policy: if one of us is not here, the others will try to help.

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|