Find a Brexit expert

Leading academics available for comment and analysis

Find a Brexit expert

Search through our range of world-renowned staff who specialise in topics around Brexit, the EU and what it means for higher education.

European Institute

Kevin Featherstone, European Institute | LSE Brexit expert | London School of Economics

Kevin Featherstone

Specialisms: History of UK-EU relations; future of EU post-Brexit; and models of EU external relations.

Email: K.Featherstone@lse.ac.uk          See more

Iain_Begg brexit headshot

Iain Begg

Specialisms: Political economy of European integration and EU economic governance; economic and social policy; the EU's Europe 2020 strategy; evaluation of EU cohesion policy; and reform of the EU budget.

Email: Iain.Begg@lse.ac.uk          See more

Mareike-Kleine-brexit expert headshot

Mareike Kleine

Specialisms: European integration; domestic institutions; global governance; international politics; international trade and legitimacy.

Email: M.O.Kleine@lse.ac.uk          See more

Anne Corbett Brexit expert | LSE Brexit experts | London School of Economics

Anne Corbett

Specialisms: EU higher education policy; national higher education policies in EU 28 and Bologna 49; and the Bologna Process.

Email: A.Corbett@lse.ac.uk           See more

Eiko Thielemann Brexit expert headshot | LSE & Brexit | London School of Economics

Eiko Thielemann

Specialisms: European Union; asylum; comparative politics and policy; immigration; international co-operation (burden sharing); and migration.

E.Thielemann@lse.ac.uk          See more 

Vassilis Monastiriotis Brexit expert headshot | LSE & Brexit | London School of Economics

Vassilis Monastiriotis

Specialisms: Greece and South East Europe; applied spatial econometrics and GIS; labour market flexibility; regional labour markets; regional policy and performance; spatial economics; unemployment; wage and income disparities.

V.Monastiriotis@lse.ac.uk          See more

Sara Hobolt Brexit expert headshot | LSE & Brexit | London School of Economics

Sara Hobolt

Specialisms: European Union; European politics; elections; parties; and referendums.

S.B.Hobolt@lse.ac.uk          See more 

Waltraud Schelkle Brexit expert headshot | LSE & Brexit | London School of Economics

Waltraud Schelkle

Specialisms: European Monetary Union; European integration; United Germany; financial markets and social policy.

W.Schelkle@lse.ac.uk          See more  

jennifer jackson preece brexpert headshot

Jennifer Jackson-Preece

Specialisms: Europe; European security; European states system; North America; ethnic conflict; history; irredentism; minority rights; multiculturalism; nationalism; and secession.

Email: J.Jackson-Preece@lse.ac.uk           See more

Nick_Barr Brexit headshot

Nick Barr

Specialisms: Economic theory of the welfare state; social insurance; pensions; health finance; and the finance of higher education.

Email: N.Barr@lse.ac.uk           See more

Bob Hancke | Brexit expert | London School of Economics

Bob Hancké

Specialisms: EMU; European motor industry; European works councils; French and German economy; comparative economic performance; comparative industrial organisation; industrial restructuring; labour relations; labour unionism; and multinationals.

R.Hancke@lse.ac.uk          See more 

Jonathan White Brexit Expert | LSE & Brexit | London School of Economics

Jonathan White

Specialisms: European Union; European identity; European politics; democratic theory; partisanship; political sociology; public opinion; and social theory.


J.P.White@lse.ac.uk          See more

Julian Hoerner brexit expert  | LSE & Brexit | London School of Economics

Julian Hoerner

Specialisms: The role of national parliaments in the European Union; Eurosceptic parties and the internal coordination of EU policies in the member states.  

J.M.Hoerner@lse.ac.uk          See more

Spyros Economides Brexit expert  | LSE & Brexit | London School of Economics

Spyros Economides

Specialisms: Balkans; EU foreign policy; European security; Greece; US foreign policy; foreign affairs; former Yugoslavia; and southeast Europe.

S.Economides@lse.ac.uk          See more

Simon Glendinnings Brexit expert  | LSE & Brexit | London School of Economics

Simon Glendinning

Specialisms: European Philosophy; Philosophy of Europe; animal ethics; phenomenology and deconstruction; philosophy of European Union; and the idea of an “ever closer union”.

S.Glendinning@lse.ac.uk          See more

Abby Innes  | Brexit expert | London School of Economics

Abby Innes 

Specialisms: Czechoslovak politics; Czechoslovak separation; Eastern Europe; economic reform; nationalism; politics; post-communism; post-communist transition; causes and consequences of Brexit in the UK.

A.Innes@lse.ac.uk          See more 

Steve Coulter Brexit expert | LSE & Brexit | London School of Economics

Steve Coulter 

Specialisms: comparative political economy; industrial and growth policy; interest groups; British and European politics; labour markets; and trade unions.

Email: S.Coulter1@lse.ac.uk           See more

Jan Komarek LSE Brexit expert | LSE and Brexit

Jan Komárek

Specialisms: EU law; judicial politics in Europe; and comparative constitutional law.

J.Komarek@lse.ac.uk          See more

Mireia Borrell Brexit expert | LSE & Brexit

Mireia Borrell-Porta

Specialisms: Labour-market policy; informal institutions and culture; and the Euro-Mediterranean area.

M.Borrell@lse.ac.uk          See more

Department for Government

Tony Travers Department of Government | Brexit expert | London School of Economics

Tony Travers 

Specialisms: Parliament, civil service, ministers, demography , sub-national, constitution and London.

Email: A.Travers@lse.ac.uk          See more

 

Sarah Harrison brexit expert headshot

Sarah Harrison

Specialisms: Elections; electoral psychology; European identity; extreme right politics; political parties; public opinion and electoral behaviour; research methodology; and youth participation.

Email: S.L.Harrison@lse.ac.uk           See more

Denisa_Kostovicova brexpert headshot

Denisa Kostovicova

Specialisms: European integration of Western Balkans; civil society, war crimes and transitional justice; democratisation and ethnic conflict; human security; international administrations; nationalism and globalisation; and post-conflict reconstruction.

Email: D.Kostovicova@lse.ac.uk           See more

Michael Bruter brexpert headshot

Michael Bruter

Specialisms: Elections; political behaviour; political psychology; identities; public opinion; extreme right politics; and social science research methods; electoral psychology; European identity; political participation; and extreme right politics.

Email: M.Bruter@lse.ac.uk            See more

Jonathan Hopkin

Specialisms: Political parties and elections; redistribution and inequality; corruption; decentralisation; Euro crisis; and the politics of Britain, Italy and Spain.

Email: J.R.Hopkin@lse.ac.uk           See more

LSE Ideas

Tim_Oliver Brexit headshot

Tim Oliver

Specialisms: British defence policy; British foreign policy; British politics; European politics; European security; UK-EU relations; and transatlantic relations.

Email: T.L.Oliver@lse.ac.uk           See more

John_Ryan brexit headshot

John Ryan

Specialisms: Britain and the EU; EMU; German economy; Greece and the Eurozone crisis; monetary and fiscal polices; UK economy; cohesion in the EU; competitiveness; and credit rating agencies.

Email: J.T.Ryan@lse.ac.uk           See more

Cherry Yu Jie | Brexit expert | LSE & Brexit

Yu Jie

Specialisms: Chinese foreign policy; China-EU relations; China-UK relations; Chinese foreign direct investments; and economic diplomacy.

Email: J.Yu7@lse.ac.uk          See more

Department of Economics

GianmarcoOttaviano brexit expert headshot

Gianmarco Ottaviano 

Specialisms: Foreign direct investment; immigration; international trade; multinationals; international competition with a focus on manufacturing and services; and economic effects of immigration on countries, regions and cities.

Email: G.I.Ottaviano@lse.ac.uk           See more

Swati_Dhingra Brexit headshot

Swati Dhingra

Specialisms: Globalisation; industrial development; industrial policy; international trade and investment; and trade policy. Swati is co-author of the Life after Brexit report, which looks at the UK’s options outside the EU.

Email: S.Dhingra@lse.ac.uk            See more

Department of International Relations

James_Strong Brexit headshot

James Strong

Specialisms: British defence policy; British foreign policy; Foreign Policy Analysis; and political communication. James is currently working on a project looking to predict the impact of personality on the Brexit negotiations.

Email: J.Strong1@lse.ac.uk           See more

jennifer jackson preece brexpert headshot

Jennifer Jackson-Preece

Specialisms: Europe; European security; European states system; North America; ethnic conflict; history; irredentism; minority rights; multiculturalism; nationalism; and secession.

Email: J.Jackson-Preece@lse.ac.uk           See more

Karen Smith Brexit expert | LSE & Brexit | London School of Economics

Karen Smith

Specialisms: Brexit; EU-UN relations; EU foreign policy; genocide; human rights and foreign policy

K.E.Smith@lse.ac.uk          See more 

Steve Woolcock

Specialisms: Trade policy; market access issues between the UK and EU; UK trade and investment relations with other third countries; the role of the UK in the WTO.

Email: S.B.Woolcock@lse.ac.uk           See more

Department of Geography and Environment

Riccardo_Crescenzi Brexit headshot

Riccardo Crescenzi

Specialisms: Foreign direct investments; impacts of Brexit on innovation, science and technology; regional development and agricultural policies; socio-economic and policy determinants of the ‘leave/remain’ vote.

Email: R.Crescenzi@lse.ac.uk           See more

Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment

Dimitri_Zenghelis brexperts headshot

Dimitri Zenghelis

The environmental impact of Brexit; public sector macroeconomics; climate change; competitiveness; economic forecasting; economic growth; economics; government; and public policy.

Email: D.A.Zenghelis@lse.ac.uk           See more