How to contact us

Centre for Women, Peace & Security

London School of Economics and Political Science
Houghton Street
London WC2A 2AE

Subscribe to our mailing list

Email us




Christine Chinkin

Professor Christine Chinkin FBA

Emerita Professor of International Law
Profile page


Marsha Henry

Dr Marsha Henry

Deputy Director
Associate Professor
Profile page


Zoe Gillard

Zoe Gillard

Centre Manager
+44(0)20 3486 2959


Yael Nevo

Yael Nevo

Centre Administrator

+44(0)20 7101 5286


Research Staff

Lisa Gormley

Lisa Gormley
Research Officer
Profile page



Aiko Holvikivi
Researcher – Affiliated Doctoral Candidate 
Profile page



Kelsey Kamitomo
Project Officer
Tackling Violence Against Women


Zeynep Kaya

Dr Zeynep Kaya
Research Officer
Profile page



Dr Paul Kirby
Research Fellow
Profile page


Lucía Mazzuca

Lucía Mazzuca 
Research Officer
Profile page


Joanne Neenan 
Research Fellow
Profile page



Hannah Wright         
Researcher – Affiliated Doctoral Candidate 
Profile page


Punam Yadav

Dr Punam Yadav
Teaching Fellow
Profile page


Kawkab Alwadeai is a trainer in GBV, women human rights, dialogue and peace, acting as Counsellor for the Women National Committee (WNC) in Yemen.



Nina Ansary is a bestselling author, historian, and leading authority on women's rights in Iran. 


Louise Arimatsu

Louise Arimatsu is an Honorary Senior Research Fellow in the Law Department, Exeter University, focussing predominantly on international law and war. 


Jane Connors

Jane Connors is International Advocacy Director Law and Policy for Amnesty International, based in Geneva.


de Liévana62

Gema Fernández Rodríguez de Liévana is a Spanish human rights lawyer who specialises in human trafficking, violence against women and sexual and reproductive rights, acting as senior staff attorney at Women’s Link Worldwide.


Jane Gordon

Jane Gordon is an independent barrister and human rights advisor to statutory and public agencies, an accredited gender and sexual violence expert and Legal Director of Sisters For Change.


William Hague

William J Hague, Lord Hague, is co-founder of the Preventing Sexual Violence Initiative (PSVI).



Melinda Holmes is advisor and coordinator of the Women’s Alliance for Security Leadership (WASL), spearheaded by the International Civil Society Action Network (ICAN) for Women’s Rights, Peace and Security. 


Angelina Jolie Pitt

Angelina Jolie  DCMG is Special Envoy of the UN High Commissioner for Refugees and co-founder of the Preventing Sexual Violence Initiative (PSVI).


Bela Kapur  is an independent expert on women, peace and security. Her research areas include the role of women in peace and political processes and the linkages between local and national processes, as well as transformational coalition building, agenda setting and influencing. 


Antonia Mulvey

Antonia Mulvey is the Founder and Executive Director of Legal Action Worldwide (LAW). She is an international human rights lawyer with extensive experience in addressing sexual violence in fragile and conflict affected states, both with the UN and INGOs.


Madeleine Rees

Madeleine Rees, OBE, is a British lawyer and current Secretary
General of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom.


Dubravka Šimonovic

Dubravka Šimonovic is United Nations Special Rapporteur on Violence against Women, its Causes and Consequences.


Laura Shepherd

Laura J Shepherd is Associate Professor of International Relations in the School of Social Sciences, UNSW Australia. Laura’s primary research focuses on the United Nations Security Council’s Women, Peace and Security agenda.



Inger Skjelsbæk  is Research Professor in Political Psychology at the Center for Gender, Peace and Security (GPS), Peace Research Institute Oslo (PRIO) and Associate Professor in Culture and Community Psychology at the Department of Psychology and Center for Research on Extremism (C-REX), University of Oslo. 


Past Visiting Fellows 


The Visiting Fellowship programme enables (self-funded) researchers, activists, practitioners and scholars to spend a period of time conducting research in the LSE Centre for Women, Peace and Security.

The funded Activist in Residence programme enables those directly engaged in work promoting justice and equality for women in conflict-affected areas to spend a period of time at the LSE Centre for Women, Peace and Security.

The Advisory Board exists to provide the Director of the Centre with an external perspective. The Board is comprised of members selected for their ability to provide the benefit of their expertise as commissioners or users of research in the field of women, peace and security.

Louise Arimatsu

Dr Louise Arimatsu is an Honorary Senior Research Fellow at Exeter University and Visiting Senior Fellow in the Centre for Women, Peace and Security. Read more


Sue Atkins

Dr Susan Atkins CB was the first Service Complaints Commissioner for the UK Armed Forces (2007 – 2015) and former Director of Women and Equality in the Cabinet Office.


Ms Chloe Dalton is a Director of JP.D.H London Ltd, and former Special Adviser to the Foreign Secretary, 2010-2014


Pamela Delargy

Ms Pamela DeLargy is currently Special Advisor to the U.N. Special Representative for Migration. She is a specialist on the Horn of Africa and has worked for two decades to ensure that gender is considered seriously in UN humanitarian and development assistance programmes.


Mary Goudie

Baroness Mary Goudie is a senior member of the British House of Lords, and a global advocate for the rights of women and children. Read more.


Arminka Helic

Baroness Arminka Helic is a member of the British House of Lords, and former Senior Special Adviser to the Foreign Secretary, 2010-2014. 


Henri Myrttinen

Dr Henri Myrttinen is Head of Gender and Peacebuilding at International Alert. Read more.


Jane Sloane

Ms Jane Sloane is Vice President of Programs at the Global Fund for Women. Read more.


Keina Yoshida

Dr Keina Yoshida is a barrister at Doughty Street Chambers Read more