How to contact us

Department of Psychological
and Behavioural Science
(PBS)

3rd Floor
Queens House,
55/56 Lincoln's Inn Fields,
London WC2A 3LJ

Champa Heidbrink
Department Manager

Jacqueline Crane
Service Delivery Manager - MSc Programmes:
Department contact for issues relating directly to MSc study
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7995

Terri-Ann Fairclough
PhD Programme and Communication Administrator:
Department contact for issues relating directly to PhD study
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7700

Connect with us:
facebook-32twitter-32youtube32

About us

aboutUsmaingraphic3We study and teach Societal Psychology: the psychology of Humans in complex socio-technical systems (organizations, communities, societies). Our research deals with real-world issues, we train the future global leaders.

As professionals well know, most challenges and bottlenecks in managing such systems as corporations or cities are not technical, but rather psychosocial: inducing or avoiding specific individual motivation and behavior, solving inter-group conflicts, overcoming resistance to change, fostering constructive decision-making, avoiding exclusion, etc.

These issues are urgent considering the limits to sustainability of the current global system. PBS provides psychological science and tools to current and future managers and professionals; it trains the new generation of leaders who will face the acute problems of governance foreseeable around 2030-2050.

Why come to us

PBS's specific approach of the Psychology of human behavior in large socio-technical systems is an illuminating and necessary part of the study of Organizations, Societies, Markets and Policies.

It enlightens the link from Micro to Meso and Macro, based on models and empirical studies of human psychology.

It provides solid basis and tools for social engineering to practitioners and leaders.

It opens new grounds from a more humanistic yet not naive approach to industrial and social governance.

Last but not least, PBS is a friendly place: we believe one can be world-class and still human.

Half a century of advanced research

Societal Psychology originates in the pioneering works of the PBS(previously known as Department of Social Psychology)  founders (Himmelweit, Farr, Gaskell), with the path-breaking studies on voting behavior, children and television, social representations, communication and public opinion that have left definitive marks in the field.

Continuing this tradition of involvement with real societal issues and openness to other academic  fields, the current PBS pluridisciplinary staff's interests and capacity not only covers classic Social Psychology, but also Cognitive Science, Evolutionary Psychology, Communication, Psychoanalysis..

Research topics cover hot issues such as HIV, biotechnologies, religious communities, deviance, learning organizations etc. Many members spent part of their career in Industry, Commerce or Government overseas.

PBS initiated in 1964 a tradition of using advanced investigation methods (from automated discourse analysis to video) and teaching techniques (PBS streamed lectures on the web as early as 1995).

PBS has close links with the Methodology Institute@LSE and benefits, on top of  the usual top-level LSE IMT support

PBS has collaborations and partnership with leading research institutions worldwide and major Industry. Working with or at the PBS is a gateway to this top-level network, and to the large 5000+ Alumni community.

caricature_historypage

[Societal Psychology Caricature]

Full Time | Part Time | Teaching Fellow | Research | Visiting Academics | PhD Students | Professional Services

Full Time Academics

basso_133

Dr Frederic Basso
Assistant Professor
Room: QUE 3.1
Telephone: 020 7955 5475
f.basso@lse.ac.uk


 Profile | Google Scholar Page

 
martin_bauer

Professor Martin Bauer
Room:COL 8.04
Telephone:
020 7955 6864
m.bauer@lse.ac.uk


Profile | Experts page | Google Scholar Page

 
Cathy133100

Professor Cathy Campbell
Head of Department
Room:  QUE 3.08
Telephone: 020 7955 7701
c.campbell@lse.ac.uk


Profile | LSE Experts page | Google Scholar page

 
IMG_120_100w

Professor Paul Dolan
Professor of Behavioural Science
Room: OLD 2.38
Telephone: 020 7955 7237
p.h.dolan@lse.ac.uk


Profile | Website | LSE Experts page | LinkedIn

 
franks_133

Dr Bradley Franks
Associate Professor
Room: QUE 3.3
Telephone: 020 7955 7704
b.franks@lse.ac.uk


Profile | LSE Experts page

 
lucia

Dr Lucia Garcia
Assistant Professor
Room: QUE 3.23
Telephone: 020 7955 7996
l.garcia@lse.ac.uk


Profile | LSE Experts page

 
AlexUpdated133

Dr Alex Gillespie
Associate Professor
Room: QUE 3.05
Telephone: 020 7955 7241
a.t.gillespie@lse.ac.uk


Profile | LSE Experts page | Google Scholar page

 
gleibs_n133

Dr Ilka Gleibs
Assistant Professor
Room: QUE 3.21
Telephone: 020 7955 7709
i.h.gleibs@lse.ac.uk


Website| LSE Experts page | Google Scholar page

 
caroline

Dr Caroline Howarth
Associate Professor
Room: QUE 3.04
Telephone: 020 7955 7339
c.s.howarth@lse.ac.uk


Profile | LSE Experts page | Google Scholar page | LinkedIn

 
mmath_130x120

Dr Michael Muthukrishna
Assistant Professor
Room: QUE 3.15
Telephone: 020 7955 3612
m.muthukrishna@lse.ac.uk


Website

 
SandraJovchelovitch1-PortraitRED

Professor Sandra Jovchelovitch
Room:
 QUE 3.25
Telephone:
 020 7955 6863
s.jovchelovitch@lse.ac.uk


Profile | LSE Experts page | Google Scholar page

 
saadi

Professor Saadi Lahlou
Room:
QUE 3.26
Telephone:
 020 7955 6795
s.lahlou@lse.ac.uk


Profile | LSE Experts page | Google Scholar page | LinkedIn 

 
tomReader

Dr Tom Reader
Associate Professor
Room: QUE 3.10
Telephone: 020 7955 7402
t.w.reader@lse.ac.uk


Profile | LSE Experts page | Google Scholar page

 
jenniferProfile

Dr Jennifer Sheehy-Skeffington
Assistant Professor
Room: QUE 3.20
Telephone: 020 7955 7165
j.a.sheehy-skeffington@lse.ac.uk


Website

 

Part Time Academic

janstockdale120100

Dr Jan Stockdale
Telephone:
 020 7955 5113
j.stockdale@lse.ac.uk


Profile | LSE Experts page

 
chris_120100

Dr Chris Tennant
Room: QUE 3.15
c.j.tennant@lse.ac.uk


Profile

 

Research

parampeoplepage

Dr Anam Parand
Research Officer
Room: QUE 3.18
Email: a.parand@lse.ac.uk


Profile | Google Scholar Page

 
100120_marina

Dr Marina Everri

Marie Curie Research Fellow

Room: QUE 3.27

Telephone: 0 207 852 3793
Email: m.everri@lse.ac.uk


Profile | skype: evmarina

 
Marta Entradas_120h

Dr Marta Entradas
Marie Curie Research Fellow

Room: QUE 3.27
Telephone: 0 207 852 3793
Email: m.entradas@lse.ac.uk


Profile

 
IMG_8336_100

Dr Morgan Tear
Research Officer
Room: QUE 3.18
Telephone:0 207 852 3713
Email: m.tear@lse.ac.uk


Profile

 
jana_uher_100x130px  

Dr Jana Uher
Senior Research Fellow
Room: QUE 3.27
Telephone: 0 207 852 3793
Email: j.uher@lse.ac.uk


Profile | Website | Google Scholar page | LSE Experts page

 
anonymous-male

Prof Adrian Bangerter
Email:  a.bangerter@lse.ac.uk

 
mirela_thumb

Dr. Mirela Figueiredo Iriart

Email: mifis36@gmail.com


Personal page

 
isabelle_120w

Dr Isabelle Goncalves-Portelinha
Email: i.goncalves-portelinha@lse.ac.uk


Personal page

 
image_100w

Dr Carol Mutch
Email: c.mutch@lse.ac.uk


Personal Page

 
anonymous female 

Professor Ivana Markova
Email:  i.markova@lse.ac.uk


Personal Page

 
anonymous male 

Dr Marcelo Ramella
Email:  m.ramella@lse.ac.uk


Personal Page

 
rifkin_100_120

Dr Susan Rifkin
Email:
s.rifkin@lse.ac.uk

 
BarryRogers_120h100w

Mr Barry Rogers
Email:  barry@liberare.com


Personal Page

 
morten_100_120
 
anonymous female 
 
gordonSammut100120
Dr Gordon Sammut
Email: 
g.sammut@lse.ac.uk
Academic Page
 
image_130_100
 
Ai-Yu120100
 

PhD Students

amer_120_100sidePanel

Amena Amer

Supervisors: Dr Caroline Howarth, Dr Ilka Gleibs


Research Interests:
My current research examines the impact of the racialisation of Islam on the construction, negotiation and performance of identity among white British Muslims.

Contact Details: a.amer@lse.ac.uk

 
anonymous-female

Donna Baillie

Supervisors: Alex Gillespie, Jason Alexander 

Contact Details: d.h.baillie@lse.ac.uk

 
apruvChauhan

Apurv Chauhan

Supervisors: Catherine Campbell,Sandra Jovchelovitch

Research Interests:
Social Representations of Poverty in India

Contact Details:
a.chauhan4@lse.ac.uk


Google Scholar page

 
anonymous-male

 Adam Christmas

Supervisor: Martin Bauer

Research Interests:
My research focuses on experiences of stress and momentary assessment methods. For my thesis, I am developing an improved method for taking momentary measurements of stress and anxiety using mobile technology, and investigating how these measurements interact with others such as environmental context and temperament. My background is in programming, social design of information systems, methodology, and psychology.

Contact Details:  a.christmas@lse.ac.uk

 
natalie_100

Natalia Concha

Supervisors: Sandra Jovchelovitch, Flora Cornish

Research Interests:
My research project is exploring the psychosocial and cultural reality of the maternal transition within the context of family dynamics through two temporal positions: pre and post birth in the urban periphery of Cali, Colombia.


Contact Details: n.concha@lse.ac.uk

 
kevinCorti_100

Kevin Corti

Supervisors: Alex Gillespie,Tom Reader

Research Interests:
I am interested in developing new methods of experimentation for illuminating social psychological phenomena, principally how implicit attributions shape intersubjective contexts. The research projects for my PhD focus on two specific domains of intersubjective analysis.
The first concerns how humans experience socializing with “human-like” forms of artificial intelligence.

The second concerns how implicit self-representations affect behaviour, strategy, and outcomes in distributive economic bargaining simulations. Beyond these domains, my other research interests include evolutionary psychology, consumer psychology, and political social psychology.  

Contact Details: k.corti@lse.ac.uk and kcorti@gmail.com

 
Bio Pic2

Clare Coultas

Supervisors: Catherine Campbell, Flora Cornish

Research Interests:
My PhD project aims to provide a more holistic and interactional analysis of the constraints and enablers of change in a comprehensive sexuality and empowerment intervention aimed at youth in Urban Tanzania. My interest and insight into this topic came out of my five years working in programmatic, research and evaluation roles for non-governmental organisations in East and Central Africa. I hold a BSc in Human Sciences and MSc in International Primary Health Care, both from University College London, UK. My research interests include dialogical, social representations, intersectional feminist and post-/de-colonial theories; critical health and community psychology; qualitative, ethnographic and participatory methodologies; as well as global health, gender and ‘development’ debates.

Contact details: c.j.coultas@lse.ac.uk

 
anonymous-male

Philippe Fauquet-Alekhine

Supervisors: Saadi Lahlou, Tom Reader

Research Interests:
Determinants of professionalization for high risk industrial professions in a social context of skills drain

Contact Details: p.fauquet-alekhine@lse.ac.uk

 
anonymous-female

Balissa Greene

Supervisor: Jan Stockdale

Research Interests:
My current research examines the experiences of working life for  Foreign and Commonwealth Soldiers in the British Army and provides a commentary on the process of doing research in a hierarchical power-based organisation.  The implications for the process of conducting social psychological research and researchers are highlighted. 

My research interests include how  social and organisational identity affect working life and experiences of work, power, gender and ethnicity in the workplace.

Contact Details: b.p.greene@lse.ac.uk

 
BrettHeasman

Brett Heasman

Research Interests:
My academic research explores the conditions that enable people with Asperger’s to socially coordinate with others.
Read more

Email: b.l.heasman@lse.ac.uk

 
sharonJackson_100

Sharon Jackson

Supervisors:  Catherine Campbell, Alex Gillespie

Research Interests:
My current research interests are around the social dimensions of responses to HIV and climate change in sub-Saharan Africa. The initial focus of my PhD is on examining this through a comparative analysis of community participation in responses to HIV and climate change in Tanzania.
My background includes over ten years of professional and research experience in academia and civil society organisations working on international development, HIV, AIDS and climate change, alongside research interests in gender, social psychology, eastern and southern Africa, global health, gender-based violence, ecological sustainability and socio-economic issues. I hold a BA in Psychology and Philosophy from Trinity College Dublin and an MA in African Studies from Yale University. 

Contact Details: s.s.jackson@lse.ac.uk

 
Meghan-Leaver100

Meghan Leaver

Supervisors: Tom Reader, Alex Gillespie

Research Interests:
My research focuses on developing new methodology to extract and explore human factors in complex and risky organisations, specifically the factors found to be influential in the financial trading domain. This work draws on context driven behaviours that underlie risk taking and human error and influence team performance in the finance setting. My interests include; decision making, human error, cognition, perspective-taking, and teamwork.

Contact Details: m.p.leaver@lse.ac.uk

 
EmilyLeRoux_100

Emily LeRoux-Rutledge

Supervisors: Catherine Campbell, Tom Reader

Research Interests:
My PhD research explores the impact of media on women’s empowerment and women’s narratives in South Sudan. I have also studied the impact of media on maternal and child health; HIV/AIDS; malaria; education; peacebuilding; governance and elections; and climate change.

My research covers a range of media platforms (television, radio, mobile) as well as a range of media formats (drama for development, factual programming, public service announcements, mobile value-added services).

I have conducted research in 21 countries across Africa, Asia and Eastern Europe – including Bangladesh, Cambodia, the Democratic Republic of Congo, India, Kenya, Niger, South Africa, Senegal, Serbia, Tanzania and Uganda.

In addition to pursuing my PhD, I work as an international development consultant for organisations with a media, information and communication focus. I have managed research for USAID, UNDP and DFID-funded projects.

Contact Details:  emily.leroux.rutledge@gmail.com


Profile page | Academic website | My Professional website

 
jacobM

Jacob Metze

Supervisors: Martin Bauer, Tom Reader

Research Interests:
Towards a relational view of job satisfaction and wellbeing: Bringing in individual and relational dynamics

Contact Details: j.f.metze@lse.ac.uk

 
liora_100

Liora Moskovitz

Supervisors:Lucia Garcia, Tom Reader

Research Interests:
Mobilising collective action for Healthcare Improvement in the NHS: A Social Movement Perspective to Large Scale Organisational Change

Contact Details: l.moskovitz@lse.ac.uk

 
nicholson_100

Cathryn Nicholson

Supervisors: Caroline Howarth, Alex Gillespie

Contact Details: c.g.nicholson@lse.ac.uk

 
sandra_Orbadovic_100

Sandra Obradovic

Supervisors: Caroline Howarth, Sandra Jovchelovitch

Research Interests:
Changing the past to create the future: The role of social representations of history and identity in shaping Serbia's path to EU integration.

My current research explores the role of social representations of history in shaping present identities and future political aspirations.
More specifically I am interested in understanding the role that representations and identities play in making certain versions of the future of a nation more acceptable than others. The two-way relationship between representations and identities is at the core of my research interests, alongside a desire to rehabilitate the image of history within social and political psychology.
These interests, coupled with a strong belief in the benefits of applying social psychological theories to the field of political psychology, define the research I am conducting at the LSE.

Contact Details: s.obradovic@lse.ac.uk

 
geethaReddy100

Geetha Reddy

Supervisors: Ilka Gleibs, Catherine Howarth

Research Interests:
Ethnic Identity negotiation and its impact on well-being among mixed ethnicity individuals in Singapore and Malaysia

Contact Details: g.reddy@lse.ac.uk

 
janeRoberts_§100

Jane Roberts

Supervisors: Sandra Jovchelovitch, Alex Gillespie

Research Interests:
Paediatric bipolar disorder in the US and UK: Representations of an emerging and contested diagnosis


Contact Details: j.roberts7@lse.ac.uk

 
imaraAjaniRolston_100

Imara Ajani Rolston

Supervisors: Catherine Campbell, Frederic Basso

Research Interests:
Between the Brick and the Ballot: Exploring Community Conversations, Direct Democracy, and the Cultivation of Collaborative Social and Structural HIV/AIDS interventions in South Africa’s Eastern Province

Contact details: i.a.rolston@lse.ac.uk


Profile page

 
MCDediosSanguineti

Maria Cecilia Dedios Sanguineti

Supervisors:
Sandra Jovchelovitch, Alex Gillespie

Dissertation title: Encultured sociabilities: Exploring the relationship between psychosocial scaffoldings, resilience and culture”. Read Profile

Contact details: 
m.c.dedios-sanguineti@lse.ac.uk

 
anonymous-female100130

Lisa Whitelaw

Supervisors: Lucia Garcia,Catherine Campbell

Research interests:
The everyday life of innovation: How 'intrapreneurs' drive organizational change in the technology sector.

Contact details: l.a.whitelaw@lse.ac.uk

 

Professional Services Staff

anonymous female 

Jacqueline Crane

Service Delivery Manager: MSc Programmes:
Department contact for issues relating directly to MSc study
Room: QUE 3.06
Telephone: 020 7955 7995
j.c.crane@lse.ac.uk

 
anonymous-female

Terri-Ann Fairclough

PhD Programme and Communication Administrator : Department contact for issues relating directly to PhD study
Room: QUE 3.06
Telephone: 020 7955 7700
t.fairclough@lse.ac.uk

 
anonymous-female100130

Champa Heidbrink

Department Manager
Room: QUE 3.07
c.heidbrink@lse.ac.uk

 
ly120100 

Ly Voo

Multimedia Editor
Room: QUE 3.06
Telephone: 020 7955 7715
l.voo@lse.ac.uk

 

 

 

 
Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|