Home > IDEAS > Projects > International Drug Policy Project > The Expert Group on the Economics of Drug Policy
How to contact us

Connect with IDEAS:

Tower 1, Clement's Inn
LSE Campus
London, WC2A 2AZ

Tel: (+44) 020 7849 4918
Email : ideas.web@lse.ac.uk

Twitter  Facebook  LI 

The Expert Group on the Economics of Drug Policy

The Expert Group on the Economics of Drug Policy was convened to produce the most thorough independent economic analysis of the current international drug control strategy ever conducted.

It aims to use this analysis to design a successor strategy to the failed global war on drugs. In so doing it will provide the academic underpinnings for a new international paradigm that promotes human security, public health and sustainable development.

Read the report in English.

Para leer este reporte en español.

Watch Report launch video. 

Para ver el video del lanzamiento del reporte.

Watch report contributors discussing the report.





Professor Danny Quah is Professor of Economics and International Development, and Director of the Saw Swee Hock Southeast Asia Centre within the Institute of Global Affairs at LSE. He had previously served as LSE’s Head of Department for Economics (2006 – 2009) and Council Member on Malaysia’s National Economic Advisory Council (2009 – 2011). He is Tan Chin Tuan Visiting Professor at the National University of Singapore, and lectures regularly at Peking University. 




Dr. John Collins is the International Drug Policy Project Coordinator at LSE IDEAS. His research focuses on the history of international drug control. He edited the 2012 LSE IDEAS Special Report Governing the Global Drug Wars.




Professor Laura Atuesta is a Professor and Research Fellow in the Drug Policy Program at the Centro de Investigación y Docencia Económica (CIDE), Mexico. Her research focuses on the economics of illegal drugs and the effects of drugs on income inequality, internal migration and conflict. Previously she worked at the Inter-American Development Bank.


Professor Jonathan Caulkins is the H. Guyford Stever Professor of Operations Research and Public Policy at Heinz College, Carnegie Mellon University. His research focuses on modelling the effectiveness of interventions related to drugs, crime, violence, delinquency, and prevention.


Dr Joanne Csete is Senior Program Officer for the Open Society Foundations’ Global Drug Policy Program. Previously she was an Associate Professor of Public Health at Columbia University; the Founding Director of the HIV and Human Rights Program at Human Rights Watch; Executive Director of the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network; and a senior technical advisor at UNICEF.


Professor Ernest Drucker is an Adjunct Professor of Epidemiology Columbia University, Mailman School of Public Health. He is also a Scholar in Residence and Graduate Faculty John Jay College of Criminal Justice, City University of NY and a Professor Emeritus of Family and Social Medicine, Montefiore Medical Center/Albert Einstein College of Medicine.


Dr Vanda Felbab-Brown is a Senior Fellow with the Center for 21st Century Security and Intelligence in the Foreign Policy program at the Brookings Institution. She is an expert on international and internal conflicts and non-traditional security threats, including insurgency, organized crime, urban violence, and illicit economies.


Professor Mark Kleiman is Professor of Public Policy in the UCLA School of Public Affairs. He is a leading expert in the field of crime control and drug policy. In addition to his academic work, he provides advice to local, state, and national governments on crime and drug policy.


Professor Alejandro Madrazo is a Professor and Researcher in the Legal Studies Division of the Centro de Investigación y Docencia Económica (CIDE) in Mexico. His research focuses on measuring the legal-institutional costs of drug policies and their implications for socioeconomic development.


Professor Daniel Mejia is an Associate Professor in the Department of Economics at Universidad de los Andes and a Director of the Research Centre on Drugs and Security, Colombia. His research focuses on conducting econometric analysis of interdiction and eradication policies, with a particular emphasis on the outcomes of Plan Colombia.


Professor Peter Reuter is a Professor in the School of Public Policy and the Department of Criminology at the University of Maryland. He is Director of the Program on the Economics of Crime and Justice Policy at the University and also Senior Economist at RAND. He founded and directed RAND's Drug Policy Research Center from 1989-1993.


Professor Kenneth Arrow is a recipient of the 1972 Nobel Prize in Economics. He is a Professor of Economics and a Professor of Operations Research, Emeritus at Stanford University.


Luis Fernando Carrera Castro is Guatemala's Minister of Foreign Affairs. He Received an MPhil in Economics from Cambridge University. Previously he was Secretary of Planning of Guatemala.


Professor Paul Collier, CBE, is Professor of Economics and Public Policy at the Blavatnik School of Government, and Director for the Centre for the Study of African Economies at The University of Oxford.


Alejandro Gaviria Uribe is the current Minister of Health and Social Protection of Colombia. His is a former Dean of the School of Economics at the University of the Andes.


Professor Conor Gearty is Professor of Human Rights Law at the London School of Economics. He is also the Director of the Institute of Public Affairs at LSE. 


Aleksander Kwaśniewski is the former President of the Republic of Poland (1995 – 2005). Among his various high-profile international roles he is a member of the Global Commission on Drug Policy.


Baroness Molly Meacher is a life peer of the British House of Lords. She is Chair of the All Party Parliamentary Group on Drug Policy Reform.


Professor Sir Christopher Pissarides is a recipient of the 2010 Nobel Prize in Economics. He is the School Professor of Economics & Political Science and Regius Professor of Economics at the London School of Economics.


Professor Dani Rodrik is Professor of Social Science at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton. He was a Professor of International Political Economy at the Kennedy School of Government, Harvard.


Professor Jeffrey Sachs is the Director of The Earth Institute at Columbia University. He is Special Advisor to UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon on the Millennium Development Goals.


Professor Thomas Schelling is a recipient of the 2005 Nobel Prize in Economics. He is a Distinguished Professor of Economics at the University of Maryland. 


George Shultz (Honorary Chair, Advisory Network) was the U.S. Secretary of State from 1982 to 1989. He is currently a distinguished fellow at the Hoover Institution at Stanford University.


Professor Vernon Smith is a recipient of the 2002 Nobel Prize in Economics. He is professor of economics at Chapman University's Argyros School of Business and Economics and School of Law.


Dr Javier Solana is President of ESADE Center for Global Economy and Geopolitics. He is a Senior Visiting Professor at the London School of Economics.




             English; español

       Ending the Drug Wars