open-book-bookshelves-iStock-big-proportions-1366x358-B

PhD students

and their areas of expertise

Please note LSE is not responsible for the content of PhD students' personal websites

The International Relations Department has a large PhD student body, comprising approximately 80 students. This is a list of only those PhD students and their theses who have chosen to have their details on the website. If you have any additions or amendments to this page please contact Alison Carter.

Margaret Ainley
m.w.ainley@lse.ac.uk
Violence in democratic transitions: Alternative systems of governance for Africa using Kenya as a case study

Wafa Aalsayed
w.alsayed@lse.ac.uk
State Formation, Divisions, and Rivalries in the Gulf: The GCC's Inability to Draft a Common Foreign Policy

Ilari Aula
i.a.aula@lse.ac.uk
Bloody hands, dirty ethics? Consumer responsibility and armed conflicts in DR Congo and Nigeria

Luka Bareis
l.bareis@lse.ac.uk
Interstate Resource Conflicts: The Realpolitik of Natural Resource Acquisitions

Sarah Bertrand
s.bertrand@lse.ac.uk
Postcolonial and International Security Theorymail

Emmanuelle Blanc
e.blanc1@lse.ac.uk
The EU in Quest for Recognition: Anchoring institutional identity through Dialogue. The case of the EU-US dialogues.

Tina Blohm
t.blohm@lse.ac.uk
Rethinking the Afghan State: Inside Perspectives on Statebuilding from Afghan Ministries

Aldo Carone
a.carone1@lse.ac.uk
Intelligence at Sea. Explaining Victory and Defeat in Modern Naval Warfare

Ilaria Carrozza
i.carrozza@lse.ac.uk
China’s Multilateral Diplomacy: Constructing Peace and Security in Africa

Mia Certo
m.l.certo@lse.ac.uk
Constituting 'Civil' and 'Military': Boundary-Producing Performance in Contemporary War Writing

Gokhan Ciflikli
g.ciflikli@lse.ac.uk
Modelling Conflict Duration: Insights from Ensemble Learning

Ida Danewid
i.danewid@lse.ac.uk
Decolonising Solidarity: Race, Capital, and Internationalism in the 21 Century

Nicola Degli Esposti
n.degli-esposti1@lse.ac.uk
International Socialisation and Local Agency: The transformation of the Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK)

Andrew Delatolla
a.delatolla@lse.ac.uk
Unintended Consequences of State Formation in the Middle East on the International and Regional State Systems: Iraq, Turkey

Helena de Moraes Achcar
h.de-moraes-achcar@lse.ac.uk
How Counter-Hegemonic is South-South Cooperation? The Case of Brazil

Carolina de Simone
c.de-simone1@lse.ac.uk

Andrea Dessi
a.t.dessi@lse.ac.uk
Ronald Reagan, Israel and the remaking of US foreign policy in the Middle East (1981-1989)

Alena Eis
a.j.eis@lse.ac.uk
How has rhetoric been used in genocide post-1950?

Pilar Elizalde
p.elizalde@lse.ac.uk
Human Rights Foreign Policy: Explaining states' behaviour in the UN's Universal Periodic Review

Marian Feist
m.j.feist@lse.ac.uk
Learning in International Negotiations: The Strategic Use of Lessons in 
Post-Agreement Climate Finance Politics

Jonathan Freeman
j.l.freeman@lse.ac.uk
Factors of success for nations developing military force: Are there common conditions that exist between states in an advise and assist mission?

Kentaro Fujikawa
k.fujikawa@lse.ac.uk
Separatists, de facto states and international society

Elitsa Garnizova
e.v.garnizova@lse.ac.uk
Many neoliberal ideas and one Directorate-General for Trade: constructing ideas in trade policy

Rachel George
r.george2@lse.ac.uk
The Limits of International Human Rights Law: Ratification Politics in selective signatory states in the Middle East

Kerry Goettlich
k.d.goettlich@lse.ac.uk
The Myth of Sykes-Picot: Imperial Imaginings of Middle East Borders

Anissa Haddadi
a.haddadi@lse.ac.uk
The Nasserist and Muslim Brotherhood discourses: Myths and paradigms of the political resistance and national identity in Egypt

Liane Hartnett
l.hartnett@lse.ac.uk
Love and International Political Thought in the Twentieth Century

Sophie Haspeslagh
s.m.haspeslagh@lse.ac.uk
‘Listing terrorists’: International proscription and third party efforts to engage armed groups in peace processes

Benjamin Tze Ern Ho
t.e.ho@lse.ac.uk
Whither Chinese Exceptionalism – An Interpretive Framework to understanding China’s Rise and Relations with the World

Marnie Howlett
m.howlett@lse.ac.uk
Ukrainian National Identity in a Post-Soviet Globalizing World

Lu Jiang
l.jiang4@lse.ac.uk
China's New Engagement in African Agriculture

Irena Kalhousova
i.kalhousova@lse.ac.uk
Policies, Strategies, and Beliefs: Visegrad Countries and their Foreign Policies Towards Israel

Sidharth Kaushal
s.kaushal@lse.ac.uk
Strategic Culture as a Focal Point: Reconceptualising the impact of Strategic Culture on National Grand Strategic Decisionmaking

Marissa Leanne Kemp
m.l.kemp@lse.ac.uk
Constructing Combatants: Lethal autonomous weapons systems, human-robot interaction, and contemporary warfare

So Hyun Lee
s.lee27@lse.ac.uk
Regional Economic Integration in East Asia

Joseph Leigh
j.leigh@lse.ac.uk
Capitalism, Geopolitics, and the Formation of Modern Statehood (c.1780-1919)

Oksana Levkovych
o.levkovych@lse.ac.uk
Understanding power transitions: Four case studies in the inter-war period (Britain, US, Germany & Russia/USSR)

Aaron C. McKeil
a.mckeil@lse.ac.uk
Searching for a World Polity: The World After International Anarchy Question

Gustav Meibauer
g.m.meibauer@lse.ac.uk
The Role of No-Fly Zones in International Crisis Management

Sophie Meislin
s.meislin@lse.ac.uk
On Russian Diplomacy: A Conceptual Inquiry

Christopher Patrick Murray
c.p.murray@lse.ac.uk
In Search of an Exit: World Politics as Anti-colonial Ideology

Nawal Mustafa
n.s.mustafa@lse.ac.uk
The People Rise: A Reconstruction of Revolutionary Subjecthood in the Middle East

Andreas Nøhr
a.a.nohr@lse.ac.uk
The practice of truth-telling in international political thought: From verita effectuale to raison d'etat

Evelyn Pauls
e.pauls@lse.ac.uk
International Activism and Child Soldiers: The Advocacy Network Against Child recruitment in Sierra Leone and Myanmar

Kiran K. Phull
k.k.phull@lse.ac.uk
Uncovering Hidden Publics: Understanding the Relationship between Public Opinion and Foreign Policy in Authoritarian Contexts

Johanna Rodehau-Noack
j.rodehau-noack@lse.ac.uk
An Elusive Quest for Accountability? Non-elite Agency, Transitional Justice and the ‘Political Marketplace’

Adrian Rogstad
a.m.rogstad@lse.ac.uk
Disputing reality, managing stigma: Russia, the West and Ukraine 2004-14

William Rooke
w.a.rooke@lse.ac.uk
Empire and Urbanization in the Making of International Relations

Emma Saint
e.k.saint@lse.ac.uk
Why do rejectionist states endorse international norms? The underlying power dynamics of international norm evolution

David Schafer
d.schafer@lse.ac.uk
Intergovernmental EU Decision-Making: When do norms matter?

Alireza Shams-Lahijani
a.shams-lahijani1@lse.ac.uk
Iran and the West: Representations and conceptions from 16th to 21st century

Efrat Shaoulian-Sopher 
e.shaoulian-sopher@lse.ac.uk
The State of Israel’s Relations with Iran 1948-1967: The Covert Entente of Unlikely Bedfellows

Till Spanke
t.spanke@lse.ac.uk
Re-evaluating Russia’s Role in Abkhazia’s and South Ossetia’s State Building Development – A Comparative and Statistical Analysis of Patron State Influences on State Building Processes in Unrecognised States

Bjornar Sverdrup-Thygeson
b.sverdrup-thygeson@lse.ac.uk
The Identity Factor in Chinese Europe Policies: China's European Quest for Ontological Security

Ziyuan Wang
z.wang26@lse.ac.uk
Elite Politics and International Strategy: Explaining Chinese Foreign Policy in the Periods of Leadership Transition

Marc Sinan Winrow
m.s.winrow@lse.ac.uk
Rhetoric, foreign policy and sovereignty: explaining changes in state identity through the emergence of the Republic of Turkey from the Ottoman Empire, 1908 - 1939

Asad Zaidi
a.a.zaidi@lse.ac.uk
Pakistan in World Politics: Cold War Imaginings and Transnational struggles