Home > Centre for Philosophy of Natural and Social Science > Events > Past Events (before 2013) > All London History and Philosophy of Science Meetings: Michaelmas Terms 2004

 

All London History and Philosophy of Science Meetings: Michaelmas Terms 2004

Page Contents >

October

Monday, 4 October 5:00-6:30 pm 
SEMINAR IN PHILOSOPHY AND PUBLIC POLICY 
Sabina Alkire 
Harvard Sen's 
Capability Approach

Tuesday, 12 October 2:00-4:00 pm 
POPPER SEMINAR 
Kevin Korb 

Monash University 
Causal Reasoning with Causal Models

Tuesday, 12 October 4:15-5:45 pm 
CONTINGENCY IN SCIENCE: THE ROLE OF METHODOLOGY
Nancy Cartwright and Valeria Mosini 
John Milton 

KCL 
Bacon

Thursday, 14 October 5:30 - 7:00 pm
CHOICE GROUP SEMINARS
Alex Voorhoeve
LSE
Scanlon's Contractualism

Monday, 18 October 5:30-7:00 pm 
CONTINGENCY IN SCIENCE: THE ROLE OF METHODOLOGY
Nancy Cartwright and Valeria Mosini
 
Ampère

Wednesday, 20 October 7:00-8:30 pm 
SEMINAR IN PHILOSOPHY AND PUBLIC POLICY 
Mary Kaldor 
LSE 

Law Enforcement Versus Just War

Monday, 25 October 5:30-7:00 pm 
CONTINGENCY IN SCIENCE: THE ROLE OF METHODOLOGY
Nancy Cartwright and Valeria Mosini
Whewell

Wednesday, 27 October 5:00-7:00 pm 
THE EVIDENCE SEMINAR
 
Luc Bovens 
LSE
Beta Functions and Decision-Making on the Basis of Uncertain Evidence

Thursday, 28 October 5:30 - 7:00 pm
CHOICE GROUP SEMINARS

Christian List
LSE
Strategy-proof Judgement Aggregation

November

Monday, 1 November 3:00-5:00 pm 
CONTINGENCY IN SCIENCE: THE ROLE OF METHODOLOGY 
Nancy Cartwright and Valeria Mosini 

Venue: Graham Wallas Room

Monday, 1 November 5:00-6:30 pm 
SEMINAR IN PHILOSOPHY AND PUBLIC POLICY 
Joris Voorhoeve 
Leiden 
Post-Conflict Peace Building 
Venue: Graham Wallas Room, 5th floor, Main Building

Monday, 1 November 5:15-7:00 pm (Tea at 4:45 in T116) 
BRITISH SOCIETY FOR THE PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE 
John Worrall 
LSE 
Is there any cause to randomise? 
For further details and updates, see the Society's website at:
http://www.bris.ac.uk/Depts/Philosophy/BSPS/Events.html
|

Thursday, 4 November 5:30 - 7:00 pm
CHOICE GROUP SEMINARS
Richard Bradley
LSE
Decision Theory Unified

Tuesday, 9 November 2:00-4:00 pm 
POPPER SEMINAR 
Alex Voorhoeve 
LSE 
Scanlon on Substantive Responsibility

Wednesday, 10 November 5:00-7:00 pm 
THE EVIDENCE SEMINAR 
Mike Redmayne 
LSE 
The Law of Evidence

Monday, 15 November 5:00-6:30 pm
SEMINAR IN PHILOSOPHY AND PUBLIC POLICY 
Christian List 
LSE 
Experimenting with Deliberative Democracy: Effects on Policy Preferences and Social Choice

Thursday, 18 November 5:30 - 7:00 pm
CHOICE GROUP SEMINARS
Martin van Hees
Gröningen
Intentions and Preferences

Wednesday, 24 November 5:00-7:00 pm 
THE EVIDENCE SEMINAR 
Phil Dawid 
UCL 
TBA

Monday, 29 November 5:00-6:30 pm 
SEMINAR IN PHILOSOPHY AND PUBLIC POLICY 
Matt Cavanaugh 
Home Office 
Liberalism and Multiculturalism

Tuesday, 30 November 2:00-4:00 pm 
POPPER SEMINAR 
Margaret Morrison 
Toronto 
Beyond Unity and Disunity: Emergent Phenomena and the Failure of Reductionism

December

Thursday, 2 December 5:30 - 7:00 pm
CHOICE GROUP SEMINARS
Marc Fleurbaey
Pau/Oxford
Irrelevant Commodities

Monday, 6 December 5:15-7:00 pm (Tea at 4:45 in T116) 
BRITISH SOCIETY FOR THE PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE 
Jeff Ketland 
Cambridge 
The Unfeasibility of Nominalism 
For further details and updates, see the Society's website at:
http://www.bris.ac.uk/Depts/Philosophy/BSPS/Events.html
|

Tuesday, 7 December 4:00-5:30 pm 
Contingency in Science: The Role of Methodology
Chairs: Nancy Catwright and Valeria Mosini
Jeremy Howick
and Sheldon Steed
TBC

Wednesday, 8 December 5:00-7:00 pm 
THE EVIDENCE SEMINAR 
John Worrall 
LSE 
Evidence in Medicine

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|