Advisory Board

Terms of reference

The Advisory Board meet formally once a year but are encouraged to work closely with the the Grantham Research Institute at the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) and the Grantham Institute at Imperial College London| between meetings.

The main role of the Board is to: 

  • Advise on strategic direction of the Institutes and priorities and gaps in programmes;  
  • Provide insights on the climate scene and key developments and events based on individual member's knowledge;  
  • Give advice on the priority issues on which to engage and how best might the Institutes exert influence;  
  • Act as ambassadors for the Institutes at the national and international level;  
  • Propose funding opportunities which the Institutes should pursue and advice on how to realise those potential opportunities;  
  • Members will serve for a period of five years, renewable once. 


Current members are: 

  • Jeremy Grantham, Grantham Foundation for the Protection of the Environment
  • Hannelore Grantham, Grantham Foundation for the Protection of the Environment  

And (listed alphabetically by surname):

  • Lord Browne of Madingley
  • Dr Simon Buckle, Policy Director, Grantham Institute 
  • Professor Maggie Dallman, IC, Principal, Faculty of Natural Sciences
  • Dr Simon Dietz, Co-Director of Grantham Research Institute
  • Professor Samuel Fankhauser, Co-Director of Grantham Research Institute
  • Professor Sir Brian Hoskins, Director, Grantham Institute, FRS
  • Professor Sir Peter Knight, IC, Senior Principal, FRS (TBC)
  • Fred Krupp, President, Environmental Defense Fund, US
  • Professor Klaus Lackner, Ewing-Worzel Professor of Geophysics, Earth Engineering, Columbia University
  • Gerard Lyons, Chief Economist and Group Head of Global Research, Standard Chartered Bank
  • Dr Tidu Maini, Science and Technology Adviser to Her Highness and Executive Chairman of Qatar Science & Technology Park
  • Vikram Singh Mehta, Chairman, Shell Companies, India
  • Sir Paul Nurse, President of the Royal Society
  • Sir Keith O'Nions, IC, Rector, FRS
  • Professor Judith Rees, Co-Director of Grantham Research Institute
  • Lord Rees of Ludlow
  • Carter Roberts, President and CEO WWF, US
  • Sir Evelyn de Rothschild, Chairman, EL Rothschild Ltd
  • Neil Sachdev, Commercial Director, J Sainsbury PLC
  • Professor Hans Joachim Schellnhuber, Director, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research
  • Lord Nicholas Stern, Chair of Grantham Research Institute
  • Marc Stuart, Private Equity Investor, Allotrope Ventures
  • Dr Camilla Toulmin, Director of the International Institute for Environment and Development
  • Dr Paul Woolley, Centre for the Study of Capital Market Dysfunctionality