Home > IPA > Engagement > Parliamentarian Fellows

Parliamentarian Fellows


In a landmark scheme, the Institute of Public Affairs is to host three independent-minded parliamentarians, David Davis MP, John Denham and Baroness Sarah Ludford, who will work with the IPA to turn academic insight into effective public policy.

Each of our 'Parliamentarian Fellows' has an immense amount of relevant experience, which will help the Institute of Public Affairs in its mission to assist in the wider dissemination of LSE scholarship.   



David Davis MP  is the Member of Parliament for Haltemprice and Howden, and a Conservative Party politician. A leading figure on the backbenches, he is best known for being a strong defender of civil liberties. He is a former Foreign Office Minister, and Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee.


John Denham  served as the Member of Parliament for Southampton Itchen from 1992 to 2015. He was the former Parliamentary Private Secretary to the Leader of the Opposition and held a variety of Ministerial posts, including Secretary of State for Innovation, Universities and Skills and Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government. 


Baroness Sarah Ludford is a Member of the House of Lords, and a Liberal Democrat politician. An LSE alumna, she was a Liberal Democrat MEP until 2014. She brings to the scheme her experience as the Liberal Democrat European spokeswoman on justice & human rights and European sub-committees on civil liberties, justice & home affairs and human rights.