open-book-bookshelves-iStock-big-proportions-1366x358-B

PhD students

and their areas of expertise

Please note LSE is not responsible for the content of PhD students' personal websites

The International Relations Department has a large PhD student body, comprising approximately 80 students. This is a list of only those PhD students and their theses who have chosen to have their details on the website. If you have any additions or amendments to this page please contact Alison Carter.

Margaret Ainley
m.w.ainley@lse.ac.uk
Re-Imagining the State in Africa: A Case of Unfinished Business

Wafa Aalsayed
w.alsayed@lse.ac.uk
State Formation, Divisions, and Rivalries in the Gulf: The GCC's Inability to Draft a Common Foreign Policy

Ilari Aula
i.a.aula@lse.ac.uk
Bloody hands, dirty ethics? Consumer responsibility and armed conflicts in DR Congo and Nigeria

Luka Bareis
l.bareis@lse.ac.uk
Interstate Resource Conflicts: The Realpolitik of Natural Resource Acquisitions

Sarah Bertrand
s.bertrand@lse.ac.uk
Postcolonial and International Security Theorymail

Emmanuelle Blanc
e.blanc1@lse.ac.uk
The EU in Quest for Recognition: Anchoring institutional identity through Dialogue. The case of the EU-US dialogues.

Tina Blohm
t.blohm@lse.ac.uk
Rethinking the Afghan State: Inside Perspectives on Statebuilding from Afghan Ministries

Kelly-Jo Bluen
k.bluen@lse.ac.uk

Empire, crimes against (whose?) humanity, and international criminal justice

Aldo Carone
a.carone1@lse.ac.uk
Intelligence at Sea. Explaining Victory and Defeat in Modern Naval Warfare

Ilaria Carrozza
i.carrozza@lse.ac.uk
China’s Multilateral Diplomacy: Constructing Peace and Security in Africa

Mia Certo
m.l.certo@lse.ac.uk
Constituting 'Civil' and 'Military': Boundary-Producing Performance in Contemporary War Writing

Gokhan Ciflikli
g.ciflikli@lse.ac.uk
Website
Modelling Conflict Duration: Insights from Ensemble Learning

Ida Danewid
i.danewid@lse.ac.uk
Website
Decolonising Solidarity: Race, Capital, and Internationalism in the 21 Century

Nicola Degli Esposti
n.degli-esposti1@lse.ac.uk
Norms, Identity and Social Structure: the Kurdish national movement in international politics

Andrew Delatolla
a.delatolla@lse.ac.uk
The State as a Standard of Civilisation: Assembling the Modern State in Lebanon and Syria, 1800-1944

Helena de Moraes Achcar
h.de-moraes-achcar@lse.ac.uk
South-South Cooperation in health and agriculture: the case of Brazil

Andrea Dessi
a.t.dessi@lse.ac.uk
Ronald Reagan, Israel and the remaking of US foreign policy in the Middle East (1981-1989)

Alena Eis
a.j.eis@lse.ac.uk
How has rhetoric been used in genocide post-1950?

Pilar Elizalde
p.elizalde@lse.ac.uk
Human Rights Foreign Policy: Explaining states' behaviour in the UN's Universal Periodic Review

Marian Feist
m.j.feist@lse.ac.uk
Learning in International Negotiations: The Strategic Use of Lessons in Post-Agreement Climate Finance Politics

Jonathan Freeman
j.l.freeman@lse.ac.uk
Military Assistance as a Tool of 20th Century American Grand Strategy: The American Experience in Korea and Vietnam after World War II

Kentaro Fujikawa
k.fujikawa@lse.ac.uk
Separatists, de facto states and international society

Elitsa Garnizova
e.v.garnizova@lse.ac.uk
Many neoliberal ideas and one Directorate-General for Trade: constructing ideas in trade policy

Rachel George
r.george2@lse.ac.uk
The Limits of International Human Rights Law: Ratification Politics in selective signatory states in the Middle East

Kerry Goettlich
k.d.goettlich@lse.ac.uk
Who Set the 'Territorial Trap'? Empire, Geography, and the Rationalization of Borders

Anissa Haddadi
a.haddadi@lse.ac.uk
The Nasserist and Muslim Brotherhood discourses: Myths and paradigms of the political resistance and national identity in Egypt

Jonny Hall
j.hall5@lse.ac.uk
America's Counterterrorism Discourse Today: From George W. Bush to Donald Trump

Liane Hartnett
l.hartnett@lse.ac.uk
Love and International Political Thought in the Twentieth Century

Sophie Haspeslagh
s.m.haspeslagh@lse.ac.uk
‘Listing terrorists’: International proscription and third party efforts to engage armed groups in peace processes

Benjamin Tze Ern Ho
t.e.ho@lse.ac.uk
Whither Chinese Exceptionalism – An Interpretive Framework to understanding China’s Rise and Relations with the World

Marnie Howlett
m.howlett@lse.ac.uk
Ukrainian National Identity in a Post-Soviet Globalizing World

Lu Jiang
l.jiang4@lse.ac.uk
China's New Engagement in African Agriculture

Irena Kalhousova
i.kalhousova@lse.ac.uk
Policies, Strategies, and Beliefs: Visegrad Countries and their Foreign Policies Towards Israel

Sidharth Kaushal
s.kaushal@lse.ac.uk
Strategic Culture as a Focal Point: Reconceptualising the impact of Strategic Culture on National Grand Strategic Decisionmaking

Marissa Leanne Kemp
m.l.kemp@lse.ac.uk
Constructing Combatants: Lethal autonomous weapons systems, human-robot interaction, and contemporary warfare

So Hyun Lee
s.lee27@lse.ac.uk
Regional Economic Integration in East Asia

Joseph Leigh
j.leigh@lse.ac.uk
Capitalism, Geopolitics, and the Formation of Modern Statehood (c.1780-1919)

Oksana Levkovych
o.levkovych@lse.ac.uk
Varieties of Mercantilism: Great Britain, Germany, USSR

Jacklyn Majnemer
j.majnemer@lse.ac.uk
Tactical Nuclear Weapons Sharing in NATO: Why Allies Renege on Their Nuclear Commitments

Aaron C. McKeil
a.mckeil@lse.ac.uk
Searching for a World Polity: The World After International Anarchy Question

Sophie Meislin
s.meislin@lse.ac.uk
On Russian Diplomacy: A Conceptual Inquiry

Christopher Patrick Murray
c.p.murray@lse.ac.uk
In Search of an Exit: World Politics as Anti-colonial Ideology

Nawal Mustafa
n.s.mustafa@lse.ac.uk
The People Rise: A Reconstruction of Revolutionary Subjecthood in the Middle East

Andreas Nøhr
a.a.nohr@lse.ac.uk
The practice of truth-telling in international political thought: From verita effectuale to raison d'etat

Evelyn Pauls
e.pauls@lse.ac.uk
International Activism and Child Soldiers: The Advocacy Network Against Child recruitment in Sierra Leone and Myanmar

Kiran K. Phull
k.k.phull@lse.ac.uk
LinkedIn | Website
Uncovering Hidden Publics: Polling Practices and the Construction of Public Opinion in the Arab World

Adrian Rogstad
a.m.rogstad@lse.ac.uk
Disputing reality, managing stigma: Russia, the West and Ukraine 2004-14

William Rooke
w.a.rooke@lse.ac.uk
Empire and Urbanization in the Making of International Relations

Emma Saint
e.k.saint@lse.ac.uk
Why do rejectionist states endorse international norms? The underlying power dynamics of international norm evolution

David Schafer
d.schafer@lse.ac.uk
Intergovernmental EU Decision-Making: When do norms matter?

Alireza Shams Lahijani
a.shams-lahijani1@lse.ac.uk
Iran and the West: Representations and conceptions from 16th to 21st century

Till Spanke
t.spanke@lse.ac.uk
Website
Re-evaluating Russia’s Role in Abkhazia’s and South Ossetia’s State Building Development – A Comparative and Statistical Analysis of Patron State Influences on State Building Processes in Unrecognised States

Bjornar Sverdrup-Thygeson
b.sverdrup-thygeson@lse.ac.uk
The Identity Factor in Chinese Europe Policies: China's European Quest for Ontological Security

Ziyuan Wang
z.wang26@lse.ac.uk
Elite Politics and International Strategy: Explaining Chinese Foreign Policy in the Periods of Leadership Transition

Frega Ferdinand Wenas Inkiriwang
f.wenas-inkiriwang@lse.ac.uk
The Evolution of Indonesia's Defence Diplomacy: Examination of Post New Order Period

 

Marc Sinan Winrow
m.s.winrow@lse.ac.uk
Rhetoric, foreign policy and sovereignty: explaining changes in state identity through the emergence of the Republic of Turkey from the Ottoman Empire, 1908 - 1939

Asad Zaidi
a.a.zaidi@lse.ac.uk
Pakistan in World Politics: Cold War Imaginings and Transnational struggles