LSE PhD Academy

ESRC DTC training

The Department of Methodology offers a number of workshops throughout the academic year as part of the ESRC DTC network.

 

Workshops for 2017/18 are listed below. These can be purchased through the LSE Online Shop and are linked to on the NCRM website around one month before they take place. All workshops cost £30 and will be open for booking around one month before the scheduled event.

Please note that LSE students can sign up for these workshops for free through the LSE's Training and Development System two weeks before the workshop takes place. Please see courses MY530 (qualitative) and MY560 (quantitative) on Moodle for further details.

Advanced Qualitative Research workshops for 2017/18

All these workshops follow the format of a lecture from 10am - 12pm and a practical session from 13:00 - 15:00.

Date Workshop 
Friday 10th November 2017 Participant Observation
Friday 17th November 2017 Thematic Analysis
Friday 24th November 2017 In-Depth Interviewing
Friday 1st December Avoiding Fallacies of Deduction, Induction and Abduction
Friday 8th December 2017 Designing Mixed Method Evaluation Research
Friday 19th January 2018 Research Ethics 
Friday 26th January and 2nd February 2018 Social network analysis and visualization with UCINET and Netdraw 
Friday 9th February 2018 Discourse Analysis
Friday 2nd March 2018 Focus Groups
Friday 9th March 2018 Single-n Case Studies and Process Tracing
Friday 16th March 2018 Small-n Case Studies and Comparative Analysis

 

Advanced Quantitative Analysis Workshops for 2017/18

All these workshops follow the format of a lecture from 10am - 12pm and a practical session from 13:00 - 16:00.

Date Workshop 
Wednesday 24th January 2018 Collecting and Analysing Social Media Data
Monday 19th February 2018 Querying Large-Scale Online Databases: SQL and Google BigQuery
Monday 26th February 2018 Matching Methods for Causal Inference
Monday 5th March 2018 Machine Learning
Wednesday 14th March 2018 Questionnaire Design*
Tuesday 20th March 2018 Event History Analysis 1
Wednesday 21st March 2018 Event History Analysis 2
Wednesday 21st March 2018 Design of Experiments*
Tuesday 1st May 2018 Using Dictionaries for Text Analysis
Tuesday 15th May 2018 Agent Based Modelling
Tuesday 22nd May 2018 Regression Discontinuity Designs

*not available to non-LSE students