Home > LSE Asia Forum > LSE Asia Forum - Malaysia 2014 > LSE Asia Forum Speakers > Senator Dato' Sri Abdul Wahid Omar, Minister in the Prime Minister's Department


Senator Dato' Sri Abdul Wahid Omar, Minister in the Prime Minister's Department

                                       Dato Sri Abdul Wahid Omar

Dato’ Sri Abdul Wahid Omar, aged 50, was appointed as a minister in the Prime Minister’s department in charge of economic planning on 5th June 2013. He oversees a number of government agencies such as Economic Planning Unit, Public-Private partnership Unit (UKAS), Department of Statistics, Ekuiti Nasional Berhad (EKUINAS), Talent Corporation (TALENCORP), TERAJU and Yayasan Pendidikan Peneraju Bumiputera. Prior to his cabinet appointment, Dato’ Sri Abdul Wahid was formerly the president and CEO of Maybank, Malaysia’s largest banking group and the fourth largest in Southeast Asia, from May 2008. He was also the chairman of The Association of Banks in Malaysia. He is a fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (UK) and a member of the Malaysian Institute of Accountants.

Maybank is the third large organisation that he has led as CEO. Prior to joining Maybank, he was group chief executive officer of Telekom Malaysia Berhad from July 2004 until its demerger with Axiata Group Berhad in April 2008. He was also formerly managing director/chief executive officer of UEM Group Berhad as well as executive vice chairman of PLUS Expressways Berhad.

His strong track record in corporate and financial management began with the banking sector in 1988 when he joined Bumiputra Merchant Bankers Berhad. He later took on senior management positions at Kumpulan FIMA Berhad (senior vice president, finance) and at Amanah Capital Group overseeing the Capital Market & Securities Division.

In recognition of his outstanding leadership in the corporate sector, Dato’ Sri Abdul Wahid was the recipient of the Malaysia’s CEO of the Year Award from Business Times/American Express in 2006 and The Edge Value Creator Award 2013. He was also conferred with the Asian Banker 2013 Leadership Achievement Award for Malaysia.