Home > Anthropology > Seminars and events > Conferences and Workshops > Ethnographies of Migration

 

Ethnographies of Migration

19th and 20th June, London School of Economics

Convenors: Maxim Bolt, Elizabeth Frantz and Malcolm James

This two-day graduate student-led workshop was sponsored by the Migration Studies Unit and the Departments of Anthropology and Sociology at the LSE. The event brought together twelve doctoral students from universities in the UK and elsewhere in Europe to present ongoing research on migration. This event gave both those in the initial stages of research as well as those who had already completed fieldwork a chance to receive critical feedback on their work. It also provided a rare opportunity for those from different disciplines who share a common interest in ethnographic methods an opportunity to meet and exchange ideas. In doing so, the workshop offered a forum for researchers with diverse theoretical interests and regional expertise to engage in critical discussions about key themes and challenges in the study of migration.

For further information, please contact one of the organisers: M.Bolt@lse.ac.uk|, E.A.Frantz@lse.ac.uk| or T.M.James@lse.ac.uk| 

DAY 1: Saturday 19th June, 2010

9.15 – 9.20 Arrival

9.20 – 9.30 Welcome and Opening Statements

Session 1: Liminality and State Control (Discussant – Malcolm James)

9.30 – 10.30 Melanie Griffiths (University of Oxford): 'Living with uncertainty: liminality and insecurity for asylum seekers in Oxford and Campsfield House Immigration Removal Centre (IRC)'

10.30 – 10.45 Coffee/tea break

10.45 – 11.30 Natasha King (University of Nottingham): 'The external dimension of the European migration regime: extending responsibility beyond borders in controlling illegal migration'

11.30 – 12.30 Giada de Coulon (University of Neuchâtel): 'Legally "illegal"? The agency of rejected asylum seekers facing the state'

12.30 – 13.30 Lunch

Session 2: Labour and Global Capitalism (Discussant – Maxim Bolt)

13.30– 14.30 Deborah Soothill (University College London): '"Theft is not a crime in Spain": the ambiguities of the Western legal system and crime for Chinese migrants in Madrid'

14.30 – 15.15 Joyce Jiang (University of Loughborough): 'Labour migrants and the class struggle: a study of migrants and social movement unionism in the UK'

15.15 – 15.45 Coffee/tea break

15.45 – 16.45 Hannah Cross (University of Leeds): 'Migration, mobility and borders: the EU and West African migrant communities'

16.45 – 17.30 Malasree Neepa Acharya (Vrije Universiteit Brussel): 'Policing the brain-gain: cross-border social networks in South Asian migration trends and governance implications in the Global North and South'

17.30 End of Session. Drinks and dinner for participants.   

DAY 2: Sunday 20th June, 2010

9.30 – 9.45 Opening Statements for Day 2

Session 3: Kinship and the Life-cycle (Discussant – Elizabeth Frantz)

9.45 – 10.30 Lara Momesso (School of Oriental and African Studies): 'Migrant women organizing: two case studies of "mainland brides" in Taiwan and "study mamas" in Singapore'

10.30 – 11.00 Coffee/tea Break

11.00 – 12.00 Aliaa Remtilla (University of Manchester): 'Keeping kin connected: the circulation of wedding videos between migrants populations and their Tajik "home" villages

12.00 – 13.00 Lunch

Session 4: Producing Transnationalism (Discussant – George St. Clair)

13.00 – 14.00 Zana Vathi & Russell King (University of Sussex): 'Trans-local orientation, cosmopolitanism and integration among Albanian-origin teenagers in Tuscany'

14.00 – 14.45 Hsin-Yi Li (Heidelberg University): 'Transcultural practices of classic music: a case of East Asian students of music in Germany

14:45 – 15:00 Coffee/tea Break

15.00 – 16.00 Katrin Maier (University of Sussex): 'Believing in "Lagos-London": Pentecostalism as mediator in the Nigerian diaspora'

16:00 – 16:30 General discussion and closing statements

16.30 End of workshop 

Attendees

Daniel Etcheverry, Universidade Federral do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil, danieletcheverry1@gmail.com|
Hannah Cross, University of Leeds, H.M.Cross03@leeds.ac.uk|
Neepa Acharya, Institute for European Studies, Brussels, macharya@vub.ac.be|
Emilia Pietka, Strathclyde University, Emilia.pietka@strath.ac.uk|
Keven Bermudez, Queen Margaret University, kbermudez@qmu.ac.uk|
Hsinyi Li, University of Heidelberg, li@asia-europe.uni-heidelberg.de|
Debbie Soothill, University College London, d.soothill@ucl.ac.uk|
Giada De Coulon, University of Neuchatel, Switzerland, giada.decoulon@unine.ch|
Haggi Michael, University of Nottingham, higgimh@yahoo.com|, ntxhm@nottingham.ac.uk|
Zana Vathi, University of Sussex, z.vathi@sussex.ac.uk|
Melanie Griffiths, University of Oxford, griffithsmelanie@hotmail.com|
Joyce Zhe Jiang, Loughborough University, Z.Jiang@lboro.ac.uk|
Bethan Williams, Goldsmiths, wbethan@hotmail.com|
Aliaa Remtilla, University of Manchester, remtilla@gmail.com
Lara Momesso, SOAS, l.momesso@hotmail.com|
Natasha King, University of Nottingham, ldxnlk3@nottingham.ac.uk|
Katrin Maier, University of Sussex, K.Maier@sussex.ac.uk|
George St. Clair, LSE, G.St.Clair@lse.ac.uk|
Elizabeth Frantz, LSE, E.A.Frantz@lse.ac.uk|
Maxim Bolt, LSE, M.Bolt@lse.ac.uk|
Malcolm James, LSE, T.M.James@lse.ac.uk|

EoM Blogspot

http://ethnographiesofmigration.blogspot.com/| 

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|